2007 S8

Consumer Reviews
2007 Audi S8

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

15 Reviews
2007 Audi S8
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.9 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Perfect Gentleman's Muscle Car

by MountainManiac from Denver, CO on May 24, 2011

The S8 V10 is destined to become a classic, simply because they are rare, use the Lamborghini V10 (that will never be seen in another Audi sedan), and are extremely well-made and beautiful cars. Owning one makes you feel privileged...from the way the door cinches shut automatically to the way the car recognizes your hand reaching for the door and swiftly unlocks for you, to the way it softly hisses the air out of its air springs and squats after you lock the doors and walk away. It just feels special. Driving it is a Jeckyll & Hyde experience. Are you busy with a cup of coffee and a cell phone call? It is just another sublime, ultra-comfortable and whisper-quiet leather cocoon. Are you feeling frisky? Suddenly it's a roaring, barking heathen with 450 hp and grip that makes it feel unstoppable. It's a big car --not a sports car, certainly-- but it's quite tossable nonetheless. The brakes are solid and reassuring, the steering is incredibly stable, and the acceleration is mind-blowing, especially with the gear selector pulled down into "Sport," which firms things up and quickens throttle response and transmission reaction. In Standard mode, the paddle-shifters knock off very quick gear changes and let you feel like a hooligan for a minute. Obviously there are faster cars. 0-60 in 4.9 seconds isn't impressive these days. But it has a furious satisfaction that goes beyond sheer statistics. And the dual-personality is a useful way to allow yourself to own just one car. It stays asleep when you want it to. And then it comes alive when you're in the mood. This car has a soul. It may be completely due to the exhaust note...oh dear god, the exhaust note is to die for, a V10 baritone howl that makes people on the sidewalk whip their head around furiously. Firing this thing up in the garage in the morning, or in the garage at the end of a workday, is like a chorus of demons barking and howling in unison. There are some flaws that I'm sure Audi will fix with the next (and inevitably more benign) generation of S8. It gets a little tiring having to open/close the MMI screen every time you want to change the suspension setting or view the radio presets (unless you're willing to just leave it open all the time, which distracts from the beauty of the dash in my opinion). The gas mileage is abysmal (but when you pay $115k for a car, does it really matter?). The lack of voice activation for the navigation is frustrating. At times it feels too big (but hey, it's also very comfortable even for 5 people). The power up/down trunk lid is just plain overkill (Audi thinks we are so rich that we can't reach up to close our own trunk lid?). The manual rear side window screens are not powered (now I'm really reaching). Um...really there's not much else wrong with this car. There are perhaps 2500 of the 2007-2009 V10 S8s in the entire United States. So this is a car that people don't see very often. Yet it is subtle in the way it attracts attention. To people who don't care about cars, it's just another Audi. To people who know, it's a $100k rarity with a Lambo V10. If you are lucky, find one with reasonably low miles, and enough years have passed to bring the resale value down to 50% of the car's original price...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

OMG

by Frankly Thrilled from NJ on August 24, 2010

I fell in love with the S8 on the autobahn in Germany where she showed me her legs. The car was a thrill to drive when no concerns of getting a speeding ticket was part of the dynamics. I own an S8 07 and, despite not being able to get the max out of the car in the US (65 mph highway speed limit), it is still a must have car. The power is there if you need it and the luxury, engineering and practicality is second to none. If you can afford this car and want to drive a vehicle that is relatively rare on the road, do it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2007 Audi S8

by Audi Man from Chicagoland, IL on May 14, 2011

Having owned a few other full size Audi's before, I decided it was time to upgrade to more performance. The S8 offers all the great amenities you'd come to expect in the A8 line plus all the better performance of a V10. Exterior styling remains refined with subtle cues of lies underneath the hood while the interior is even more luxurious than the A8 series. Carbon fiber adorns all four doors, replacing fine wood for a more sporty feel. Shifts are firm and the torque offered by the Lamborghini V10 pulls hard-even for a 4200 lb car. It stops quickly, thanks to larger brakes and a more race inspired suspension makes for quick turns on track. Overall, I would definitely recommend this model to anyone looking for a high performance, luxury sedan for everyday driving and track events on the weekend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

If only.........

by S8 man from NY on April 9, 2010

.........you could get 20 mpg out of this car, it'd be perfect! They should have put in a 23 gallon tank though -- you're filling up too often. That's the ONLY downside.......!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love every miunte driving it

by everyday driver and more from Waterbury CT on December 26, 2012

Tons of power, handles like a dream. Exactly what I was looking for! The gas mileage is fair, and the highway performance is unbeleivable!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A sleeper in the waiting room

by MadmaxNZ from New Plymouth, New Zealand on February 23, 2018

I brought one of these a few years ago a 2007 with 88k's on the clock, great car in most aspects, sold that one and have missed it ever since. Saw a late 2008 with on 52K's on the clock the other day with all the options, FSH and in grey. Here in NZ these retail for around NZ$260k-280k depending on the options, so stealing it for 33k was a bargain, everytime I drive this I have a big smile on my face. Great car would highly recommend it, get full service and bang bang stereo if you can. Carpe Diem

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Audi S8, maybe the best used car bargain everI

by A recent Audi convert from Chicago on August 23, 2013

I bought a used S8 a few months ago with just about 50k on the odometer. I can't believe someone bought this thing for $110k and just I picked it up in the $30's - I feel like I stole it. When I came home with it the 1st time, my wife was upset because she thought I spent a bundle on a new car. The interior is so classy and well done on this car, you could put it into a 2014 model and it would still look fresh and new. Brand new cars today are just catching up to all the gizmo's like adaptive headlights, laser sensing wipers, headlight washers and only the new S8 can match the amazing Band and Olefson sound system; those pop up tweeters never get old. New cars going for twice as much can't match this level of refinement and luxury. Then there is the 60/40 quattro all-wheel drive, it's unflappable in any condition or driving style. What an amazing car, destined to be a classic with this V10. The torque and power is smooth and effortless everywhere. No herky-jerky turbos or superchargers needed. Okay, it's no great on gas milage, but who cares - it never, ever gets old driving it. You can be a hooligan with the paddle shifters, cruise in comfort mode with three kids in the backseat or take a client out in style. It is the perfect used car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it, but I can't drive it

by LoveFineCars from Los Angeles, CA on July 18, 2007

I picked up my S8 just four weeks ago and I absolutely love it. However, I noticed a very high-pitched whine coming from the engine, particularly when in Sport mode. I took it back to the dealer service dept. and it's been there for almost TWO WEEKS! Apparently they acknowledge the problem but don't know what's causing it and had to wait for a field technician to come and inspect it. I'm still waiting to get it back...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car ever!!!

by jony-jony from on July 7, 2011

This car build by the Germans are the best ever S model, I would recommend this car to everybody!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by m.birosik from Slovakia on December 10, 2008

I have this car for a veakend too and it is very good car. It is sporty and familiary too. You can take your children at school and drive crazy after the way at work. Elegance, safety and sportcar in 1. That is S8 for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2007 Audi S8