2012 128

Consumer Reviews

2012 BMW 128

$8,321 - $20,169  MSRP Range
2012 BMW 128

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

17 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2012 BMW 128?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

SOLID RELIABLE CAR EXCELLENT VALUE

by BMWSPEED from Chicago,IL on Mon Aug 13 2018

After owning many bmws over the years the 128 has grown on me in fact has become one of my very favorites. The car is loaded with options stock such as folding mirrors, push button start, etc which other car makers charge extra for. It handles very tight and has power to match. Reliability is dead on with this machine. I would highly recommend checking it out before making a purchase!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome

by my first BMW ! from Vienna, Va. on Tue Apr 29 2014

bought my 2012 BMW 128i about a year ago .... love the exterior "compact", "smart" styling which looks awesome from every angle. extremely fun car to drive ... tight handling, whisper quick acceleration, and i get 30+MPG on long highway travel. almost 13,000 miles on it and no mechanical issues at all . i plan to have this one for a long time!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun fun fun!!

by Shannon B from Nashville, Tennessee on Sun Jul 29 2018

I have owned many BMW 3-Series but this is my first 1-Series. It?s my empty-nest car and super FUN to drive, exactly what I would expect from BMW, just in a smaller package. No compromise on handling or features! Behind the wheel, it feels and handles like a sports car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Thouroughly Enjoying My 128i Coupe

by Dick from Scaumburg, IL on Thu Jun 14 2012

I bought a 2010 dealer executive driven Coupe and could not be happier. Pick-up is excellent, as are braking power and handling. My first BMW. I'm a little suprised at reviews that berate gas mileage, as I get 25 MPG in my combo highway and suburban driving, about 250 miles per week for my first year of ownership. Ride is good, but the leather bucket seat is a litte stiff - but that's pretty minor. 6-speed Steptroniic is smooth....in fact....so is the whole car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, gas mileage sucks

by Hipster City Girl from on Sun Aug 14 2011

This is a fun car to drive, sporty looking, powerful, etc. It would be wonderful if BMW could also figure out the magical formula of making a high-performance car with some sort of fuel efficiency. After 2 months of driving this car, both city and highway, it only averages 14mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

My low miles 128 i

by ferdi from NC from NC on Mon Jul 21 2014

I got the car mainly because it had very low miles, about 9000, it is certified, and it was a good value. I also own a 2008 328 I, and there are some noticeable differences between the two vehicles. Of course, the 328i sedan is roomier, but I knew that from the start. No issue there. What I found out, is that first of all the quality and fit and finish of the interior are of lower quality in the 128i. Ok, that is fine, too, the 128i being a cheaper car from the start. What is surprising is the difference in engine and handling. They are both supposed to have the same engine, but as the 128i has a nicer start up sound, and slightly better acceleration at lower end rpm's, (no lag so noticeable in the 328i), the 328i (with sport package - and there is quite a difference between 328i's with and those without sport package) has overall better acceleration. Put both cars in a drag race, the 328i albeit heavier and with the same kind of engine and horsepower will smoke the 128i. (Both cars, like I said, are equipped with sport package, 128i actually has M sport package.) Is this due to the understatement of horsepower by BMW in their best selling car? Maybe... Second, with the same kind of engine again, the 328i, heavier, gets better mileage. 26 combined, vs 24 for the 128. (Come on, the 128 does not drop to 14 like some reviewer said...). And finally, handling, they're pretty close, but even with the M sport package, my 2012 128i is not as tight as my sport package 328i. This latter is very tight, to the point that at lower speeds, it feels like a work out to steer the car, but I love that steering when you actually drive the car fast through corners. There, it handles much better and more securely than the 128i. So, again, if you're looking for a compact, sports car, with lots of pep and good handling, and also with good gas mileage, then you might feel let down with the 128.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

A no go for me

by pam from dallas on Sat Dec 22 2012

We got the 128 after a 2008 135. Wow, what a difference! The 128 gets terrible gas mileage (20 vs 26 for the 135) and it has dog performance with regard to handling and acceleration. I wish I had driven the car before ordering it because it would have been a no go. I never knew a 50 year old women could be a performance snob.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my convertible!

by Wendy23 from Dallas Texas on Sat May 27 2017

I recently purchased this certified pre-owned BMW with low miles. I love the style and comfort and almost always keep the top down. This car has quick acceleration and lets me zip around town. I get lots of compliments and everyone wants to ride with me. Great car to have.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Topless fun in the sun!

by Pammy56 from Gulf Shores, Al on Sun Oct 08 2017

This car has been very reliable, fun to drive and even has a back seat when needed. Beautiful classic black pearl exterior and tan leather interior to compliment the styling of this 128i. Great pep from the in-line 6 has get up and gone!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best fun on 4 wheels

by Pammygirl from Whitmore lake, mi on Sat Jun 24 2017

This was bought in place of my motorcycle, safer and more protective. It has been a great car, no remorse

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2