2000 A4

Consumer Reviews

2000 Audi A4

$1,474 - $5,186  MSRP Range
2000 Audi A4

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2000 Audi A4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

Stay Away!!!

by Justice Seeker from DFW on Tue Jul 01 2008

Here's a breakdown of replacements... Belt Tensioner & Serpentine Belt 33,484 miles Engine Coolant Temp. Sensor 39,034 miles Brake Disc & Lining 54,706 TIMING BELT/ ENGINE 59,931 Left FT CV Boot 70,238 Faulty Cooling Fan 71,418 Outter Tie Rod Ends 77,644 Right FT CV Boot 83,824 All 4 Front Upper Links 87,269 Rear Window Motor 89,988 Rear Window Motor 97,000 And my car is setting at the dealership with another BROKEN TIMING BELT/ENGINE after only 37,000 miles ($8000) and the driver front window motor is going out. DO YOUR HOMEWORK!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Car, Reliable but Costly Maintenance

by Finny from Cape Cod on Sun Feb 24 2008

Bought the car used in 2003 with 40k, at 130k now in 2008. Never a dissapointment in its performance, acceleration or handling, the quattro system truly lives upto its name in any/all weather conditions. The leather interior has held up well, no electronical failures in the dash, speakers still crisp, and no issues with power to heated seats. Timing belt needed to be replaced at 90k and after that the smaller issues began to arise (rattling noises at highway speeds, wiper motor etc.), and do they add up!! Be easy on the locking system if you open/lock manually, mine broke on the driver's side due to ice build up and was ridiculously expensive to repair. However, all in all a superior car, has never let me down or stuttered in its ignition. No shortage of confidence in safety, solid riding car, all galvanized steel. If you're looking for a low-maintenance option might want to reconsider, dependability has certainly come with a price in higher mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Buy!

by Steve from Chicago, IL on Thu May 31 2007

I drove this car and it looked and handled awesome! Lots of features. The Quattro drive handles great in the snow!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall most enjoyable vehicle I''ve driven.

by Ex-British Sports Car Guy from Far Northern Suburbs of Chicago, IL on Sat Oct 11 2008

Have owned this car for over 8 years; handles superbly to many other similarly classed vehicles I had/rented. Very few problems with reliability and wear. Steering is predictable, Gear ratios are good. I've never felt the engine to be laboring. Hey, kick in that Turbo now and then. If you need to replace tires, I don't recommend the Continentals (which my car came with); went through 2 sets in 50K miles. Switched to Fuzions, stiffer ride in my opinion; cornering seems a bit stiffer and more upright also. Read the manual on the theft/alarm system-got myself locked in my own car for 10 minutes on a bright, hot sunny day. How embarassing. Been driving 44 years, and I'd buy another one tomorrow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quattro is impressive in the snow and rain

by Quattrofan from Chicago on Sun Apr 23 2017

Bought the Audi new as a reliable daily driver. It has been a great car especially in the snow With all season tires it works fine but if you add snow tires and Quattro all wheel drive it is unstoppable in the snow. Great fit and finish especially the interior has held up very well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Choice

by Audi Lover from Clifton, NJ on Sun Jun 04 2006

I would definitely recommend this car to anyone looking for a performance tiger, great handling and legendary German engineering. Great new features were added to the 2000 model, including a handy informational display screen between the gauges on the controls panel, but 5 years later this display started to fade out. Also, well-known Audi problem, the MAF sensor and squeaky steering. But once these little details have been dealt with, it's as Audi itself says: Never Follow. This car has the magic of leaving people behind you quickly with its Turbocharged engine, and the respect of owning a luxury sedan, not just a little honda...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Audi A4 rocks!

by Audidude from San Franscisco,Ca on Tue Jan 20 2009

I bought this new in November of 99. It has 124,678 miles and it is great!Its amazing for the family and luxurious to! To think I got this for only $28,000!Great reliability!Have 124,678 miles and only has had a few difficulties with the brakes! But besides that I love this outstanding car so buy an Audi!The new ones cost about the same!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Stay away

by Matt Johnson from on Thu Jul 21 2011

I've never owned a car that breaks down so frequently. There is a new problem every time I turn around that is really expensive to fix. This is the least reliable car I've ever owned. Its pathetic how many problems it has.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by gaffer123 from whitestone on Wed Aug 08 2018

Fun to drive in any weather. The four wheel drive makes it a beast in the snow. the Turbo makes it great on the highway.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

one of the best Audi's ever

by CJWA805 from Ventura, CA on Fri Jul 14 2017

I have owned couple B5 A4's over the years. Great car, so balanced and fun. The 96 - 01 Audi A4 is probably the best A4 generation ever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1