2012 A6

Consumer Reviews

2012 Audi A6

$11,281 - $23,473  MSRP Range
2012 Audi A6

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

46 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2012 Audi A6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Drive

by revdr from Texas on Sat Sep 03 2011

compared it to bmw 535 and chose A-6 due to interior styling, advanced technology and value for the money. Audi includes many options that you have to pay extra for in BMW. Acceleration and quatro are fantastic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best In Class

by RennSport 7 from Boston, Massachusetts on Sat Jul 23 2011

At first the 535 xi looked like a better choice but after driving both I went with the A6, 10 more hp, 140 more torques, standard nav system and awd, more luxurious ride and better interior make up for the looks that the A6 loses to the 535xi.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Rock Steel from Coastal South Caro;ina on Fri Mar 30 2012

I have owned my Audi A6 2.0 (4 cylinder turbo) premium plus for a three months now and couldn't be happier with the purchase. The car handles well, has plenty of power, is beautiful inside and out, has all the technology I could want, and gets good gas mileage. The MMI multi- media interface may be a lot to figure out for some people. But after using it a while, I've found it to be very intuitive and user friendly. I'd recommend spending some time playing with it before your test drive and purchase. I especially like the on-board computer and the navigation system. Once a destination is entered in the navigation system, a simplified navigation image appears between the dials directly in front of the driver in addition to the main screen. I also like the versatility of the MMI system. Between the dials on the dash, you can display a digital speedometer, the nav, the on-board computer, your phone directory, the list of songs from your ipod, etc. I have taken a few trips in the car and found the seats, instrument layout, and driver position to be very comfortable and highly adjustable for different drivers. There is plenty of room for 4 passengers comfortably and 5 passengers in a pinch. The trunk is very large. My model is the 4 cylinder turbo and is front wheel drive. I hesitated choosing between the supercharged 6 cylinder quattro and the 4 cylinder, but the superior gas mileage of the 4 cylinder won me over. I am getting 24 - 25 miles per gallon around town and mid-30's on the highway. The car is exceeding smooth and glides around corners. My one ding for performance was made because if performance is an overriding consideration for you, you should check out the supercharged 6 cylinder quattro. Another other minor issue, I've had trouble getting all the voice commands to work, but this could be me and not the car. My A6 brings a smile to my face every time I drive it and I gotten complements on it from friends, co-workers, and total strangers. I find the Audi superior to my old BMW. I think I've changed to Audi man for life. I highly recommend you consider an Audi A6.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Car

by Rev dr from Texas on Tue Oct 25 2011

Great acceleration, beautiful interior, latest tech gizmos; makes E-class and 500 series look old and staid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best ever

by texas doc from Texas on Wed Feb 20 2013

I have 10000 miles on the A6 premium plus. Prior BMW`s for twenty years. This car is a flawless blend of comfort and performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A6 3.0 quatro prestige

by Mike from Chicago area on Sun May 13 2012

I normally buy BMW, but went with the more peppy A6 3.0 quatro prestige rather than the 535ix . It even stands up to the performance of the more expensive 550ix.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb

by First-time Audi buyer from on Sat Sep 01 2012

Loved the styling of the A7, but couldn't justify the price premium. "Settled" for the A6 instead. Great car in every way. Build quality, handling, and ride are superb. Highly recommended.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT VEHICLE...TOP NOTCH QUALITY

by slawler on Wed Aug 16 2017

This vehicle is in excellent condition and has been since the day I first purchased. I have been the only owner and would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a high quality/luxury vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simply the BEST

by LucyVerona707 from Waunakee on Wed Sep 13 2017

I loved this car. Now we have 2 of them. We really enjoy them. They are fast, sleek, realiable, and the body paint is second to none.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best in class

by a6 is best in class from ney york, NY on Wed Aug 10 2011

the a6 (3.0 v6 prestige) is better more powerful and has lots of features at a cheaper than an eclass 4matic or a 535xi and is faster than an Xf truly a great car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2012 Audi A6

While debate rages over whether there are too many distracting features in cars today, automakers continue to roll out increasingly connected models, like the redesigned Audi A6 midsize luxury sedan. With features like real-time news updates, Google Earth navigation integration and in-car Wi-Fi, it's enough to make U.S. Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood break out in a cold sweat.

In this relentless quest for enhanced connectivity, does anything remain for the Luddites who just want a luxury car that's engaging to drive? With the new A6, the answer is yes — albeit a half-hearted one.

The 2012 Audi A6 has the high-tech gadgets and style to attract luxury shoppers, but it lacks the dynamic driving... Read More