Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2009 135

Consumer Reviews

2009 BMW 135

$7,748 - $18,904  MSRP Range
2009 BMW 135

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 BMW 135?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Good things come in small packages

by bobbyk from Chapel Hill, NC on Thu Jan 28 2010

If you like the 3-series (335) but don't need that much room, get this. There are few on the road, unlike the ubiquitous 3-series, and it's even a little more fun. If money's an object, find one stripped down (sport package w/o leather is all you really need here) and go daddy, go! Handling, steering and acceleration are all top-notch. Only the stereo disappoints...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most exciting bmw car to drive

by the rat from b.c. abbotsford on Thu Dec 31 2009

I have this car stored for winter but I can hardly wait tell march to drive it again. I comute 2hrs every day in a malibu but when I get home all I want to do is drive my 135i. its that much fun. I ask my wife is there any thing you need from the store?cause I need any excuse to go for a drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nothing can top this car!

by BMW Nut from Marin County, CA on Thu Jul 29 2010

Long time BMW owner here - since the late 60's when no one knew what these cars were about. Have since owned a parade of different M cars, i.e, E28, E24, E39, and presently an 2009 E60. This E82 135i with 6 speed has about the same "grunt" as my former 2002 E39 M5, only it corners much better, without as much "plow" as the heavier 5-series. In spirit, this car is similar to my original '73 2002tii (which I still own). It is as close to "The Truth" as one will find in any modern BMW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'll have this car forever... and ever, and ever

by Forever 135i from Houston, TX on Tue Jul 15 2014

Some cars you love for a little while. You get it, it's shiny and new, and you love it for awhile and then it just becomes the boring old car that get you from point A to point B. Not mine. I still love mine every single day. Everytime I drive it - I am so happy that I have it. I recently had someone ask me if I wanted an M3. "Would you get one if you could?" This just makes me laugh. I guess I could get one if I wanted it, but my car is perfect for me - so, no. I have not one little desire to give up my car for an M3, or for anything for that matter. I'm that happy with it. Maybe ya gotta drive it to get it. Just floor it onto the freeway one time and let it take off like your own personal jet. It won't leave the ground, but you'll be flying all the same. It handles incredibly. It's kind of super awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The purest non-antique BMW experience you can buy

by Bob from Fairfield, CT on Wed Sep 04 2013

Have owned this car for five years and have loved every minute of it. Comfortable, compact, well appointed, good looking and so, so willing. Everything about the car says, "Take me out and play." And you're rewarded every time you do.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW

by anttmann from tampa fl on Mon Jun 06 2011

i must say nothing can really sum up this vehicle ....small , m3 killer , fast, twin turbo overall great performance vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

135i

by Mr. 305 from Palo Alto, CA on Tue Dec 27 2011

A fun car indeed. Must take the BMW drivers course in S. Carolina. Make sure you have the mini-van 1st!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best all around car I have owned.

by Little keith from Essex on Fri Sep 01 2017

Car was a lot more,in all respects then I thought power for days ,comfortable trips,nice stereo. Just recently bought the car so it's a little early to discuss reliability. But so far am very impressed with the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nothing eats tires more than this car.

by LennoxR from Chicago, IL on Wed May 24 2017

At $400+ each, the tires are not the most fun thing to replace. I had never had a flat tire in the 15+ of driving up until this car; I had 3 with this car. I don't know what the deal was. The engine is so powerful that in between flats this car was chewing tires up, no matter how carefully you drove. That being said, this was an incredible fun and fast car to own (I had the manual version).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Prepare to spend money on tires.

by elpaco313 from Chicago, IL on Sat Apr 08 2017

This car is fast. Very fast, and crazy powerful. Even if you are aware of the fact that new rear tires cost >$400 each, you can't drive gingerly enough to conserve them.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 BMW 135


CORNWALL, N.Y. -- Bad times are best enjoyed in the rearview mirror. So mostly for the heck of it, I got in the 2009 BMW 135i coupe and drove here nearly 300 miles from my home in Northern Virginia.

The women in my family would've had me do otherwise -- hop a plane, take a train or, God forbid, ride a bus from Virginia to New York. I will do that sort of thing eventually.

But now I'd rather revel in my hypocrisy, passionately proclaiming my support for mass transit while doing everything in my power to avoid it.

That, to many people, including some in my family, is an unseemly charade, one worthy of a politician -- other than, of course, Vice President Biden, who seems to have a genuine thing for Amtrak.

But... Read More