2005 Equinox

Consumer Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Equinox

$1,904 - $7,516  MSRP Range
2005 Chevrolet Equinox

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

80 Reviews
66% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 80 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very Good Value

by Chris from Connecticut on Mon Mar 31 2014

Purchased LT new in 2004...reaching 10 year mark with 110,000 miles...solid performer...great for back and forth to college with my daughter...sliding back seat great addition...mileage good...performance good...dependable and decent looking

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good suv

by nice from state college on Thu Sep 05 2013

i have 80,000 miles on it and the only thing that it has had to have replaced is the fuel pump but its a great car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I Enjoy Driving It

by Snoopy05 Goes Bye Bye from South Point,Ohio on Wed Jan 14 2009

I have been looking at the Equinox for a while and you see alot of them on the road.I like dealing in cars and I am a GM man all the way. so today I go to the repo sale and bought a 2005 Equinox LT AWD with 70k on it. I love it!!!! I thought the ride and acceleration was Great!!! I have to say I like the way the AWD handles compared to the 2WD.It snowed about 3 to 4 inch while we were at the sale and the equinox handled great in the snow.Alot of people say the 3.4 isnt powerful in them but I have to say you have to watch your speed.I have a 2000 Grand Am with the 3.4 and it is a power house and gets great fuel mileage.I havent checked the Equinox mileage yet but it seem to do good just by gauge on a 215 mile trip home, from full to about 3/4 tank left.I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who is looking for a Sporty SUV.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect size suv.

by Jomama from Appleton WI on Sat May 13 2017

Tons of room without feeling like you are driving a boat! It's small, sleek and the back seat has room for adult legs!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome gas saver !!

by StephLara from on Tue May 23 2017

Really great car , really dependable. My family loves this vehicle . Spacious , have 2 car seats inside . Spacious for grocery shopping also !!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth Ride!!!

by OmegaCT on Tue Jan 23 2018

I went to look at used cars and found a 2005 Chevy Equinox all white, looking good and sitting with a deal of the day tag! The stylish view of this suv caught my eye immediately. The vehicle drove quiet and smooth even being at 115,000 miles. Leather seats, comfort and roomy. Kids loved having space between them finally--no arguments! You would not believe this was a 2005 as it is so clean and modern looking. Loved it so much, bought it right then and there and was driving away with it, plates on, in 2 hours!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by Will I am on Fri Jul 06 2018

Great car , raised my daughter driving this car runs and drives like the day we purchased it , easy to maintain, my wife loved it and did not want to part with it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Dependable, gas mileage not so good.

by Nitrocar25 on Wed Aug 08 2018

This car Would be better if bought New. Like all used cars there no Maintance done so be prepared to do some maintenance on your used cars. Then they would be Running better.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid American Car

by Sigviscious from Seattle, WA on Mon May 10 2010

I'll start with the cons, because in my 5+ years of owning this vehicle as a commuter car, family truckster, and general al-purpose transporter, I have only a few: 1. The rear headrests on the 2005 are very large. They are not removable either, so you aren't able to switch them out for the newer, smaller ones. I use my mirrors to compensate, so it's not a huge problem. 2. Turning radius is large, which is a pain sometimes when navigating small streets with roundabouts. 3. Cupholders. The front armrest cupholder prohibits the use of the e-brake, which is a nuicance when trying to park. However, there is a single cupholder right below it for use when driving alone, so again, not a huge problem. 4. Cabin noise. Road materials might be the culprit, but this car is noisy. However, when driving on smooth surfaces, it's quiet as anything else I've ever driven. 5. No Auxiliary input. Annoying since everyone owns an MP3 player, and every car seems to have on now (even the newer Equinox's). 6. Surface-mounted external antenna. Seriously, this car is from 2005, not 1965. Technology has advanced. Pros: everything else. No problems with performance, reliability, durability, etc. Love the tan interior and black exterior, the movable back seat, the premium sound, the interior room, etc. I've driven this car in every scenario imaginable, and it's been wonderful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

88 out of 90 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best small SUV

by agr from mi on Mon Aug 15 2011

Great vehicle,for a good price..We purchased ours about a year ago. Could not afford some of the same size vehicles. Not any issues,except normal maintenance. Great gas mileage. So far , we couldn't ask for more

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox

A Station Wagon in Disguise

The auto industry could save itself marketing headaches and money by firmly embracing station wagons.

Consider the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. Although it is sold as a small SUV, it actually is nothing of the sort. That also can be said of Equinox rivals such as the Honda CR-V, Toyota RAV4, Saturn VUE, Ford Escape and Jeep Liberty -- all of which have abandoned body-on-frame, truck-based architecture in pursuit of ride and handling more akin to family wagons and sedans.

Like the Equinox, this week's test vehicle, all have lighter, unitized construction in which the vehicle's body, floor pan and chassis form a single rigid structure. Such design most often is used... Read More