2008 S5

Consumer Reviews

2008 Audi S5

$10,700 - $22,956  MSRP Range
2008 Audi S5

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

9 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Audi S5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This is a gorgeous piece of driving art

by car lover from Chicago, IL on Sat Jun 13 2015

I really think this is one of the most beautiful pieces of modern art. It gets looks from people all the time. The V8 engine is an awesome sounding 350 hp, but it's mpg is not very good obviously. The interior is typical top-quality Audi, which is something they trump BMW on. Car drives great and the 6-speed manual is a hoot to drive. My one complaint is the sunroof design, it only pops up. It is a huge panoramic window, but I wish they had gone to a smaller one that slid open.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owning one of my dream cars

by BKLYNSON from SMYRNA, GA on Sat Apr 21 2018

This being my first Audi I'm very impressed. I previously owned a VW GTI with was arguably more fun but the S5 is much more refined. Gotta love the attention to detail and beauty of the machine. Also can't beat that naturally aspirated V8 and all wheel drive quattro.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

FUN TO DRIVE

by uacustom from phila, pa on Fri Aug 18 2017

Its fun to drive when alone. Hard to fit kids in it. Gas guzzler. Parts are a bit expensive and so are repairs.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty, comfortable Coupe with Fantastic looks!

by ybnormal07 from Oxford, PA on Sat Jan 27 2018

Overall very satisfied. Owned for 5 years to date and so far, no unscheduled maintenance issues. Had a number of people stop to take pictures of it (Black with black powder coated rims). Deceant performance and AWD to boot. Luxury interior and awesome stereo (B&O). Only issue is getting into the backseat is a bit tight, although there is a rear seat accessible button to automatically move the front seat forward as needed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love it

by Dubsessedla2z from Chattanooga on Tue Jan 30 2018

Wasn't even looking to purchase a vehicle but saw it from the highway and stopped to look at it because I generally enjoy looking around. Found out exactly what it was and fell in love.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wicked car!

by King Ging from on Thu Jan 08 2009

Love it. No issues. Tight, fast and nice engine sound. I have black on black. Great sound system and bluetooth works great. GPS is also the best I have used compared to Mitsubishi, GM, Landrover and Mercedes. Pricey, but I bought mine used. So no real issue for me.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth

by Chee from Los angeles, CA on Wed Nov 21 2007

" Chee " I have a friend that works at a Audi dealership and had the opportunity to drive the S5. Style, design, : This car is very sexy the minute you look at it. It's characteristics similates with the new BMW 3 series coupe, but is very distinctive in it's own. The styling on this car demands respect. Other drivers will speed up, slow down, or pull over to get a closer look. Design on this vehicle won't get outdated. 30 tears from now some young kid is going to want to restore a car like this. The interior had red leather bucket seats, but felt luxurious. Performance, handling, and comfort: The take off is smooth from start to finish. I really enjoyed the naturally aspirated 4.2 V8 engine. The S5 drove like a sports car but felt like a Cadillac. I got to take the car to 130 mph and felt as if I was only going 70 mph. What more can I say about it's AWD system other than the fact that it is AWD. Unless you're a professional driver AWD is best for handling. There's a $10,000 mark-up and people are lining up for it. If you're looking for a sports car without losing comfortability this one is for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Mechanical Nightmare

by Disappointed S5 owner from Whitefish, MT on Fri Sep 20 2013

Recently purchased a used 2008 S5. Made the purchase based on exterior styling and expected reliability. After 2500miles (45,000 total now) I have put $10k into repairs and maintenance to keep the car running. All repairs have been "known issues". These highly engineered vehicles are mechanical nightmares . I purchased the car as a toy to drive on Sundays but will be selling or trading it as soon as it's out of the repair shop. If you intend to purchase make sure you have the extended warranty to cover all of the maintenance issues you will encounter.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great looking vehicle but expect problems

by car enthusiast from canada on Sat Mar 24 2018

I bought a 2008 S5 used with only 60K kms and I've thus far driven it 30K over the past 3 years. The car is quite stylish and one of the most stylistic vehicles on the road however it does come with a cost. General maintenance is expensive and general reliability has been an issue. I have had issue with sensors (o2), with the clutch slave cylinder - broke twice and left me stranded, and most recently the entire clutch needs to be changed with only 90K kms. Beautiful car and fun to drive when its not in the shop - the fun factor has worn out and its time to sell this vehicle unfortunately

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2008 Audi S5

Audi's lineup has no shortage of performance, with various S and RS cars, but it lacked a high-performance coupe — until now. The S5 is based on the automaker's new A5 coupe and brings a full serving of power and style to the performance-coupe corner of the market.

The S5 mostly delivers on the concept of performance in a two-door package, but overly isolated steering prevents the coupe from being the runaway winner it otherwise would be.

Exterior & Styling
The S5 is one sinister-looking performance coupe, especially when finished in Phantom Black Pearl Effect, which was the color of my test model. The S5 has a flowing character line that bends smoothly along the body sides, but perhaps its most... Read More