NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Outback

Consumer Reviews

$26,345 - $38,995  MSRP Range
2019 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

72 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 72 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Hopefully this subaru will be better than last one

by BH from Marietta, GA on Wed Nov 07 2018

We had trouble with a 2016 Outback idling rough. Subaru couldn't figure it out, after taking it in 16 times. Subaru corp is awful to deal with. They best they will do to help you is offer $1000 toward a new / untitled car, which insulting for trouble the 2016 lemon caused us. The 2019 is a bit quieter and has some nice upgrades in radio system. The CVT transmission is all over the place and not geared well. It hesitates and then goes just a little late. We hope this one will last longer than our 2016 (32,000miles).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far is living up to its reputation!

by JRenee from Midvale, Utah on Sat Oct 27 2018

After driving a Mitsubishi for 3 years, this Subaru is definitely a huge step above! Getting onto the interstate is a breeze, and it has a smooth drive. I wanted something more dependable and I went to Subaru because of online reviews and friends recommendations. Love the technology that the Mitsubishi did not have - already have experienced a couple of safety features, most recent was the auto-braking, so love it so far!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Looking & quicker than expected 3.6R

by Magnetite from kingston, Tn on Sun Sep 30 2018

I like 95% of everything about this Outback. it needs more of a pleasing design on the console (Very Plain) and the fact the radio comes on when I start the car, no way to program it otherwise. I found that odd. I liked the exterior and color, like the interior design, mostly, rear liftgate button and gas cover release are in an odd place. I was very pleased with the performance and handling

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru saved my life!

by Subaru Lover from Harrisonburg, VA on Tue Dec 18 2018

I owned a 2018 Outback Touring model with 8000 miles and was rear-ended on the interstate by a tractor trailer going 70 miles per hr and I walked away unhurt. I immediately ordered the exact same car but a 2019 model. The eye-sight technology stopped me from colliding with a car which crossed over the lane in front of me and incurring front end damage and air bag deployment. Amazingly the passenger compartment was totally intact and the only damege which was major was in the rear end storage section and a large impact craft below the front bumper.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Car

by Ron from Maple shade nj on Fri Oct 19 2018

We keep our cars 10 to 15 years and choose vehicles we expect to do so. The subaru has excellant features and a great reputation we hope will meet our expectation. It is a very comfortable car with good acceleration v6 model

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle. Lots of features. Well designed

by NewSubaruOwner from Severn, MD on Fri Oct 12 2018

The Outback is a great vehicle. Very versatile, good gas mileage, great design. Plenty of power for a 4 cylinder engine. Also has lots of safety features. It will take some time to learn to use all of them. Overall a great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love My Subaru Outback Limited!

by Jeri Lynn from Highland, Indiana on Fri Jan 04 2019

This car has all the bells and whistles like most all other new cars, but the outstanding feature is its wonderful handling and comfortable, quiet ride. The Subaru Outback rides like cars used to ride 30 years ago - comfortably, securely, and solidly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I have owned!

by pipersbs from Norman, Ok on Tue Dec 11 2018

The Outback is a smooth ride and very quiet. Lots of creature comforts, dual level heated seats in the back, private USB ports and aim-able vents, great for kids. The seats fold flat for transporting items or camping. Up front has all sorts of great features as well, along with a nice electronics display, mapping system and other built in conveniences like Pandora, or bird watching options. It will be great for hiking, camping, and off roading, not to mention the sports racks on top for things like kayaks and surf boards! All in all, it is a fantastic car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New 2019 Outback

by Outback Man from Pioneer Ca on Fri Nov 02 2018

Elk Grove Subaru: I was amased at how easy it has become to trade in and purchase a new vehicle. My purchase was through the Internet department. Do your homework before hand. I traded in my older Outback for a new one and drove off all in the same day. Suggestion, if trading-in get a CarMax estimate beforehand and present to dealership. They should honor it, if not walk a way! I very pleased with my experience everyone was friendly and courteous and worked to meet my needs. Love all the new technology, makes driving much easier and safer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We love our Outback

by Wagnerds from Beavercreek Ohio on Fri Dec 14 2018

Bumpy to bumper we are completely sold on this car. We went with the v6 for power and less noise. The comfort and convenience as well as safety features are completely thought out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8