2014 228

Consumer Reviews

2014 BMW 228

$16,696 - $22,504  MSRP Range
2014 BMW 228

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

14 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 BMW 228?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Drive

by SheilaP on Fri Jul 07 2017

Excellent sporty experience. Less off the line but excellent pick up at cruising speeds. Comfortable and aesthetically pleasing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

70th birthday gift

by Grandpa Bill from Mill Valley Ca on Wed Oct 18 2017

My wife and sons got this used 228i with low Mike's for my 70th bday as I kept complaining about having sold my 330i some years ago. I loved the 330 with a manual shift, but this 228 is better in every way, even with the 8 speed automatic, as when you put it in sport mode it does what you want with a stick. Really fun weekend car for me. Can't wait until I'm 80.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is the greatest car I buy yet Love it.

by Queen marie from Cleveland,Oh on Thu Jun 15 2017

This car meets all my need And the performance is great. Will buy more cars here. Hasn't broken down yet its great

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best BMW Bang for your Buck

by blitzaceJS from Kansas on Wed Sep 20 2017

Have not owned the car long but it has delivered in every way possible. It's hard to find a car this quick, sporty, and fuel efficient at this price point. It's also much more visually pleasing than it's predecessor 1 series. So far no maintenance issues but car has received a good reliability rating. Interior styling is ok - I would prefer a more detailed instrument cluster that included engine temperature gauge and not just a light that comes in ONLY if engine is overheating (not when engine is cold). I would have preferred a 6 spd but they are difficult to find and honestly the automatic transmission in these cars is very smooth - paddle shifting is very responsive and fun. My only complaint is the run-flat tires - they work fine but are expensive to replace. Would prefer non-run flat with spare in the trunk with tools but I understand the practicality of run-flats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic to drive

by 2seriesconvert from Hnl, HI on Sun Oct 15 2017

This is one of the most fun cars you could possibly ever own. Incredibly responsive, fast, luxurious yet a true driver's car. A throwback to everything that made BMW great, with all the modern conveniences. Exceptional!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Yellowsnow from Bentonville, AR on Tue Jun 06 2017

I went from a 2002 Hyundai Sonata to this so . . . yea. That pretty much sums up my review. I'm not used to these cars, but I'm loving this BMW. Only thing that would make it better is a more fun sounding exhaust :D. I eventually want to upgrade to an M2.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive, very responsive.

by Mr. Ken from Newington, CT on Thu Jun 08 2017

Car drives like a sports car, hugs the road on turns & gives you plenty of get up & go when you need it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sweet car...for a car

by biker from Reseda,CA on Mon May 05 2014

We feel this model is faster and smoother than the 330ci we previously owned. I'm not thrilled with the option of the vehicle stopping when you stop & starting when you release the brake,but my wife loves it. Great styling and the front & rear cameras are nice features,but I wouldn't just depend on them. We've only had the vehicle for two weeks but it's pretty awesome,especially in the metallic dark grey color.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Most unreliable car I've ever owned

by Mdcd from Lubbock texas on Tue Jan 03 2017

In a two and half year span had 9 flats . You drive on a small rock flat. Driving down highway you will have a flat . Even if you did purchase tire warranty you want a r liable car for the money. I spent over 40 hours dealing with tire issues. When took in they looked at you like you were crazy and stated don't know

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Funnest, fastest, most economical, reliable cars

by mikesbmw from oroville, ca on Sun Sep 17 2017

One of the best cars I've ever owned and I owned a lot. One of the funnest, fastest, 4 cylinder cars you will ever drive. Nothing comes close. I've test drove them all. I also get 42 mpg on the highway. Its comfortable, handles like a dream, gets great mpg and looks great too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2