2018 Atlas

Consumer Reviews

2018 Volkswagen Atlas

#3 Most Popular SUV/Crossover
$30,750 - $48,740  MSRP Range
2018 Volkswagen Atlas

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

162 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Volkswagen Atlas?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Spacious and affordable SUV

by JoeyD from Dallas, TX on Wed Jul 26 2017

Car meets all of my needs and surpasses any competition in terms of best price with options I wanted. I receive compliments all the time and it is a great suv.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So much room!

by Atlas Owner from Orlando Florida on Fri Dec 29 2017

The Atlas R-Line has exceeded my expectations with a pleasant ride and a ton of room to accommodate the family. We have had numerous suv’s from the majority of manufacturers over the years and VW typically offers more safety features for less money. If you purchase an atlas you are going to be happy with the Apple CarPlay and the informant system that is very simple to use compared to others. Gas mileage is average but what you get in return is an abundance of space for you and your family to enjoy and pack what you want and not what will fit when you go on a trip.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new Atlas

by TJ from Spokane on Wed Sep 27 2017

Great, was looking for a 7 seater and this vehicle handles great and has plenty of room for the whole family. Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury and Size at an Affordable Price

by Lola from Houston, TX on Fri Mar 30 2018

I am so impressed with the size, comfort and styling of the Atlas. I am also equally impressed with all of the safety features in this vehicle. With the Atlas, you get way more for your money than a Suburban or Tahoe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Atlas

by BusyMon from WILLARD on Sun Dec 10 2017

Brand new owner. This car has ample leg room and even more room in the back luggage room. I love the way the seats flip up so easily and make it so easily for kids to get to back seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Minivan Alternative

by BobZ from Providence, RI on Fri Feb 23 2018

This car can swallow up a family with style. It is much better looking than any minivan. It drives well, is roomy and perfect for a family. The third row seat is easy to get to and adults can actually fit. Additionally, there are vents back there so, air conditioning and heat can make it's way to the back of the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable, huge, and beefy.

by PrivateVenue from Payson, UT on Sun Feb 18 2018

I love this SUV! My favorites: the ease of getting in and out of the third row (you people who do carpool will appreciate it). The sound system is breathtaking (literally; when the bass drops I can feel it in my atoms). The sunroof, oh my gosh, after a long, stressful day at work there is nothing like opening the roof and turning up the tunes to blow off some steam. The look is solid, it seems huge but it doesn't turn or handle like a bus. It's a great family vehicle. Absolutely no regrets!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Joliet Jake from Joliet, IL on Sun Apr 29 2018

For the $40K I paid for my SE AWD R-Line it can't be beat. Great interior room and I am 6ft4. Fit and finish are beautiful and the engine has a lot of power and the ride is smooth and super quiet. I just could not justify $60K for a Tahoe or Yukon, I don't care for boring Japanese cars and the 6year/70K warranty is unbeatable. Great stereo and instrument layout as well as it is Made In The US which is nice. I got the gray and it is a fantastic looking body style- more boxy than all of the jelly-bean Hyundais, Kias, Nissans and Hondas out there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2018 Atlas SEL Premium

by Rob from Fort Knox, Kentucky on Thu Aug 24 2017

A complete package; safety features are phenomenal, sleek design, plenty of legroom for a midsize 7 seater SUV, comfortable interior, and drives great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV so far

by JC from Staten Island, NY on Wed Dec 27 2017

I love the Volkswagen Atlas SEL with 4Motion I purchased. Roomy inside and good styles outside. The ride is comfortable and quite enough in my opinion. Purchased it $4,000 off the MSRP, good value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 17

Our Take on the 2018 Volkswagen Atlas

The verdict:

With an emphasis on utility, the Atlas is a comfortable SUV with lots of interior room and well-executed high-tech features.

Versus the competition:

For those who often carry people or cargo, the Atlas offers greater interior flexibility and space than the competition.

The newest vehicle from Volkswagen is also its biggest: the aptly named 2018 Atlas. Why does the name fit so well? Because its cavernous interior can carry passengers and cargo better than anything in its class.

The all-new Atlas competes in a crowded segment of three-row SUVs that are a step below full-size, truck-based behemoths like the Chevrolet Suburban and Ford Expedition. Its rivals include the Toyota Highlander, Honda Pilot and Chevrolet Traverse. Compare the Atlas with those vehicles here.

I tested two versions of the Atlas, both with the optional V-6 engine and all-wheel drive: an SEL (priced at $43,615 including destination charges) and an SEL Premium ($49,415), the Atlas' top... Read More