2012 A8

Consumer Reviews

2012 Audi A8

$13,345 - $38,141  MSRP Range
2012 Audi A8

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

8 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Audi A8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

Performance & luxury but...

by Second chance blown... from Chicago,IL on Sun Jul 13 2014

This is my second Audi and perhaps the last. For 100K+ you'll get performance and ultimate luxury, but it seems to all stop there. In the first 4,000 miles all warning lights lit up like Xmas lights. Resets after restart, reappears after 15 minutes of operation. Fixed under warranty after 2 days. Passenger side window inoperable due to regulator. EGV failure caused my A8 to run on 4 cylinders, max speed to dealer 30 mph! EGV failure again at 7,000. 24 days at dealer due to lack of parts. Dealer gave me a Infiniti M to drive in the meantime (brilliant car btw). Then, of course, more Xmas lights at 11,000. Dealer can't resolve the mysterious codes so simply did some magic reset. Then more electronic nightmares. Driver side HID/LED DRL entire housing replaced due to moisture buildup. HID went from a white lamp to an embarrassing bright purple light. ABS light at 13,500. All of which was taken care of under warranty. Regardless, the inconvenience this A8 has caused is ridiculous. Dealer was always short of courtesy cars (wondrous why?). Excuses, excuses and more excuses. I got rid of it right at 14,000 miles. I took a loss but it was well worth getting rid of it. I'm in a Lexus LS F now with 20,000 miles of absolutely ZERO issues. It's a bit mundane compared to the A8, but it's well worth that difference. I will never be able to recommend another Audi product. Some will never have the problems I had, but I did and that's good enough for me. No more Audi for this household!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My second A8

by RDinSA from on Fri Jun 16 2017

Even better this time. No mechanical issues after the dealer fixed a clunk in the suspension. It was great having an internet hotspot intergrated in the entertainment system!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent technology, style and performance

by Autobahn from on Sat May 20 2017

excellent technology has been very reliable and no issues at 100000 miles - drives like first day very intuitive entertainment system love the massage seats

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for the money of any car I've owned

by Audi A8L Owner from Troy, MI on Sun Apr 23 2017

The Audi A8L represents the upper echelon of sedans. New, this car is extraordinarily expensive . However, as depreciation wreaks havoc on this car it drops to a very affordable price bracket. I bought this car CPO (Certified Pre-Owned) which guaranteed it was in good condition and it also provided an extended warranty for problems that may pop up. When I got this car, it was very good condition and I didn't feel worn down at all. I would definitely recommend buying this car for people looking to go further up the market than their budget may allow on a new car. I think this car is very good used but I have trouble justifying the price if it is bought new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Highly Recommended

by Solo5472 from Greenville, SC on Sun Aug 20 2017

This car was very comfortable driving as well as the get up and go when needed to get into traffic. I would highly recommended this car to anyone thats looking for the leg room as well as the performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Luxury Sporty Sedan - Audi A8

by Cy3erspy from Kearny NJ on Wed Mar 01 2017

One of the best cars ever made. This is exceptional German made vehicle, superb quality, comfort and reliability. Driving this limousine is an ultimate pleasure whether behind the wheel ot in the back seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable

by AudiLover on Mon Sep 18 2017

I really fell in love with this vehicle. To me it's nothing better then a Audi but don't just take my word for it go get one

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best of the best

by jasonr from New York, NY on Thu Jan 12 2012

My audi A8 was the best decision i ever made. I had a beamer and a mercedes, and both do not measure up to the Audi. The A8 is the nicest car i have ever owned and is truly technology at its best!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2012 Audi A8

Editor's note: This review was written in March 2011 about the 2011 Audi A8. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Any high-end luxury sedan should deliver refinement in spades; for the most part, leading players like the Mercedes S-Class and BMW 7 Series do just that. Pitted against such competition, the Audi A8 hasn't made much of a sales dent. Now, Audi has redesigned its flagship for 2011, and the results suggest a concerted effort to build something unabashedly different.

Indeed, the Audi A8 is distinct, with a refreshingly progressive cabin, but the driving experience lacks... Read More