2011 1 Series M

Consumer Reviews
2011 BMW 1 Series M

Change Vehicle
5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

19 Reviews
2011 BMW 1 Series M
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Real Deal

by Driving Enthusiat from Iowa on November 15, 2011

The BMW 1M replaced my much-loved Subaru WRX Sport Wagon. Though it lacks the all-wheel drive functionality of that great car, it more than makes up for it in even better power, handling and style. Massive power, incredible grip make it the most dynamic car I have ever driven. The ride is very firm, but never uncomfortable. Ergonomics are perfect even for my 6 foot 3 inch height. The back seat is for smaller adults or children only, but the trunk space is very good for a small car. I was lucky to find one due to limited production numbers. Not cheap, but worth every penny and destined to become a collectors item. No 2012 model, but if you can still find a 2011, I highly recommend the 1M.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1M vs M3

by AA 1M from delray florida on February 9, 2012

Guys I also traded my2009 M3 for a 2011 1M, Honestly i loved my M3 but it was a pig, no torque and yah its great after 70mph, but common 0-60 its a pig, and i had all dinan except for a supercharger. The 1M is awesome i have complete exhaust and jb4 the car will beat the heck out a M3. The 1M is a different car and it is unique and also in 18 months there is a new m3 coming and will be better for sure. At the end of the day the M3 is not worth $70,000, really its not. 1M much more fun to drive in the city and everywhere except maybe long distance, then again neither one is.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect toy

by Driver from MI on January 20, 2013

1M is an absolute driving machine. Very simple, fun, fast and reliable. It is also a confidence builder.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 1M

by JNM from SF, CA on December 21, 2011

Amazing, simply amazingly good car to drive. Amazing handling from the chassis (essentially a shortened M3 (with competition package) chassis), amazing power (350 ft/lb of torque pretty much from 1500 rpm on). Damping is extremely well judged and still very comfortable (for a sports car), sound is quite nice (if a little bit boomy at freeway speeds). It's as practical as any other 1 series coupe. If you managed to get one of them you should consider yourself very lucky, if not you should indeed be jealous :).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 1M

by Lifetime Bimmer Owner from SF Bay on November 12, 2013

Hands down the best car I've owned all my life. I traded in my M3 for this car and have absolutely no regrets in doing so. I was skeptical with its size, but it's very roomy and the size has to be the reason it handles so well. Nimble, quick, yet you can drive relaxed. The v8 in the M3 always felt like it needed a beating, not the same in the 1M. This car craves the extra throttle, but you enjoy everything else in addition. I can't wait for the next BMW to beat this. And with BMW squashing the 1 Series, these will be hard to come by.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best M car available

by Bimmer head from Chicago on December 30, 2011

Traded in 2009 M3 and no regrets; this car much nicer as DD given terrific torque, but still runs with the big dogs when you want to stir the very nice 6spd. Rare, but not a collector car unless you just have a thing for old bimmers and want one that is fun and unique, and will pay to keep in good shape. Nice feature is that the engine should be nowhere near as expensive to care for as the usual M engines and almost all parts will be much easier to come by.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Sports Car!

by M Fan on October 26, 2017

This car just lets you do whatever you want. It literally tells you questions you to show what it really can do. Very reliable, and safe sport.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevr

by Brianst from Syracuse ny on September 14, 2017

Great. In the snow and rian ice i was driving on the ice and it drive great and i drive in rain in it great and easy to drive]75

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simon says buy one

by Jon Michael from corpus christi on June 12, 2017

This car meant all my needs May me many trips many trips out of town no problems whatsoever I would highly recommend this car too

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Special Car

by hollysmac from Williamsville ny on July 22, 2017

This car is the best of both worlds. A capable Track car; a capable road car and an everyday driver. I have owned it for 6 years and it has been totally reliable. It is a hoot to drive but will pr4eform as a daily driver. Slap a set of snows on it and it goes year around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2011 BMW 1 Series M