2005 A4

Consumer Reviews

2005 Audi A4

$2,278 - $9,466  MSRP Range
2005 Audi A4

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

45 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Audi A4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

check engine light

by joe from detroit on Thu Jun 21 2012

The suspension is nice and stiff, the ride is bumpy on Michigan roads. The seats are very nice and the interior is well designed. Visability is good. The braking is poor in snow, this may be due to the tires, but it goes but doesnt turn or stop. Good engine, but mechanical problems are expensive and complex and tend to be difficult to fix. Manual shift was fun, good gas mileage, but requires premium due to the turbo. I would not buy another. I have spent more time getting to know mechanics in the past two years than with any other car that I have owned. Cadillac and BMW are better cars, both better rides.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and classy!!

by pw from Los Angeles on Tue Feb 19 2008

Elegant design inside-out, powerful engine and transmission, super good gas-mileage. Two areas to be improved: 1. Navigation system: clumsy operation, maps needed upgrade... 2. A bit too much road noise inside the cabinet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

dirty deeds

by im audi here from smooth pavement on Tue Dec 13 2011

I love this car and will drive it into the ground. It does have some small pricey quarks. Window regulators along with several components which like to play games and choose to work or take the day off. the ride is so smooth with quick response. the inside is perfection. the entire layout is smooth with no gap lines completely solid. little attention to detail makes it easy on the eyes. this car is simply wonderful and if you so choose to love it she is an expensive woman to keep happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A4 3.0 Quattro

by Vicky from Minneapolis, MN on Mon Jul 17 2006

This car is a great car. The features of an A4 with the engine of an A6. Audi does a great job of making a car that is not too flashy yet not too boring. It truely is the perfect car. The all wheel drive is perfect for the Minnesota driver and the handling is equal, in my opinion, to the BMW handling that I have experienced in my previous cars. It gets good milage, has a great warranty and is not outrageously expensive. This truely is a sportscar for those who don't want people to know that they have a sports car. Compare this vehicle to A4 1.8 and 2.0 and I am sure you will decide that this is the one that you want.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Audi A4

by First time Audi buyer from Detroit, MI on Mon May 22 2006

Other than the check engine light constantly tripping, this vehicle lives up to expectations. Comfort, performance and handling are fantastic. Great in all weather conditions.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good service

by josh from kansas city on Fri Dec 06 2013

I am very happy with the car I purchased and they really did work with me. good Service and honesty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the handling

by Chemdemigod from Las Vegas on Fri May 31 2013

Love it! The quattro provides outstanding handling. The turbo gives excellent powermespecially at highway speeds.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Handling Car I've driven

by nickcguse from Portland, OR on Sat Mar 18 2017

Constantly needs one repair or another. The check engine light has been on since week 3. Once one thing gets repaired another thing acts up. On the positive side: this car drives beautifully. I learned how to drive on a windy road in California, and this car handles them easier than it does straight stretches of freeway. With the top down there is nothing like driving this car and I've never been happier with one

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good condition

by James from Cincinnati, OHIO on Sat Nov 09 2013

This car is very comfortable, I feel good to drive it, also, the price is not so high for me to buy it. The body of the cat is pretty well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Coolest Audi Ever

by arydell from Santa Monica, CA on Tue May 09 2017

I love the way this car drives and feels. It has better handling than almost anything out there and looks better than 99% percent of cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2005 Audi A4

German automaker Audi wasn't timid when it came time to redesign the A4, a compact sedan that aspires to play in the same luxury territory as BMW, Lexus and Infiniti.

Audi designers opted for a radical redesign that adopts the brand's new family "face" -- a yawning grille, new clear-glass headlights and creases in the hood that give the car a "power bulge."

There is no male/female split here on whether the Germans did the right thing with the 2005 A4, which debuted in March. To us, the design is a hands-down winner, cutting across gender lines to score a slam dunk.

We tested an Audi A4 2.0 T Quattro sedan with several options, including $500 17-inch alloy wheels with all-season tires and $450 light... Read More