2008 A8

Consumer Reviews

2008 Audi A8

$6,529 - $16,577  MSRP Range
2008 Audi A8

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

8 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Audi A8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

4th A8L

by Audi from Rhode Island on Fri May 13 2011

This is our fourth A8L, I have owned Mercedes S class, BMW 7 series and many Jaguars and we just love the ride, the style, the power of this car. Looking forward to purchasing a new one in the fall.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 bought at 39,ooo miles

by M5 from Minnepaolis, MN on Tue May 14 2013

This A8L has has 64,000 miles and had no issues at all. Car's reliability has been excellent! Maintenance : Oil changes, filters and winter tires for MN. Daily driver for 40 miles on state rural roads is a joy. Smoothes the worst country roads and handles solid. Daily trips, if not hammering it in the straights, averages 26.4 to 27.2 mpg- beating the factory listed mpg. Running 19" wheels with tires at 40 PSI and in dynamic suspension mode. As a former amature road race driver, this car exceeded my expectaions. The interior equals or exceeds the MB S class for this model year. No longer designed with a timing belt ( has traditional double row timing chain) adds to the value of long term ownership!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't Leave the Audi Brand!

by Windyridgemom from Snohomish, WA on Sat Feb 15 2014

This is my second A8L. Just got the 2008 and love it. Doesn't have quite as many bells and whistles as my 2004 but prettier interior, better engine and quiet ride make up for it. I had a Mercedes E500 (now driven by my daughter) and much prefer the Audi. Roomiest by far. Considered the Mercedes, Jaguar and others before going back to the Audi. Just wanted to see what else was available. Couldn't make the switch after all. Just love it! Mileage is excellent on long road trips too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great daily or weekend car..

by Keith M. from Westland MI. on Sun Jul 02 2017

Audi continues to build exceptional cars and SUVs. The 2008 Audi A8 sets the bar and standards for what cars should be.. The 2008 Audi A8 which some calls the "Transporter" from the movie, for this year has all the bells and whistles. Quality, Comfort and performance are above other brands. I purchased my A8 as a second owner in upstate New York and drove it back home to a Michigan in February of 2015. Seats are very comfortable with a solid ride. Very smooth on local and highway roads. Plenty of passing power and the full time AWD is like no other.. The stereo system is quite pleasing . This car is driver and passenger friendly. Cost of ownership was very low over the last two years . If you purchase a pre-own A8, just keep up the maintenance and you will enjoy your car for years to come. I currently own three Audi models. For Audi, the A8 from 2007-2010 is a classic automobile . Hope this helps you decide on buying what brand for your next car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Amazing

by Audi Lover from Pennsylvania on Mon Apr 30 2012

Never saw the Valet fight over who gets to pull my car up. The A8L is the most amazing large sedan on the road. The 4.2L V8 gets 25 MPG on the highway. My rear passengers have room to cross their legs. The sound system is incredible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than first thought

by digger97068 from Portland Ore on Mon Dec 05 2011

I only traded my A8 because it was going to go out of warrantee in a few months. I averaged a bit over 18mpg around town and it was difficult to let go of it, but I replaced it with a certified 2010 S5 with 6,500 miles, so it will be under full coverage until 2016. I even ran a couple of track days with the A8 and pushed it to its limit and was NOT disappointed with its performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned

by Audi A8 W12 from Boston, MA on Wed Aug 23 2017

Great car with super performance. Great looking muscle car. Nice exterior and super luxury interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Luxury, Power, and AWD

by SeattleMatt from Seattle, WA on Wed Jul 05 2017

Great seats, reliable v8, and the best part is all aluminum chassis and some aluminum body parts. The bad: fuel economy is on par with older luxary cars, very boring looking car, inside and out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2008 Audi A8


Audi sharpened its flagship for 2008, not that there was anything wrong with last year's broad-shouldered A8. The luxury division of Volkswagen calls it "honing the character" for improved drivability, comfort and refinement.

The concept is a full-size luxury sedan that drives with sports-car finesse while still coddling the humans inside. Though the changes seem subtle compared with the pre-honed A8, already a favorite among well-financed driving enthusiasts, it gradually dawns on you just how responsively this car maneuvers.

You also notice the lush ambience of the businesslike interior, the supremely comfortable seats and, more than anything, the awesome capability of the 1,000-watt, 14-speaker Bang... Read More