2007 Aura

Consumer Reviews

2007 Saturn Aura

$1,782 - $8,590  MSRP Range
2007 Saturn Aura

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

69 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Saturn Aura?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 69 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, but disappointing MPG

by Kevin from Bowling Green, OH on Mon Feb 14 2011

I love the car, but was disappointed by the low gas mileage. Approximately 85% of my driving is on the highway, yet I'm only getting 21-22 MPG. I love driving it, but am hesistant to because of the poor gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2007 saturn aura

by sexybeast from on Thu May 01 2014

i would recommend you get this car it is the best car i had its so comfortable it makes me feel safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great car

by darkehorse from on Mon Apr 23 2012

Great car. Only drawback is that the mpg is not as good as expected. This is for the 6 cylinder xr model. Everything else is top notch so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not A Good Experience

by Disappointed from Charlotte, NC on Tue May 01 2007

When I first saw the Saturn Aura, I was blown away by how sharp the exterior and interior were. The performance was equally as commanding. I thought it was one of the best cars I've seen in its class so I abandoned all of the others in my consideration set and purchased it. It then spent its first few months being repeatedly towed to the dealer, being jump-started by GM Assitance and sitting in a service bay. At this point, the technicians are merely guessing and replacing. Moral: Be careful buying the first model year. Technicians have minimal experience with diagnostics and answers are tough to find. And if you think my experience is unique, be aware that another Aura was towed in during my last visit for its second experience for not starting.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Almost perfect

by George from Columbus, OH on Sat Nov 03 2007

I bought a 2007 Aura three months ago. I have been extremely pleased with this car: it drives like a dream, it's very quiet, it has an excellent sound system, the gas mileage is fair to good for a vehicle this size, and lots of people have admired the styling and the interior comfort. In fact I love it nearly unconditionally. There is just this one thing: the frame of the driver's seat. The frame for the seat protrudes at a strange angle, and if you do not get into the car the way you are supposed to when you have a bad back (butt first instead of leg first) you bang the underside of your thigh on this piece. I wondered why the salesman at the Saturn dealership noted that you should always enter EVERY car this way as we took it for a test drive, but after banging my thigh a couple of times I realized what he was getting at. But I love the car overall and would highly recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fantastic car

by jt from topanga, ca on Thu Nov 08 2007

i've owned many cars foreign and domestic, this is the best car and the best car company that i have ever experianced in my 40 years of driving.i live in topanga canyon and the drive is awesome, handles curves quick on straights and with the stabilitrak system the car always feels secure. many neighbors have wondered what this car is. I've had it since march with 9500 miles on it and just 1 oil change. the best and with onstar to boot. no problems or hassles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Good looks hide problems

by Maddan from Muskegon, Mi. on Sun May 14 2017

A good driving car with exceptional performance with the 3.6l and 28 mpg to boot, but the drivetrain is problem plagued with timing cover leaks, and wheel bearing failure at 45,000 miles that cost three times the cost to replace as a Ford Fusion. Front suspension rebuild at 39,000 miles and again at 105,000 miles, electronic gremlins galore. This engine was covered under a class action lawsuit for Cadillac and Buick, but not Saturn. If in the used car market for a mid sized sedan, stay away from The Saturn Aura.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

The worst car I've ever owned so far

by Jay from Hopkinsville ky on Fri May 26 2017

If i had bought it new i believe it world of been the perfect vehicle but I bought it use and its been nothing but problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, great price!

by DesMo from Des Moines, IA on Sun May 17 2009

Any review you read will say the interior of the 07 Saturn appears "cheap". This car was built in the same factory that builds the Pontiac G6 and the 2009 Chevy Malibu. The interior of the Saturn Aura and the 09 Malibu is virtually identical, yet the Malibu gets a rating of about average on the interior. Go figure. My 07 has about 40 MORE horsepower than an 09 Malibu with identical fuel economy. You can get a Saturn, same interior, same sporty and aggressive exterior, more horsepower, same fuel economy... at a significantly lower price. Don't waste your money on an 09 Malibu. Buy a Saturn Aura. You will not be dissappointed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow...I bought a Saturn (Aura XE)

by Auraboi from Calgary, AB Canada on Tue Oct 24 2006

After over a week of comparisons, test drives, internet research, and constantly second guessing myself, chose the Saturn Aura. After having a G6 as a rental only days before, I can tell you the Aura feels nothing like it's GM cousins. It's also superior to the Camry I rented for a week. The Aura has a distinctly European feel to it's handling and sports a more 'high tech' version of the venerable push-rod 3.5L V6 featuring VVT. It's remarkably quiet and the interior is impressive with it's use of higher quality materials and elegant layout. To me, the Aura one of the best looking mid-sized sedans to come along in a long, long time. The lines are clean, gaps are tight, with large wheel wells pushed out to the corners to give it an aggressive, sporty stance. I picked up the base XE model, which is well equipped as is. The 224 HP, 220 lb ft of torque 3.5L V6 is mated to GM's rather antiquated 4- speed auto transmission, but it works well enough. Shifts are smooth and the car moves along effortlessly. Air conditioning, ABS, Traction Control, power everything, keyless entry, 17" wheels, CD/MP3 player, Onstar, and 4 wheel discs all come standard. Honda, VW, Toyota and even Hyundai have a hard time offering this much car for so little money. This is my first new car and is a radical step up from my 93 Mazda 323, which I just sold to a mechanic for $75. I just want to go driving now. I'm very happy with my decision and if anyone is in the market for a mid-size sedan, do yourself a favour - check out the Aura and compare it to everything else. In all honesty, I never thought I would give my money to a domestic auto maker, but GM has done their homework and created a bonafide import fighter...for real this time! There is no need for me to second guess myself any longer. The original point of Saturn's existence was to woo import buyers, so for me to choose a Saturn over everything else speaks volumes about Saturn's (and GM's) new direction and attitude.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2007 Saturn Aura

Serving as a replacement for the forgettable L-Series, the new Saturn Aura marks a renewed attempt by the brand to establish itself in the midsize sedan market. The car impresses on a few fronts. Its handling performance is above average for the segment, and its two available V-6 engines are capable performers. Where it struggles is on the inside, with an interior that has too many problems to be considered among the best in the segment.

Exterior & Styling
Like the Pontiac G6, the five-person Aura is built on an extended-length version of GM's midsize-car platform, and it's one of the best-looking sedans using this design. It features subtle fender flares, a naturally arcing roofline and a short rear... Read More