NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Outback

Consumer Reviews

$26,345 - $38,995  MSRP Range
2019 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

188 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 188 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru saved my life!

by Subaru Lover from Harrisonburg, VA on Tue Dec 18 2018

I owned a 2018 Outback Touring model with 8000 miles and was rear-ended on the interstate by a tractor trailer going 70 miles per hr and I walked away unhurt. I immediately ordered the exact same car but a 2019 model. The eye-sight technology stopped me from colliding with a car which crossed over the lane in front of me and incurring front end damage and air bag deployment. Amazingly the passenger compartment was totally intact and the only damege which was major was in the rear end storage section and a large impact craft below the front bumper.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

88 out of 88 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV

by 2019SubaruOutback3.6R from Tinton Falls, NJ on Sun Jan 27 2019

I recently purchased a new Subaru Outback 3.6R Limited. So far, so good. The car drives very nicely and the interior is very comfortable. Also, the car sits at a great height -- very easy to get in and out of the car and great visibility from the driver seat. The 3.6R Limited and 3.6R Touring are essentially luxury off-road vehicles for reasonable prices. No complaints here!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

41 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Car

by Ron from Maple shade nj on Fri Oct 19 2018

We keep our cars 10 to 15 years and choose vehicles we expect to do so. The subaru has excellant features and a great reputation we hope will meet our expectation. It is a very comfortable car with good acceleration v6 model

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect vehicle for us!

by NC Songman from Wendell NC on Sat Jan 19 2019

This car met all of our needs. It's the perfect height for my disable husband to get in. The turning radius is wonderful. I can get into any parking spaces no matter its angle. Everyday we find something more to love about this car. For example, the position of the side view mirrors is so brilliant in respect of noise and view. The ride is awesome and the outside noise is a minimum - unbelievable so much more than we were looking for and love. Many of the features that are standard on this care you would have to pay extra for. Even the eaning of the name is cool - Subaru - Google it. SUB ports and drink holders are everywhere. So convenient and affordable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I was looking at an Audi Q5 and then....

by Mel Mann from Denver, CO on Wed Mar 20 2019

I owned an Outback 25 years ago and loved the car... driving a BMW X1 now and was in the market for a new car with more cargo space. I was convinced I wanted an Audi Q5 but was disappointed by the lack of cargo space and what did not come standard on the car. I was also not impressed with the handling. For the price I expected so much more. Next door to the Audi dealership was a Subaru dealership and I told my husband I wanted to just check out the new Outback. He was delighted. I drove the 2019 Touring model with the larger engine. WOW! We bought it on the spot. I've been driving it for a few weeks and I love it. Handling (while not exactly a luxury car, it is pretty xxxx well close). All the safety features and bells and whistles are standard and make me feel safer driving. It is a very comfortable ride, more room all around from cargo to seating. Heated steering wheel, heated back seats great stereo round out the package. We live in Colorado and I already know that it will do well in the snow and on back roads. Got more for less buying the Outback vs the Q5 (and will not spend all my time and money in the shop like my friends who drive Audi's).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Feel very safe in this vehicle

by Pat grammy from Lawrenceville, NJ on Thu Dec 27 2018

I travel the turnpike alot and feel safe driving especially if I have the grandchildren. There is alot of leg room and comfortable traveling long distances. All of my passengers comment that it is very roomy and comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awsome car, best ever.

by Clifford from Oriskany Falls on Sat Feb 02 2019

the car is perfect for me , my wife, and grandchildren.. we love it. gas milage is also great, and we like lane change and eyesight.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good compromise between small SUV and sedan.

by KennyM from Seattle, WA on Mon Mar 11 2019

Very happy with ride, safety features, fit, finish, quality. Gas mileage not great but good. Coincidentally bought it a day before a big snow hit Seattle and was glad to have the AWD. Adaptive cruise control wonderful once you get used to it. StarLink functionality and UI is confusing and frustrating; doubt we will extend the free trial subscription. A month after buying, found a crack that will require an expensive windshield replacement. It traces to a tiny chip, presumably from a small rock we didn't notice. Subaru user forums online discuss potentially vulnerable/weak windshields so prospective buyers might want to have low deductible on your comprehensive insurance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru a great car for all seasons

by June Ball from Port Washimgton, NY on Wed Oct 24 2018

Always dependable & gives a sense of security in all kinds of traffic. A great car for all ages & families because it’s totally equipped to carry children safely.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just bought a Subaru Outback

by music lady from Ashton IA on Sun Dec 02 2018

Thie vehicle will be carrying a lot of musical equipment several times a month and being able to fold the seats down for more room will be a big benefit. It has a very smooth ride with smooth controls. Gas mileage will be very good and the way I drive, it will be even better than shown. The safety features add to the quality of this vehicle. Having All-wheel-drive will be a benefit in Iowa winters.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 19