2012 A4

Consumer Reviews

2012 Audi A4

$8,232 - $18,712  MSRP Range
2012 Audi A4

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

33 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Audi A4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2012 A4 Quattro

by Dylan from Edmonton on Sat Jul 02 2016

Bought a 2012 A4 quattro sedan with manual transmission in early January 2016. Had it for 7 months and so far no major problems and I really like it. Great looking car. I'm 6'3 and I have tons of leg room. Very comfortable power adjustable front seats, small rear seats though, especially if taller people are in the front. Great high quality interior that looks fantastic. The MMI controls are a little clumsy but are pretty good once you get used to it. All settings including nearly all heating/cooling plus fan speed are controlled from the MMI. The engine has a decent amount of power and a lot of "pull." The shifting is smooth and easy. The car feels very safe and stable at high speeds, the ride is really smooth but not so soft that it rolls sloppily around corners. It handles well and is really a lot of fun to drive. Its very easy to speed and not even notice. Great steering feel, very easy to turn the wheel at low speeds but it stiffens up at high speeds, which adds to the very stable and enjoyable driving experience. On snowy conditions the all wheel drive system is really great, used a set of all season tires and never had any problems. Can handle a Canadian winter. The car doesn't have a block heater which may be concerning to some, but Audi insists that its not necessary, and I never had trouble starting the car, even on the occasional -30C morning. Another quirk is the lack of a dipstick, so you need to use the MMI system to check your oil. Not a big deal. Overall Im happy I bought this car, its a lot of fun to drive and it looks great. Keep in mind that service/parts can be expensive, so its very important you maintain this car properly. Don't skip oil changes or any required maintenance. Some dealerships offer warranties on their used cars, for these its not a bad idea.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the excellent 2012 audi a4 quattro

by audinator from NH USA on Sun May 25 2014

Gorgeous looks in and out. Fabulous performance. juicy handling. For the price you get possibly the world's best vehicle. Can never get enouph drive time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The worst car I've ever owned!

by Diana H from Leonia NJ on Tue Jun 05 2018

Despite it's great look, this car has been nothing but a headache for me! After, owning it for less than two years it began to develop an oil consumption issue after getting an oil change and driving under 1K miles or less. Oil for this car is ten dollars a quart

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most beautiful car i?ve ever owned

by mandynoel on Wed Jul 04 2018

the car exceeds all of my needs. it is fast, reliable, comfortable and very spacious. i would recommend this car to anyone looking for something sporty and safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nothing else

by JAG from New Hampshire on Wed Nov 13 2013

I recently bought a 2012 Audi A4, This is the second A4 we have owned and will probably own another when it's time to retire this one. This car is probably one of the best driving experiences you can have for the money. This is a vehicle which not only provides luxury, but fuel efficiency, quickness, and incredible control under all driving conditions. Do yourself a favor and try one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car in the market for this price ....

by One more in Audi lovers list from sunnyvale on Wed Jan 21 2015

I bought this car a month ago and i am really enjoying this master piece ... Awesome Pick up, beautiful interior , very good mileage , smoothest driving experience, crisp and loud music system, .... I think i am in love this car .. Cons - does not have back up camera , but never mind :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for The Buck

by AFMayr from Potomac, Maryland on Mon Oct 16 2017

This car has great performance (not overwhelming, but its 2.0l T 4 has a lot of low end torque), had it for 3 months so far and great reliability, great gas mileage (24 in city, 29-32 highway) , great exterior design with the s line package, and nice interior design with the leather, aluminum (some of the plastic is cheap-ey sadly), very comfortable, the heat and AC CRANKS! All of this for a 5 year old car with 80,000 miles and $13,000. insane deal. And it's an Audi

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best sedan I ever owned!

by Nike from MD on Thu Apr 12 2018

Bought a 2012 A4 quattro sedan with auto transmission in Oct 2017. Had it for 6 months and so far no major problems and I really like it. Great looking car. I'm 5,6 and I have tons of leg room. Very comfortable power adjustable front seats, small rear seats though, especially if taller people are in the front. Great high quality interior that looks fantastic. The MMI controls are a little clumsy but are pretty good once you get used to it. All settings including nearly all heating/cooling plus fan speed are controlled from the MMI. The engine has a decent amount of power and a lot of "pull." The shifting is smooth and easy. The car feels very safe and stable at high speeds, the ride is really smooth but not so soft that it rolls sloppily around corners. It handles well and is really a lot of fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Coolest Car I've Owned

by Audi enthusiast from Brecksville, OH on Sat Feb 09 2013

Very stylish and great performance. Turbo really makes this car fun to drive. Overall great car that is also reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Maintains reputation for performance, but ...

by Aristophiles from Ontario, Canada on Sun Nov 20 2011

Picked up my 2012 Audi A4 6 speed manual last week and had it out for a run on the highway over the weekend. It lives up to expectation with respect to styling, comfort and performance, but can't provide any meaningful comments on reliability and value for money just yet. I will comment that the instrumentation is busy and the computer interface can complicate what should be simple tasks. For example, turning on or off the seat warmer is no longer a matter of setting a dial on the console to the desired level. You now have to hit the seat warmer button (which you really can't locate by feel), turn the dial on the computer to the desired level and then punch the dial button to activate it; to turn it off, you have to punch into the seat warmer mode, turn the level down to 0 and then punch the dial again. Not as simple as I'd like it to be, especially when driving in traffic. Also, the instruction manual isn't as well written as manuals for competitors (I also own an Acura). It tends to jump around and instructions don't seem intuitive. I know I'll adjust to the new Audi way of doing things (I last had a 2005 Audi before trying something else) and for now am most pleased with the performance and handling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2012 Audi A4

Editor's note: This review was written in March 2011 about the 2011 Audi A4. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

With sales more than double any of its brand siblings, the Audi A4 entry-luxury sedan is effectively Audi's ambassador in the U.S. The R8 supercar might grab more publicity, but the A4 is the car that average customers are most likely to encounter.

After driving the sporty A4 with its refined interior, it's clear that it's not entry-level: it's near the top of its class.

I tested an A4 sedan with Quattro all-wheel drive and the new-for-2011 eight-speed automatic transmission... Read More