2002 A6

Consumer Reviews

2002 Audi A6

$1,435 - $7,603  MSRP Range
2002 Audi A6

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

18 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 Audi A6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This Car Gets Around!!

by Love Luxury from Bloomfield, IA on Mon Sep 27 2010

I live in Southeastern Iowa and year round the weather can be mean. This car has made it through deep-rutted muddy back country roads, icy roads and snow like no other car I have ever driven. The All Wheel Drive and traction control is awesome. My husbands' only complaint is he can't do donuts in the snow! Aside from the handling, the interior is just as enjoyable. The only issue is the cupholders..they just need to be a little bigger sometimes!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Audi A6 3.0 Quattro Reliable, Safe, Sporty etc...

by Audi/VW Naples, FL Car Owner from Naples, FL 34112 on Mon Jul 19 2010

WAULT64B72N017822 2002 Audi A6 3.0 Quattro was a great car. Low maintenance, good gas mileage. The car handles great especially good with the General UHP (Ultra High Performance) Tires. Car has great braking and Quattro all wheel drive and traction control hugs the road. Bose system sounds great with built in 6 disc CD and factory sub woofer. Electronic seats, windows, etc... and interior appointments are very nice for the year. Brand new front brakes and rotors were recently installed. 220 Horsepower has tremendous pick up. Love Audi and have owned several with no major expenses or problems. I have personally owned; 2001 A4 1.8T Quattro, 2006 Audi A4 2.0T, 2002 Audi A6 3.0 Quattro.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice vehicle

by New to Audi- LS from Trenton, NJ on Tue Dec 27 2011

I purchased an Audi A6 with 71k. The price was right and I had been looking for a car to go along with my Denali. It is very comfortable on the inside and has excellent pick up! I love driving in the S mode because it becomes a beast on the road (though I am sure it burns more gas). Only modifications needed are rims and a darker tint on the windows. I have had to replace an engine coil, power steering pump/ belt, and both front axles so far along with a tune-up but the car was used so.... love the Audi a6 so far!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY RELIABLE GOOD LOOKING CAR

by JIMW from HARTFORD,CT on Sat Dec 31 2011

AFTER 10 YEARS THE CARS STYLE STILL LOOKS GREAT. INTERIOR HOLDS UP VERY WELL AND WITH JUST OIL,FILTERS AND BATTERY THE UP KEEP HAS BEEN MINIMAL.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great machine

by good one from on Tue Feb 25 2014

i had 2 a6 2.7 and both were great to me, 2.7s are the best one for power and confort , gotta watch regular maintenance like t-belt, and valve cover gasket replacement , amazing on snow , I never got stuck but had a lot fun with it!! i

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car I have owned

by Cowboy from Colorado on Thu Feb 15 2007

Great car to drive. Very responsive. The Quatro is very secure on wet and ice covered roads. Good visibility. Very quiet. Great sound system. Dealer has been very good to work with up until now. Car has had some waranty work on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I've ever owned, hands down!

by Kim Lizotte from Cheyenne, Wyoming on Fri Mar 02 2018

I drive this car on my daily commute to work which is 80 miles north of Cheyenne, on the interstate where we experience up to 70 mile an hour winds almost on a daily basis, this car holds itself while on the road handles perfectly, has good gas mileage despite the wind is very sturdy well put together and as old as it is I have virtually no repairs except for when something gets really wore out, like brakes or an ignition, I really love the twin turbos a give me Instant Power and speed when I need it, all the electronics and amenities in the car in the interior are still working and I've not had to repair or replace any of them and I drove a Mercedes the other day and I was very glad to be back in my Audi A6!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury and Performance with a style all its own

by NYprofessional from New York, NY on Mon Oct 10 2011

I love this car. It has a unique style, plenty of power with the 3.0 liter (I already got pulled over...), and the assurance of quattro for the wet and snowy days winter. I'm looking forward to my first winter so the kids can enjoy the heated rear seats and me the heated steering wheel on those cold winter mornings. I had to replace the o2 sensor (@ 65k miles) for $380, but I've had similar and more pricey repairs on my volvo s80...so, nothing that outrageous.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful ride

by Stalebread Spanky from Fargo, ND on Sat Sep 30 2017

This is a spacious, comfortable sedan. There is a lot of power in it and the extras make it a pleasure to drive. Some recurring electrical problems but otherwise reliable. My husband who is 6'7'' doesn't fit well in the driver's seat as the steering wheel doesn't extend higher, but it's been a great family car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

V8 Quattro Tank

by Wade from LOS ANGELES on Tue Sep 12 2017

15 years later, this car in this trim is now a niche enthusiast ride. The exterior design is arguably the most timeless of Audi's mid-size sedans, with its wide fenders only found on the A6 4.2, S6, and RS6 of this C5 generation. It does push in corners due to it's weight and V8 up front, so its more of a highway cruiser than a sports sedan like an E39 5-series BMW, but it does make for a more comfortable and spacious car. The Sport Package is a must with stiffer springs, dampers, and thicker anti-roll bars. Additionally, the Sport seats are amazing. The items on the car that need to be addressed eventually are the oil cooler pipe (a $14 part that takes 5 hours to get to), cooling fans (both fan clutch and aux fan), valve cover gaskets/cam chain seals, and intake actuator arms (again, plastic parts that fail and can be replaced with aluminum pieces). Once these items are addressed along with routine maintenance like transmission fluid changes and timing belt changes, it makes for a unique daily driver with some European flare.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Audi A6

The 2002 Audi A6 3.0 sedan is an attractive, midsize vehicle with lots of lovely luxury features and plenty of comfort/convenience amenities.

Got that? Great, let's move on to the transmission. I could go on all day about it.

My test A6 was equipped with one of the niftiest new pieces of engineering on the market -- a continuously variable transmission. It's called CVT for short, and its origins actually can be traced to the early 20th century. But now, unlike then, a CVT holds up under the forces engines dish out.

The CVT technology on the test A6 is unique to Audi, which means the automaker gets to call it an "Audi multitronic automatic continuously variable transmission."

If you haven't guessed... Read More