2016 S5

Consumer Reviews

2016 Audi S5

$25,657 - $40,117  MSRP Range
2016 Audi S5

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

15 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Audi S5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Consider it a stealth hot rod.

by WilsonS5 from Kutztown, PA on Thu Nov 24 2016

Audi made just a few of these things the last few years. Its a car for the devoted few. Interestingly,I went on Cars.com to find one. Two General Managers told me they drove an S5 as a driver. They could have anything,and they chose this model. Also,I drove my father in my new S5,went by the local Audi store. Their corporate offices were at the dealership. Sure enough,the boss was driving...an S5. Its that kind of car. Swift,but quiet and unassuming. Its packed with technology and ever so stable when you lean on it. I think its stability is its chief asset. The motor is so silky that it taunts you to pin it. Superb brakes,great drivetrain,incredible navigation and other features with the nav package. Its a white collar hot rod,you can drive down main street and no one will turn their heads,for its a quiet,subtle car. The lines are classic and enduringly pretty. Its comfortable and capable,beyond your expectations. Its solid,well made,beautiful and management selects it over more expensive models,because of it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best performance handling car I’ve owned

by C-cubed from Greensboro on Sun Jan 27 2019

The 2016 Audi S5 3.0L 333hp sports car with its AWD handles the Blueridge Parkway like a fine German custom made glove. Its interior cockpit is intuitively designed for the driver, the only thing missing is a HUD* for total driver focus... When driving at the recommended Parkway speed the full sunroof provides panaramic views allowing the required dose of vitamin D. Incredible Bang & Olufsen sound system. *Heads Up Display.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty and Luxurious

by Zippy from Walnut Creek, CA on Sat Jun 24 2017

I test drove the Lexus RC F and BMW 650i. Audi superceeded both in style and comfort. Love the easy to reach controls.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Audi S5

by Hubble from Hudson, OH on Sun Feb 26 2017

After owning a 2010 S5 with the 4.2V8, I recently retired it and purchased a 2016. The car essentially looks the same, but I'm really appreciating the supercharged V6. All in all, I love the S5. It's the perfect combination of luxury, performance, and practicality. With the quattro system and living in Cleveland, I make no compromise with the winter weather. The car is well-built and somewhat rare. There are plenty of faster cars out there, but the S5 just can't be beat. Understated luxury. I love how it is the ultimate sleeper. Some will think it looks like the A5- until they drive in. Yes, I do miss the sound of the V8, but honestly the '16 is quicker and gets better gas mileage. I'm generally getting in the mid-20s for fuel economy. Pros: gorgeous exterior and interior, relatively quick, excellent fit-finish, exclusivity of the S model (for those in the know), all-weather capability, flat-bottom steering wheel and alcantara interior Cons: sunroof doesn't open; it only tilts, essentially a two-seater, kind of wish that I would have bought the manual 6 speed Summary: expensive coupe but life is short and it puts a smile on my face. If you are looking at a 435 coupe, test drive this. It won't disappoint you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing used car!

by EZPZ from Quebec on Sun May 10 2020

I got my 2016 S5 with 65k. I graduated from a 328xi and oh my what a pleasure. After 20,000 km and 4 oil changes she continues to perform. Dropping from 19" to 18" wheels and the Quattro drive made winter driving more than manageable. I have the flat bottom wheel..wish it was heated. Starts without issue in -35 celcius. The cockpit is just perfect with really comfortable seating. 7 speed double clutch makes moving through the gears really sweet. Breaking is just right for me. Very important to me is to have the MMI embedded in the dash. I hate those big sceens consuming the focus of the interior. Overall I am really satisfied.. Use 94 octane fuel for best performance. So much fun...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

amazing handling, classiest car I've owned.

by riegals from Vienna on Tue Jun 13 2017

I bought this car for a daily commuter and it goes above and beyond its responsibilities. It has an amazing interior which is very comfortable. Only thing that is a con is the hud/screen. The way it is set up, it is kind of awkward. Besides that, the coloring, style and grace of the car is amazing. Easily the best/classiest/high-class car I've ever owned/driven.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very stylish and sleek looking

by eddie from on Mon Jun 12 2017

great drivers car and very slick styling. good performance with the nice V6, decent on gas. fast when you need to be and calm when your cruising. just wish the gas mileage was a little bit better but other than that its a good overall car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One super impressive keeper of a car.

by Audi Convert from Allentown PA on Mon May 27 2019

3 yrs in my garage. Love driving it. Livable shortcomings, a lovely touring car. Fabulous build quality. Super reliable and well made. Find one and get it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by Vikesgirl from Durham, NC on Wed Nov 29 2017

Very intuitive, handles like a dream, supercharged, so the power is instant. Super fun to drive and comfortable enough for every day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty Grand Touring Sleeper

by S5'r from Okemos, MI on Wed May 22 2019

I found a low mileage certified-pre-owned and could not resist. The new price is a bit high, but as a CPO it offers good value. Acceleration, braking and handling (with the limited slip differential) are all superb. Interior design is ergonomically excellent. Tech is a bit dated, but totally acceptable if you have the Tech Package. It does not draw a lot of attention, but is classically beautiful. This car puts a stupid grin on my face every time I drive it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 Audi S5

Editor’s note: This review was written in March 2015 about the 2015 Audi S5. Little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The all-wheel-drive 2015 Audi S5 deftly combines style, luxury and performance, but it needs a more compliant base suspension for better everyday comfort.

The S5 is the midlevel performance version of Audi’s luxury coupe, slotting between the regular A5 and the highest-performance RS 5. Luxury competitors are increasingly following Audi’s performance-car approach, with brands like Mercedes-Benz and Cadillac launching AMG Sport and Vsport... Read More