2014 A8

Consumer Reviews

2014 Audi A8

$19,331 - $51,947  MSRP Range
2014 Audi A8

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

16 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2014 Audi A8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best motor I've ever owned

by Automotive Enthusiast from Leesburg, VA on Tue Sep 17 2013

I've had 11 Audis from 5000's to A6s and S8s. This 2014 A8L TDI has it all. It performs wonderfully, not too fast but had plenty of power when you need it with over 400 ft/lbs of torque. I took a leisurely 40 mile trip and was able to squeeze 47 mpg in mixed driving. I tried to get the highest so that's not normal. I've been getting 33 combined and 41 or so on the highway. The interior is impeccable, the MMI system is the best in the industry, the message seats are wonderful and my back seat passengers love the extra leg room. Economy, performance, luxury; it has it all. It's fun to drive even on windy roads which you'd expect from an AWD European sports sedan. Why Audi didn't bring in more TDI's I'll never know. Next year the A4 will arrive in the USA with TDI engines to choose from. We here in the USA will no longer have to drive plastic Prius's to be green.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first 'Luxury" car

by Jim from Sarasota, FL on Thu Nov 14 2013

Aside from a few minor 'creature features' that could stand a bit of 'tweaking', it's a great car. Some of the items I will recommend to Audi include: ? Audi Connect news items should have a ?Read? options to keep eyes on the road. Same as ?Travel Information.? ? Seats should be ?cooled? vs. ventilated. GM has offered this for many years. ? There should be an ?Exit? seat setting for leaving the vehicle. Return to max opening for easier/better access. Should also be adjustable. ? Should have a ?Remote Start? feature. Not new technology. GM has offered it for many years. ? Rain sensors should close windows and sunroof. ? Tire pressure readings (absolute numbers) should read out. GM has offered it for many years. No clue on Audi except when pressures fall to some (unknown) low level. One major shortcoming of the car is its woefully undersized trunk space @ 13 Ft3. A car of this size and price level should have a much larger cargo space. ~ 18-Ft3 Large enough to store four sets of golf clubs. Another issue worth mentioning is road noise. I believe Audi's selection of tire tread design should be revisited. At 70 MPH, it's rather noisy in the cabin. The car's aerodynamics seem fine and the car is well insulated and solid. I'm sure there are much quieter tires available, such as the Continental's "Pro Contact" series I installed on my '09 Cadillac DTS (Great tires!) The car is very sure-footed on the road, very solid feel and excellent response with the 3-L engine. Can't imagine any need/benefit of 4-L. I've only had the car ~ two weeks and haven't learned all the ins/outs of the navigation and phone systems, but they are both very impressive. Audio (speaker) system is "Good"--not "crisp" sound, but very nice. On balance, it's a fun car to drive and feels very good. Long trips turn into very short ones with a great deal of comfort. It "floats" down the road. I really enjoy the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Luxury Sport Car (A Rocketship)

by Nick3rd from OSSINING on Mon Dec 04 2017

Great Room for big people. A great car for long drives. The adaptive cruise control is amazing. The car has everything and more. It is also fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very relaible vehicle

by John from Las Vegas, NV on Sun Jul 01 2018

THIS PREMIUM PERFORMANTS VEHICLE IS WHAT EVERYONE SHOULD EXPERIENCE ONCE IN A LIFETIME. THIS IS ON OF THE BEST VEHICLES THAT I HAVE DRIVEN. THANK YOU.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pulchritudinous Automobile!!!

by Audi Searcy from Saint Louis, Missouri on Wed Nov 08 2017

The car is Physically Beautiful. I often catch people staring at it. The diamond stitching in the interior is captivating. The massaging seats are very relaxing. Once you learn how to adjust the Dynamics of the vehicle you will find that it drives like one of the Best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice car

by Redsoxbernir from Tucson, AZ on Mon Jul 17 2017

I have only owned the car two weeks, but have driven it over two thousand - mostly highway - miles. I changed the tires to improve the quiet ride. It is as advertised a comfortable highway cruiser with gobs of power when wanted. It is much more of a drivers car than my Lexus LS. It may well be nearly as quiet as the Lex but is much more fun to drive. I have owned a few high end cars. This Audi ranks up there with any of them. I am still learning the multi function controls. But once that is mastered I will be the proverbial happy camper. Mileage on highway driving is 22 to 26 mph running at 80 mph. Pretty good. All in all a nice car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A treat to drive.

by Hey eight from Newport on Wed May 17 2017

I love the loaded feasted. Adaptive cruise control is the way to go. Really reduces stress in heavy traffic. I look forward to my drives.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice ride

by BooRaiders from Sacramento,Ca on Thu Apr 06 2017

I enjoyed driving this one on the freeway lol took it highway 99 had a real blast handles well accelerates well

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury with a punch

by John from Sac on Sat Jun 03 2017

Just bought it and drove for a week. Just getting to know all the things it has. A very responsive car and exudes luxury.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

DREAM CAR

by sarasarasara from Chicago on Thu Sep 21 2017

I loved test driving this car. It was fast and sleek and had great interior options. A little out of my budget, but the cost might just be worth it. I would say this car is great for someone who has the time and money to take it to the dealer for repairs and maintenance. Ultimately too costly of a car for me to have, but I really love the way this car looks and drives.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2014 Audi A8

The 2014 Audi A8 L TDI doesn't let being diesel-powered detract from its luxuriousness, but its improved fuel economy doesn't push it immediately ahead of its competitors.

Audi's A8 is in a tough position, battling crowd-favorite luxury flagships like the BMW 7 Series, Mercedes-Benz S-Class and Lexus LS, which you can compare here. Last redesigned for the 2011 model year, for 2014 the A8 takes a big step toward saying "Hey, look at me!" with unparalleled fuel economy in its class thanks to a new diesel engine. Compare the 2014 to the 2013 here.

Diesel is a dirty word. It's not what most buyers expect a luxury automaker to shove under the hood of its flagship car, though Mercedes-Benz and Audi have... Read More