2018 Atlas

Consumer Reviews
2018 Volkswagen Atlas

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

132 Reviews
2018 Volkswagen Atlas
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 132 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Love the space!

by Bugs on September 15, 2017

Owned 3 Explorers and then 3 MDX's and each time I got the new model it shrunk in size. The Atlas put an end to that with much needed space. I don't need a Tahoe or Armada and this is the perfect size. Ride is great and has all the gadgets you would need. I have the Premium model which still prices out great. I highly recommend it. Oh and it looks really cool too.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Above and Beyond Expectation!

by gsharma from on September 12, 2017

Best car ever driven. Great muscular look. I feel in control! My kids love this car! Amazing 3 row seating has ample space to fit 2 full size adults whivh is key for our family. Best decision ever!!!! Love all the techy features. Slowly learning them!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Spacious and affordable SUV

by JoeyD from Dallas, TX on July 26, 2017

Car meets all of my needs and surpasses any competition in terms of best price with options I wanted. I receive compliments all the time and it is a great suv.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So much room!

by Atlas Owner from Orlando Florida on December 29, 2017

The Atlas R-Line has exceeded my expectations with a pleasant ride and a ton of room to accommodate the family. We have had numerous suv’s from the majority of manufacturers over the years and VW typically offers more safety features for less money. If you purchase an atlas you are going to be happy with the Apple CarPlay and the informant system that is very simple to use compared to others. Gas mileage is average but what you get in return is an abundance of space for you and your family to enjoy and pack what you want and not what will fit when you go on a trip.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new Atlas

by TJ from Spokane on September 27, 2017

Great, was looking for a 7 seater and this vehicle handles great and has plenty of room for the whole family. Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Atlas

by BusyMon from WILLARD on December 10, 2017

Brand new owner. This car has ample leg room and even more room in the back luggage room. I love the way the seats flip up so easily and make it so easily for kids to get to back seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury and Size at an Affordable Price

by Lola from Houston, TX on March 30, 2018

I am so impressed with the size, comfort and styling of the Atlas. I am also equally impressed with all of the safety features in this vehicle. With the Atlas, you get way more for your money than a Suburban or Tahoe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2018 Atlas SEL Premium

by Rob from Fort Knox, Kentucky on August 24, 2017

A complete package; safety features are phenomenal, sleek design, plenty of legroom for a midsize 7 seater SUV, comfortable interior, and drives great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

VW Doesn't Care About Its Customers

by karaholm from Chattanoga, TN on June 29, 2018

First of all, I loved my BRAND NEW Atlas when I bought it. Every time I walked up to it for the first two weeks, I thought "man, that Tourmaline blue R-Line SE w/ Tech Atlas is sexy as xxxx!" It looked so much better than the vehicles around it. Then I went to fill the tank up. The fuel door fell off. Okay, no big deal. I put it back on and kept going... only to find that EVERY TIME I FILLED UP, THE FUEL DOOR FELL OFF!! Just one small annoyance compared to what happened after. Next, my vehicle starts taking longer to start up. I thought it may be the change of weather. My remote start isn't working either but I just figured I was doing something wrong when pressing the buttons. No big deal, right? WRONG. The next day, I load up my almost 2 year old and 6 month old and get ready to take them to daycare and go to work. MY CAR WON'T START! It tries turning over, but won't fire! What in the world? I try 7 times before finally! It starts! I go drop the kids off at daycare and then head straight to the dealership. Mind you, I sell cars for a living, so any time spent out of work is money out of my pocket! I drop my vehicle off and am given a ride to my dealership. I get a call saying it's a fuel pump and they need to give me a loaner. I get picked up and go back to the VW dealership... more time away from my work! I am told the fuel pump is on an "intergalactic backorder" and that it will take over a month to possibly get the part in. One person has already been waiting 3 weeks for one. WHAT??? So they give me a Passat - a $400 a month car!! So I am still paying my $800 a month for this vehicle, which at this point I hadn't even made my first payment yet, but driving a tiny vehicle! I immediately call VW of America and express my concerns. I get in contact with Jeff Newell, the new car manager at Village VW in Chattanooga and he works his magic and gets me a part from another dealership overnighted and I get my vehicle back within two days. This was the dealership working for me, NOT VW OF AMERICA. I go back to happily driving my car..... for two weeks until ANOTHER problem! My car starts acting funny again and my freaking fuel door is STILL falling off every time I get gas!! WTC?? I take it to the dealership again.... It's a purge valve! So they replace that.... I make my first payment and call VW of America about this service visit. I tell them something needs to be done about this. Their response? Oh, we have fixed it according to warranty. That's all we can do at this time. If it happens again, let us know. What? Okay. Fine. Only two issues, whatever, they have to work the kinks out I guess. I go on my merry way, driving my beautiful car that yes, I did still love. I wake up about two weeks later ON MY DAY OFF, get the kids ready, put them in the car and start it. I hear this loud, ungodly noise from inside my car. I open the door and it's even louder! I go to the front of the Atlas and the noise is SO loud! I took videos of it, sent it to some guys in service and they said "That's not good. Drive it to the dealership NOW" GREAT. So instead of enjoying the day with my kids, I drop them off at daycare and go to the dealership. I spend over half the day there for them to tell my it's the cooling fans and motor... What. Oh, and they don't have a loaner but I can still drive my car... They tell me "Hey, it's going to take over a week for this part to come in. Drive your car and if it starts to over heat, pull over and call roadside assistance to tow it here." I LIVE IN THE SOUTH. WHERE IT IS 90+ EVERY DAY IN THE SUMMER!! So let me get this straight, you want me to drive around with my two babies in the car and if it over heats, pull over and call roadside?? And sit in my over heated car in almost 100 degree heat?? WITH MY BABIES??? You're crazy!! Finally, after getting with the person who sold me the car, I get a loaner. I call VW of America and ask again for my vehicle get bought back or replaced or something! Because I no longer feel safe in this vehicle! There is clearly something wrong with my Atlas! Kim L leaves me a voicemail to call her back. I call her back within 15 minutes. Conveniently, she is already out of the office. Of course. I call her EVERY DAY FOR A WEEK. I leave voicemail after voicemail to PLEASE give me a call back! While waiting for a call back, my start stop error keeps coming on but no check engine light so the service tech tells me it should be fine. So still waiting for VW of America to call but my husband and I load up the kids and one of their big power wheel trucks into the Atlas for a day at the park on my day off, which is precious time because we both work 50-60 hours a week. I start the Atlas and guess what... check engine light. I bring it straight to the dealership again and they put us in a 2017 Tiguan... We try to fit the power wheel in the Tiguan and we can't. Park day cancelled. I have yet to hear from the dealership on what is wrong with my vehicle, which is understandable as they may be waiting to look at it due to other customers being ahead of me. In the meantime, I decide to try calling Kim L at VW of America again. I get a voicemail that says she is now out of the office until July 2nd.... So she couldn't return my phone calls all week and now she is out of town for a long weekend? Lolol okay. I do the online chat with a customer care rep and am told that KIM L IS THE ONLY PERSON WHO CAN TALK TO ME ABOUT THIS MATTER! Okay.... VW of America sells MILLIONS of vehicles in America. Hundreds of thousand, if not millions, just in my region -- I AM IN CHATTANOOGA TN BY THE PLANT!! And there is only ONE Customer Retention Rep in my region? ONE??? Is this some kind of joke? So I can't get a hold of anybody that can actually help me... So I decided to write this review of my experience with the VW Atlas. I would like to emphasize that Village VW in Chattanooga (Jeff Newell and Charolene Smith in service) has done everything possible to make me a happy customer but VW of America has failed miserably on this one.. So beware of this vehicle. Some people have had great experiences and no problems.... but many have had a tremendously horrible time like I have.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Midsize SUV for price

by Mallory from Maryland on December 3, 2017

I've only owned this car for a week so far but it looks great, drives great, and has SO much room. You won't find another midsize SUV with this much room and WITH desirable features for the price of the Atlas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14
Our Expert Review: 2018 Volkswagen Atlas