2009 A5

Consumer Reviews

2009 Audi A5

$7,092 - $18,344  MSRP Range
2009 Audi A5

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

22 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Audi A5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car but expensive

by Ex-Audi owner from Miramar, Florida on Thu Feb 02 2012

Incredible looking car, can only fit small children on the back. Runs fantastic (the 3.2L), great acceleration. The only issue I find is that a new one is way too expensive. It is probably best to buy a 1 or 2 year used one, to get the real price of this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best

by Jack from NY on Sun Nov 10 2013

I love my car audi A5 V6 it's one of the best in the market the line is perfect. If you want to look diferent .... :-)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 2009 A 5 is a really great car!

by pgearshifter from lakewood,colorado on Fri Dec 22 2017

This A 5 is fun to drive,rides great and shows excellent quality in materials and workmanship throughout. All the car needs is correct maintenance and it will be reliable for many years and miles.I bought my A 5 with 27 k miles on 12/2013 because i liked my brother's 2009 A 5.I have the loaded S line with Audi drive control. Since then i have 43 k on mine and my brother has 155 k on his and he can be brutal on a car with plenty of abuse and the car is going just fine.Just a couple small repairs.If my brother can get such great longevity it is a great test for me.I am planning on driving my car for at least 10 more years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dream...

by Audi Loyalist from middletown, nj on Wed Jan 18 2012

i watched this car from inception and at the time was driving my 2nd a4...i loved the styling, etc. after 175k miles on my '03 a4, my mechanic suggested that it was time to make a change. i was looking for a 3.2l a5 as i knew it would compare to the s5 closer than the 2.0t...found an '09 w 30k miles in mint condition...other than a few problems out of the gate which the dealer took care of - i have to say, this car is a DREAM. drives and handles like a performance car should, and turns eyes at every view. LOVE LOVE LOVE the car and would recommend it to any enthusiast who can't justify an s5, yet wants to get into the sport coupe category.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A beautiful car and great handling cruiser

by JimmyNeutron from Philadelphia Area on Thu May 26 2011

Gorgeous car that has been very reliable and fun. Engine and tranny are smooth with plenty of power. Back seats are not for long adult sessions but the folding seats makes it very useful for cargo. Interior is very nice but the roof does not open all the way.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Audi A5 3.2L Burns a lot of Oil

by Seamus666 from Temecula, CA on Thu Apr 19 2012

I have a 2009 Audi 3.2 Liter that bruns what i consider excessive oil. I need to put in one quart every 1000-1400 miles. This is the least exspensive care I have owned and the only car i had that bruned oil was a 2006 Porsche 911 every 3,000 miles which i was told when i purchased it. Local Audi dealer thinks this is crazy as well but Audi USA refuses to take care of it even though they have a simialr problem on the 2.0 liter brunninngn a quart every 850 miles. beware about purchasine this vehicle

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The most unimpressive car I have owned so far.

by Picky car enthusiat from Matawan NJ on Wed May 23 2012

Having owned aprox. 30 vehicles of all different makes, I was very disappointed in the car. Aside from the looks, which were down right beautiful, the car fell short in keys areas. Lets start with the interior, the base seats were just so unsupportive (bad for the back), the seatbelt has no adjustment on the B pillar which means the seatbelt is always annoying the side of the neck. The MMI controls make it such a task to do most commands, the worst I found was the use for the radio stations. The voice command also took too many steps, bring back the basic buttons for the presets. I found the that the suspension did not do a good soaking up the bumps, it seemed to unsettle the car. The steering (which is electric) felt so fake at times, the only positive thing about the steering was how light it was to turn at low speeds. The 3.2 liter V6 had no low end torque, being such a heavy car, you really have to get into the upper revs to get the car moving. The transmission was not as smooth as it should be, also lazy at times. When a car costs more , it should deliver more. All it delivered was great looks. I gave the car 5 stars in reliabilty only because I owned the for only 9 months and had no issues during that time.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A very sexy car

by Burnout from uae on Sun Mar 13 2011

I would have given the A5 5 stars on all aspects had the automaker dealt with two main issues: 1- the weight. (feels very heavy on first gear- in comfort mode) 2- even the base model should have memory seats and navigation. shame on them for being so cheap. i had an american muscle that cost 40% of that a5 and it had everything included...such a shame.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good car bad dealership

by joe from dallas, tx on Sun Feb 27 2011

The vehicle is awesome..great to drive in comfort and performance..but pls don't buy from this dealership, i rather throw away you money and time rather than deal with this dealership, worst in the metroplex.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Don't get this car

by Kevin from on Thu Oct 13 2011

This dealer is extremely bad,all staffs' attitudes are awful!Seems they don't even wana sell the car

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 65 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2009 Audi A5

The sport coupe is an interesting beast. It's not a sports car, yet it's not as practical as a four-door. Even so, Audi feels it needs one in its lineup to compete with the BMW 3 Series two-door. I'm not sure that really is a need, but image-conscious shoppers who aren't looking for the most driving excitement may find the A5 at the top of their most-wanted list.

Why? The A5 is simply a great-looking package wrapped around a pretty useful car, even if it only has two doors. The only problem may be its pricing; when you load up the A5, its price tag may take the glimmer out of your eye.

Exterior
During my week with the A5 there was no doubt as to its most compelling attribute, the styling. My test car... Read More