By Stephen Markley on Wed Mar 24 21:09:13 GMT-06:00 2010
New Jersey drivers younger than age 21 have provisional licenses with certain restrictions attached, and now the state has said they must affix a red reflective decal to their license plates to identify their status. Called Kyleigh’s Law, it’s named after 16-year-old Kyleigh D’Alessio who was killed in a car accident.
Beginning April 12, New Jersey drivers can buy the decals at motor vehicle agencies for $4 and affix them to the upper left corner of both license plates. They can be removed if older drivers use the vehicle or switched to a different car if necessary.
The sticker’s primary purpose is to allow law enforcement to identify those driving on provisional licenses, which are subject to stricter rules under the law. For instance, New Jersey drivers under age 21 can be pulled over for driving between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. or for carrying too many passengers. These are violations of the graduated driver’s license systems.
Drivers face a $100 fine for removing the decal or not purchasing one.
The law is the first of its kind in any state and came under an initial legal challenge for age discrimination. The suit was thrown out by a judge who pointed out that driving is not a right, but a privilege granted by the state.
The law goes into effect May 1.