2007 S8

Consumer Reviews

2007 Audi S8

$10,734 - $22,414  MSRP Range
2007 Audi S8

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

15 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2007 Audi S8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Perfect Gentleman's Muscle Car

by MountainManiac from Denver, CO on Tue May 24 2011

The S8 V10 is destined to become a classic, simply because they are rare, use the Lamborghini V10 (that will never be seen in another Audi sedan), and are extremely well-made and beautiful cars. Owning one makes you feel privileged...from the way the door cinches shut automatically to the way the car recognizes your hand reaching for the door and swiftly unlocks for you, to the way it softly hisses the air out of its air springs and squats after you lock the doors and walk away. It just feels special. Driving it is a Jeckyll & Hyde experience. Are you busy with a cup of coffee and a cell phone call? It is just another sublime, ultra-comfortable and whisper-quiet leather cocoon. Are you feeling frisky? Suddenly it's a roaring, barking heathen with 450 hp and grip that makes it feel unstoppable. It's a big car --not a sports car, certainly-- but it's quite tossable nonetheless. The brakes are solid and reassuring, the steering is incredibly stable, and the acceleration is mind-blowing, especially with the gear selector pulled down into "Sport," which firms things up and quickens throttle response and transmission reaction. In Standard mode, the paddle-shifters knock off very quick gear changes and let you feel like a hooligan for a minute. Obviously there are faster cars. 0-60 in 4.9 seconds isn't impressive these days. But it has a furious satisfaction that goes beyond sheer statistics. And the dual-personality is a useful way to allow yourself to own just one car. It stays asleep when you want it to. And then it comes alive when you're in the mood. This car has a soul. It may be completely due to the exhaust note...oh dear god, the exhaust note is to die for, a V10 baritone howl that makes people on the sidewalk whip their head around furiously. Firing this thing up in the garage in the morning, or in the garage at the end of a workday, is like a chorus of demons barking and howling in unison. There are some flaws that I'm sure Audi will fix with the next (and inevitably more benign) generation of S8. It gets a little tiring having to open/close the MMI screen every time you want to change the suspension setting or view the radio presets (unless you're willing to just leave it open all the time, which distracts from the beauty of the dash in my opinion). The gas mileage is abysmal (but when you pay $115k for a car, does it really matter?). The lack of voice activation for the navigation is frustrating. At times it feels too big (but hey, it's also very comfortable even for 5 people). The power up/down trunk lid is just plain overkill (Audi thinks we are so rich that we can't reach up to close our own trunk lid?). The manual rear side window screens are not powered (now I'm really reaching). Um...really there's not much else wrong with this car. There are perhaps 2500 of the 2007-2009 V10 S8s in the entire United States. So this is a car that people don't see very often. Yet it is subtle in the way it attracts attention. To people who don't care about cars, it's just another Audi. To people who know, it's a $100k rarity with a Lambo V10. If you are lucky, find one with reasonably low miles, and enough years have passed to bring the resale value down to 50% of the car's original price...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

OMG

by Frankly Thrilled from NJ on Tue Aug 24 2010

I fell in love with the S8 on the autobahn in Germany where she showed me her legs. The car was a thrill to drive when no concerns of getting a speeding ticket was part of the dynamics. I own an S8 07 and, despite not being able to get the max out of the car in the US (65 mph highway speed limit), it is still a must have car. The power is there if you need it and the luxury, engineering and practicality is second to none. If you can afford this car and want to drive a vehicle that is relatively rare on the road, do it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2007 Audi S8

by Audi Man from Chicagoland, IL on Sat May 14 2011

Having owned a few other full size Audi's before, I decided it was time to upgrade to more performance. The S8 offers all the great amenities you'd come to expect in the A8 line plus all the better performance of a V10. Exterior styling remains refined with subtle cues of lies underneath the hood while the interior is even more luxurious than the A8 series. Carbon fiber adorns all four doors, replacing fine wood for a more sporty feel. Shifts are firm and the torque offered by the Lamborghini V10 pulls hard-even for a 4200 lb car. It stops quickly, thanks to larger brakes and a more race inspired suspension makes for quick turns on track. Overall, I would definitely recommend this model to anyone looking for a high performance, luxury sedan for everyday driving and track events on the weekend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

If only.........

by S8 man from NY on Fri Apr 09 2010

.........you could get 20 mpg out of this car, it'd be perfect! They should have put in a 23 gallon tank though -- you're filling up too often. That's the ONLY downside.......!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A sleeper in the waiting room

by MadmaxNZ from New Plymouth, New Zealand on Fri Feb 23 2018

I brought one of these a few years ago a 2007 with 88k's on the clock, great car in most aspects, sold that one and have missed it ever since. Saw a late 2008 with on 52K's on the clock the other day with all the options, FSH and in grey. Here in NZ these retail for around NZ$260k-280k depending on the options, so stealing it for 33k was a bargain, everytime I drive this I have a big smile on my face. Great car would highly recommend it, get full service and bang bang stereo if you can. Carpe Diem

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love every miunte driving it

by everyday driver and more from Waterbury CT on Wed Dec 26 2012

Tons of power, handles like a dream. Exactly what I was looking for! The gas mileage is fair, and the highway performance is unbeleivable!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Executive Express

by 8atude from Chandler, AZ on Thu Jul 13 2017

AWESOME! A great "Executive Express". Real Luxury - Power everything, Comfortable Sport Seats, Awesome Stereo, etc... Awesome Performance - The V10 is tame in traffic and ready to "FLY" when wanted/needed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

If ever a car needed 8 gears, it's this one.

by EuroBoxer on Mon Aug 07 2017

Exceptional handling and acceleration, when suspension is in dynamic and the gearbox is in sport mode. However, the close ratio gearing when you have such a huge rev range to play with is ultimately what lets the car down. For normal motoring, expect adequate torque available to overtake and do all the usual you might want but on the highway, it simply pointlessly burns fuel just ambling along in gears set too low. Another two gears stepped up progressively to a really long 8th gear would have made this a much more usable car. Don't get me wrong, I love owning one and even at ten years old, the pickup from a standing start will still beat the vast majority of cars on the road, even exotics and many much lighter sports cars. If you're competent enough to play with the limits of grip (and you need to be pretty brave in something this size), it can be extremely rewarding. Major gripes are the poorly engineered screen, the poorly engineered CD changer, the poorly thought-out gearbox ratios. Otherwise, nothing I have ever driven gets more attention and I've that includes a Jaguar F-type R I had. Only getting rid when the 2019 S8 comes out. Current one just doesn't have a nice enough interior and is, frankly ugly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sleeper car

by dman from Newark on Thu Apr 06 2017

I've had it for a while, definitely recommend you to try and even get a test drive. The engine is great, very reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Audi S8, maybe the best used car bargain everI

by A recent Audi convert from Chicago on Fri Aug 23 2013

I bought a used S8 a few months ago with just about 50k on the odometer. I can't believe someone bought this thing for $110k and just I picked it up in the $30's - I feel like I stole it. When I came home with it the 1st time, my wife was upset because she thought I spent a bundle on a new car. The interior is so classy and well done on this car, you could put it into a 2014 model and it would still look fresh and new. Brand new cars today are just catching up to all the gizmo's like adaptive headlights, laser sensing wipers, headlight washers and only the new S8 can match the amazing Band and Olefson sound system; those pop up tweeters never get old. New cars going for twice as much can't match this level of refinement and luxury. Then there is the 60/40 quattro all-wheel drive, it's unflappable in any condition or driving style. What an amazing car, destined to be a classic with this V10. The torque and power is smooth and effortless everywhere. No herky-jerky turbos or superchargers needed. Okay, it's no great on gas milage, but who cares - it never, ever gets old driving it. You can be a hooligan with the paddle shifters, cruise in comfort mode with three kids in the backseat or take a client out in style. It is the perfect used car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2007 Audi S8


Fully tricked out, the S8 is a wicked sound machine. Go ahead, crank up 'Radar Love.'

HIGHWAY stripes are 10 feet long and 30 feet apart. That means one stripe every 40 feet. No one really knows how this fundamental increment of civil engineering came to be. Well, I say no one knows - I'm sure somebody knows, but that person works in the historical division of the federal Department of Transportation.

This is a person to avoid at parties.

There are some wondrous synchronisms hidden in that white-stripe measure. At 55 mph, for instance, a car is traveling 80.66 feet per second, which means that two white stripes slip by every second. This tempo - 120 "beats" per minute - syncs up almost exactly with what... Read More