2005 S4

Consumer Reviews

2005 Audi S4

$5,050 - $12,838  MSRP Range
2005 Audi S4

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

25 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Audi S4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

funfunfun

by mrktmac from boston on Tue Nov 27 2007

i traded in my 540 I for this, hoping to get the benefit of all wheel drive for these new england winters. I can't believe i'm saying this, but i also got improved performance for my hard earned dollars. I loved my BMW, but with all 4 wheels pushing, my S4 grabs the road and this car just scoots. the feel is also very solid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing S4

by Jai from woodbridge,va on Sun Nov 09 2008

It is truely a drivers car. I had been an owner of two BMW, (very nice cars), and I recently did an unthinkable thing by trading in my 06 330i for an S4 and wasn't so sure of the move, but I'm so glad I did it, and love every bit about S4. It is Truely an amazing ride..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car rocks

by Bimmer Guy from on Sat Nov 01 2008

This car rocks. If you test drive it - push it. You wont be disappointed. It simply runs. It likes to be pushed hard and in sport mode, it's downright scarey. If it had wings, it would fly. I've had 13 BMW's (Currently a 2001 m5) 4 Audi;s (currently an S4) two Merc's and a variety of second tier cars and this car tops them all - including the M5. It's not as fast, but the Audi is simply FUN. Reliability is a question for the older ones and maintenance is expensive, but when this car is right - there is nothing better to drive. I commute in it in the suits on the way to meeting, I kick it at 120+ Mph in my jeans on the weekends. This car is woerh every penny. Audi's dont hold there value, so I wouldnt buy one new, but I will keep this car for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Unique Vehicle!!

by Audicionado from Bay Area San Francisco, CA on Wed Mar 16 2011

I purchased a ised B6 S4 with 52k miles and this is one of a kind vehicle. I drive my son to school and do my daily commute and the pleasure of driving the car is unique and amazing. So far I have not had any issues with the car and soon is going for the 55k service. One thing is I would recommend the car but for service find yourself a good Indy mechanic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drive the rest, Settle for the BEST

by Audi NUT from brooklyn,NY on Mon May 18 2009

This car has power when needed, ample to be exact, tons of torque and the new Audi V8s are virtually bulletproof. Had mine now for 3yrs with zero problems. Had to once replace coil packs but its a simple and inexpensive task. (common Audi issue) Extremely comfortable,did I mention the never ending torque...two thumbs up!!! Audi did it again!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun X 4

by IMAUDI from PA on Mon Jul 06 2015

What a blast. Just purchased a 2005 with under 50K miles from a single older owner, dealer maintained. Having a Audi mechanic down the street from me sealed the deal. I owned a V8 SHO Taurus and a BMW M3 convertible, so what do you get when you put those 2 in a blender? The S4 Cabrio. The expense to own and maintain is a bit scary, and not good on gas, also an expense, but so far, no regrets. Turning the key in the ignition seems to be another problem, not sure whether its worn out or if just a flaw in design, but very difficult to turn the key in the ignition. I use the Tiptronic gear gift when I want the extra performance and control, otherwise I pleasure cruise in automatic mode. No need to modify with a tuner or chip, it's good to go. Car is a dream, but you gotta pay to play.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Family Car and Sports Car in one

by Sum0ne3lse from Chicago on Wed Apr 05 2017

The 2005 Audi S4 Avant is a great car if you enjoy having cargo space, comfort, and performance all at the same time. The leather Recaro seats hold the driver in place through fast curves while the 4.2L V8 powers through. For a 2005, it's still a sharp looking car when in good condition. The straight lines of the long roof make the wagon shape well known. It's nice to be able to seat 5 adults, load the trunk, and still be able to enjoy the smooth engine. With the V8 comes low fuel economy by today's standards, but its throttle response is quick while the exhaust note is sporty and refined. It's not going to wake up the neighbors, but pushing the engine sounds satisfying from the outside. The Quattro system of course shines in rain/snow, and grips nicely on dry pavement, though some may experience some understeer at the limits. Parts and labor are not cheap, but if you can get an extended warranty on it like I did, it pays off for peace of mind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice drive not as tight as BMW and not as Mercedes

by Zfoot from Upper Marlboro, MD on Wed May 17 2017

It's very cool look. The drive is sporty but has just enuff luxury to make you feel comfortable. The look has stayed constant for so long that a single change of Grill can bring you right up to date with the look.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

what is was looking for

by P. Lucas from Boston.Ma on Mon Oct 06 2008

a car that was fast,good-looking and 4wd for my new england winters...and also its yellow..lol..price was good considering its 5000 below trade-in value...probally because gas prices...which are going down thanks to god...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most fun drivers car I have owned

by Dan from Ladera ranch California on Tue May 09 2017

I love the sporty feel of this car. It has great handling and power for the price. Great interior and overall design. Good daily as in practicality but also sporty enough to take many modern sports cars for a much higher price. Awd is great to take to the snow and up to mountains for winter sports. Great overall car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2005 Audi S4

Nothing like a family car to get your blood pumping. Nothing like the thrill of five on board and a wagon area for storage and loads of cargo room to really get you excited.

A family car with personality?

That's like a pleasure trip to the dentist.

It's exactly like the Audi S4 Avant.

Seriously. You might not know what you are missing.

The S4 Avant is a new way to consider the typical family car.

Yes, it is expensive. Audi charges a premium for its S vehicles, and at $46,650, this S4 Avant is no different. We're in BMW territory here, beyond even the Hemi end of the Dodge Magnum.

But for the enthusiasts who happen to have a couple of kids, could you really go wrong?

Or consider this: The whole idea of having... Read More