2008 A6

Consumer Reviews

2008 Audi A6

$3,956 - $14,088  MSRP Range
2008 Audi A6

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

33 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Audi A6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Title - Great On Any Road

by New quattro Aficionado from Elk Grove, CA on Fri Aug 31 2007

I just returned from driving my new A6 for over 2,400 miles in Europe. The car is very comfortable. The seats hold you firmly in place yet produce no sore spots even after hours of riding. The low noise levels of the cabin aid greatly in limiting fatigue. The much maligned MMI does require some study but is convenient to operate. If you found this review online, you can easily learn to operate all of the MMI functions. The performance and handling of the A6 is impressive. The 3.2L (3,123 cc) does just fine in getting up to speed, whether merging, passing, or setting the pace for autobahn traffic. After break in, I reached the car?s electronic speed cap of 134 mph several times. Even then the car is rock solid with very tight steering and no drift, shake, wobble, or float. The brakes are controlled and predictable. The suspension of the A6 is a great combination of road surface sensing and isolation from harsh jolts. You always ?know? what conditions the tires are encountering but rarely do you have to think about it. Having done a lot of research on quattro, I summarize it as follows: Other all wheel drive systems are like walking on a slippery sidewalk where you slip and then catch yourself before you fall. Audi?s quattro is like not slipping in the first place. Other systems have to slip first, then detect the slip with ABS sensors, then actuate a clutch which then sends more torque to other wheels. Audi uses the completely mechanical TORSEN center differential to instantly distribute torque between the front and rear wheel pairs. In most cases, this prevents slip before it happens, rather than trying to play catch up like those systems on BMW, Lexus, Mercedes, Acura, etc. The enhanced exterior styling of the 2008 model provides a sportier yet still refined look. The interior design features the classic Audi attention to detail with attractive wood inserts and stitched leather seats. As for features, I most like the adaptive air suspension (special order only on the 2008 3.2L), back up camera, headlight washers, capability to fold down half or the entire back seat, and adaptive headlights. (WARNING: While I highly recommend taking European delivery, Audi?s program is extremely behind schedule. I had to fight very hard to get my documentation in time for my trip.)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Audi A6 is a great mix of sports car and luxury!!

by Adventure Man from Victor, NY on Sat Apr 17 2010

I have driven Audi's for years (along with some BMW's and Mercedes) and I can tell having had this exact model of Audi that this is a great performing car! The Quattro all-wheel drive system is phenomenal in snow and for aggressively tackling turns. The interior is extremely well appointed, luxurious and functional... including the MMI which is substantially easier to use than BMW's or Mercedes! The seating space in comfortable for four adults, but formed enough to be sporty... and the trunk space is great! This is by far the best mix of European luxury and performance in four door sedan!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Estate

by Jimmer from Sioux Falls, SD on Wed Nov 10 2010

We've got a 2008 Audi A6 Avant, a replacement for a 2005 Audi Allroad. We loved the Allroad, and the A6 Avant is almost as good. Only complaint, the steering wheel controls are not intuitive and require you to take your eyes off the road. The old ones were better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Comfortable and Fun Car

by knn from Export, Pa on Mon Jan 02 2012

This S-line 2008 A6 was well maintained and came in mint condition. It drives very well and gets good gas mileage for my commute. My wife comments on how comfortable it is to both drive and be driven in. It handles quite well and provides enough power for some fun. The interior styling is great and the entertainment system is amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Ck75 from Northern Va on Fri Feb 22 2013

I have owned the 2008 A6 4.2 with S line for over 6 months and love the way it drives. It is quick and smooth as silk. The music system (MMI) is awesome along with the Navigation. I added a usb connector to the MMI cable and now can hook up any usb drive to listen to music. Love the power and the option to use the manual/sports drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quality Vehicle

by Audi Owner from New York on Mon Mar 10 2008

I have owned Audis for the past 4 1/2 years. The new Audi is by far the best they have yet made. Incredible feeling of build quality and excellent handling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing fuel efficiency in FWD

by jmdubya from Nazareth, PA on Tue Oct 11 2011

Love this car. I have an s-line FWD and regularly get over 34 MPG on the highway. I drive around 110 miles per day, so this is important to me. Ok, the car is fun too. If you need to stomp on it, you'll be going 90 mph in a blink.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hidden Gem

by Jerry from Houston, TX on Tue Mar 31 2009

Great Car; fun to drive; more value for money than Mercedes or BMW; more pazazz than Infiniti. MMI a bit confusing; better gas mileage than expected with CVT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Audi A6 Quattro Sline edition

by maegs22 from georgia on Mon Jun 05 2017

Its currently 2017 and I own the 2008 model and she still turns heads! I have upgraded the grill, blackened the chrome Audi symbols, plasty dipped the rims black, and it looks like a newer model! The car handles great and its a blast to drive! This car has some power to it in sport mode, and in regular mode it is more luxury driving. Its a great difference! I enjoy this car so much! She is at 70k miles and ive never had any issues (knock on wood).Only negative about this car would be the back of the seats and the separation of the hard back. I've seen this happen on A LOT of this model. To be an almost 10 year old car, people would never know by driving and sitting in her. Recommend for a cheaper route to luxury!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and Functional

by Tyg from San Diego, CA on Thu Mar 20 2014

Tight, obviously well-engineered and solid...hopefully it is reliable over the long haul. First German car so it will be interesting to see how easy it is to maintain. The S-line seems to be pretty stiff but it flies.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2008 Audi A6

Editor's note: This review was written in October 2006 about the 3.2 S Line version of the 2007 Audi A6. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

If you have $40,000-plus to spend on a luxury sedan, there are plenty to choose from. Why consider the A6? With its incredibly detailed cabin, a choice of two strong engines and good crash-test scores, it's an appealing alternative to more expensive offerings from BMW and Mercedes-Benz.

Exterior & Styling
Aside from its large snoutlike grille, Audi hasn't taken many gambles with the A6's exterior styling, which has a reserved but classy look... Read More