Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 A6

Consumer Reviews

2004 Audi A6

$1,791 - $7,835  MSRP Range
2004 Audi A6

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

26 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Audi A6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BEST SEDAN OF THE ENTIRE WORLD !

by romyboy from Guadalajara, MEXICO on Thu Feb 05 2009

MB? BMW?...Search no further ! AUDI A6 is the best sedan in the world for what you get in a very reasonable price ! QUATTRO (AUDI exclusive) SYSTEM since its invention it is the most reliable tool to get you ALWAYS on the road no matter the weather conditions or degree curve angles. If you are thinking in getting an Audi, please: DO NOT get it without the QUATTRO system ! If you choose to do this, it will be like getting a plane VW Jetta or so. Now, if you are into the A6, go for the 2.7 Twinturbo version (I fully recomend going for a 2002-2004 year): the 247-260 HP makes a complete difference among the rest of the engines due to its relative echonomy versus the amazing power when you "put the pedal to the metal" ! At the same time, it is a very comfortable sedan for a family vacation cruising. Unless you own a private race circuit, there is no need for getting the 4.2L V8 (S6) excessive power, not to mention the cost of the fuel consumption. Finally, like other here placing his review, if you have the chance, go for the "SLine" version which is more sporty appealing without sacrificing your sedan's needs. One last thing: too bad 2002-2004 A6's that reached USA market did not make it with the Multitronic version (gear changes in the steering wheel)as we have in Mexico...I haven't seen any at all over there. So go for your 2002-2004 A6 2.7 SLine and enjoy it at its full !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

You have to own one to understand

by Audi from Chicago, IL on Sat Dec 08 2012

Lemme get the cons of this car out of the way first, the reliability is very questionable at times, The accelerator pedal got stuck once(but if it happens with Toyota's it can happen to my car) and parts and labor for the vehicle is expensive, so if you have a tight budget probably wouldn't recommend buying this car. The Audi A6 2.7T is probably the best car in my household, and trust me we have seven cars:Corolla, Tahoe('09), 2 Mercedes, BMW, Acura MDX('10), and my Audi. The car is fantastically quick, very beautiful, and the ride is so very smooth. The car even gets good gas mileage, I'm averaging about 20 mpg mostly city highway driving with Quattro(which is the very best AWD systems available) The car was bought for about 6 grand with less then 50,000 miles on it. today it has about 93,000.very good car. if you can afford to own one i recommend you buy it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Audilover from Pottstown on Tue Mar 21 2017

Audi is just getting better than BMW and Mercedes .I love this car a6 04 runs like other 2014.i love it...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great road car

by audi 4.2 in wv from bluefield, wv on Thu Apr 25 2013

this is a great car, love the power and awd quattro. the 4.2 liter v-8 is good on gas for 300 hp it has,yes repairs for any audi can be expensive,but i would recommend this car to anyone.excellent road trip car 70 mph is nothing for this car even in the mountains of wv, love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by On the road a lot from Michigan on Fri Jan 19 2018

Owned for 10 years low cost to maintain. Very comfortable and reliable would buy another. Great all wheel drive traction.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Audi A6 Quattro

by 350Zguy from Amesbury, MA on Sat Sep 16 2017

Comfortable luxury along with great dependability. Sneaky fast on the highway from 50-70mph. My fave among the German auto makers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Used 3.0 Avant with 62k

by Charbs from Needham, MA on Wed Jan 08 2014

Purchased this one owner car off the lot with only 62k miles. Have owned BMW's, Saabs and a myriad of other cars. This one was a bargain for the price. Solid but not without some gremlins (phantom sunroof, power steering pump). But what do you want for a 10 year old car. It is refined, powerful, solid handling, has more cargo space than most SUVs and is not a bad looker either. A little on the thirsty side running premium gas. But overall very happy with this purchase and hope it will be with us for a while without to many expensive trips to the shop.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

S-Line power

by Butch from Overland Park, Kansas on Sat Jan 05 2008

I have owned a few Audi's. I have always thought that these cars were the "thinking mans ultimate driving machine". With the advanced engineering and Quattro drivetrain, I find myself continually taking my MB, BMW, Lexus, and Infinity driving colleagues home in poor weather. I have enjoyed most of my Audi ownership. There has always been one item about the Audi's that I owned that drove me crazy, the lack of power. I have never felt as if the automobiles were horrably underpowered, there was just always a little more to be desired. My desire for power was instantly met with the 2.7 Turbo S-Line A6 package, 2004. The extra umphh from the Turbos is staggaring. The S-Line adds a few extra horses under the hood and the body package makes the family four door sedan.......sexy? I live in a city of 1.9 million people. I know of only one other S-Line in this city, and I have only seen that auto once. I truely feel as if I have cheated the Porsche and Ferrari drivers in town, with the S-Line cars exclusivity. Do not begin to think that I am comparing this automobile with a Porsche or Ferrari. I just know that I am very pleased with the stature of this car in comparison to others. It also does not hurt that, of all the fine automobile manufactors mentioned in this review, I am the only driver confident enough in his cars abilities, to not give a second thought in poor driving conditions. I guess that makes me the "thinking man", in the driving machine. Butch

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High End Luxury and German Engineering.

by Audi Enthusiast from Deerfield, IL. on Mon Oct 01 2007

High End Luxury and German Engineering. Great value for the money with many safety and great features . Really enjoy driving this vehicle. Feel safe and assured with the AWD - Quattro system. Plenty of power with the 3.0 V6. Recommend the Audi Certified Pre-Owned vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

reliable and affordable low-end luxury

by funcrab from Las Vegas on Tue Mar 06 2007

It is not a BMW, but it is a lot cheaper too. Advantages: Great gas mileage for 220 HP. Well balanced sporty and comfortable ride. Owened it for 2 years

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3