2019 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

$27,224 - $48,668  MSRP Range
2019 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

186 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 186 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Exceeds expectations

by Sweendogg3 from San Diego, CA on Mon Oct 14 2019

This car is amazing, I’ve always wanted one and now I’ve got one! Opted for 4 wheel drive or why have a 4Runner. Also 3rd row was a must, but a little disappointed with the space. Really my only complaint and I knew before purchase that would be an issue, but still would do it again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My forever Car!!!

by ReRe from Tuscaloosa on Mon Feb 17 2020

The 4Runner has always been my dream car. It’s very roomy, comfy and love the heated seats. The exterior is spot on 😍 the interior is so nice and comfortable. All the amenities are great, we didn’t even know we had bought it with 4 wheel drive which was an extra bonus! I’m so happy we stopped by after my husband got out of the hospital. He was determined that he was going to get me a car!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safety standard are the best I have ever owned.

by Charlie from Columbus, MS on Tue May 07 2019

I feel very safe driving this Forerunner. The safety features are really good. It is a very comfortable ride for my passengers. Love everything about it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Left Acura MDX for 4runner

by Valgal from Celina, Tx on Sun Jan 06 2019

After driving an Acura MDX for two years and disliking all the tech features for driving the critics rave about...I actually hated the brake assist, so called adaptive cruise etc and the transmission was choppy! I decided to test drive 4runner since they now have a 3rd row! My runner is great! Smooth shift in, the SR5 premium has everything I need without too many extras! 3rd row that’s extremely capable with the flexibility of the second row. Feels solid and looking forward to many years!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

42 out of 43 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely LOVE the ride! Very happy with my purch

by Scott from Cincinnati, Oh. on Mon Nov 19 2018

Love how the 4runner drives. Plenty of leg room for me being 6' 5". SR5 Premium has everything I need in a car. Very quiet ride as well at high speeds!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've owned

by Joe2372 from Raleigh, NC on Tue Feb 05 2019

I'm in my late 40s and have owned far more cars than I'd like to admit. This is the best vehicle I've owned. Why? 1. Reliability: See the unbiased ratings (i.e. CR). Look online at models for sale with 300k miles and still going strong. 2. Value for the money: It drives like a more expensive SUV (not CUV - SUV). It also holds its value. 3. Safety: One of the few body on frame SUVs left. Good reviews from the safety agencies. 4. Performance: On road it holds its own. Its rides and handles like a SUV. It is very predictable, stable, and straightforward. Off road it is more than capable - with room for seven. My kids love it. We have room for what we need but I don't feel like I'm driving a battleship down the freeway. It handles like a smaller vehicle. My only regret is that I didn't buy one sooner; I probably could've significantly reduced my number of vehicles bought through the years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It’s so comfortable from the inside.

by Jen from Mission hills on Sat Nov 17 2018

I love the metallic grey, all the new features like GPS, Bluetooth, and heated seats are amazing. It has a back up camera. This vehicle is so realiable, I test drove other vehicles like the Jeep rubicon and nothing compares to the 4 runner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Exactly what I was looking for

by Dogma6 from Burlington, Vt on Sun Nov 25 2018

I only gave the 4-Runner 4 stars because I wish it had more of the new safety features such as lane assist and heated steering wheel etc. It is comfortable to drive and handles awesome on snowy roads. I would definitely purchase it again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Nice!

by jessguenette from Albuquerque,NM on Thu Feb 21 2019

I am a shorter female and I have driven bigger SUV's up until this point. This 4runner is much more suited for someone my size. I do wish it had a feature that would move the gas and brake pedal closer to my so I did not have to sit so close to the steering wheel. But, all in all it is a simple but, very nice vehicle. Much easier to drive/park than the larger beast I was driving!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned overall.

by Stephanie from Frederick, CO on Tue Apr 02 2019

This car met all of my needs and looks SO nice. I ordered a ton of accessories at a great price and can't wait for them to come in so I can put them on. I really wanted a TRD Pro because they look great, but they are hard to find (because they are so awesome no one wants to get rid of them and new ones are usually sold before they can even put them on the lot) so I got a TRD Premium and ordered accessories to make it look like a Pro (rims, front grill, black emblems, etc.).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com