2015 228

Consumer Reviews

2015 BMW 228

$17,338 - $30,906  MSRP Range
2015 BMW 228

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

13 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 BMW 228?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Mr BMW from Mesa, AZ on Fri Feb 20 2015

228I BMW Convertible 2015 Car looks great, rides great, and worth evey penny it cost. Would highly recommend the car for someone who wants a performance car as well as a convertible that is not too big. Fits me, an oversized guy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend

by Agnes from Chicago, IL on Fri Jun 05 2015

I recently purchased a BMW 228i Msport 6 speed. I cant explain how much I love this car. it drives amazing, handles amazing is powerful, & fuel efficient! On top of it....it is one good looking car. Every time I get out of this car I cant help look back and say..."wow...that's mine." You know what they say...you don't love your car unless you look at it when you get out of it! I still to this day sit in the car, gran the msport steering wheel and take it all in. If you're looking to get a lightly equipped, mean looking, inexpensive way to get into the brand...here it is.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fast & fun

by Rhody from Exeter on Mon Aug 27 2018

great car . As fast as a boxer,yet has a back seat and trunk. Also handles as well as boxer ,but cheaper. Very good on gas. 4 modes of driving and 8 speeds . Quick shift auto or paddles or stick choices.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW has remembered its roots.

by Proud Owner for 228 Sport from Bay Area, CA on Thu Apr 02 2015

tl;dr Pros Fun to drive Can be practical HP/Torque/0-60 times are very misleading; car is better than advertised Cons Price Backseat I don't know why this car is put against some of the vehicles that it is (like the Cayman) but don't let the "metrics" fool you. As someone who has owned a Z4, and driven Porsche's and Audi's, I can flat out tell you that this is one of most engaging cars I've ever owned. First off, the engine "punches above its weight". I believe it has the same HP as my 2013 Z4 (240hp/255 lb torque) had, but I can get the automatic to do 0-60 in 5 seconds flat. I have the 228i, with Sport Line, Technology Package, Lighting Package, Driver Assist Package and Premium Package. While a bit pricey, I find it in-line without "luxury" vehicle pricing. The navigation system is a little cumbersome at first, but it is nice that it recognizes my handwriting. The voice activation is also pretty reliable. The sport seats do a good job of keeping you in place when hugging corners and the supple leather makes sure you don't chafe. You can stream music via Bluetooth and the default stereo is much more serviceable than my Z4's was. You get auto-dimmer mirrors, folding external mirrors and many other options with the Premium package. The driver's assistance package adds a nice rear camera and sensors for the front, side, and back of the car; very useful for any parking situation. Lighting package gives you Xenon headlights that are automated (except for the high beams, that's an extra $250). I went with the sport line instead of M-Sport mainly because I'm ever approaching 40 and the M-Sport styling reminds me of the Acura Integras back in the 90s. This package gives you better suspension, some less gaudy additions to the body of the car, increased top-speed, black external mirrors, very nice 18-inch rims and the aforementioned sport seats. Fuel economy is great, especially if you play around with some of the settings like Eco Pro. However, there are times when I like to unleash my inner beast, and that is where this car does not disappoint. In addition to a great 0-60 time, this car hugs corners like a mother who is sending her first born off to college. Put this thing in Sport Mode+ and let the fun begin. Plenty of passing power and the car lets you have a little fun when taking said corners. This car can be practical or it can be flat-out fun to drive. The only thing negative about the car is the price and room for adults in the back seats. I got mine for 2k under MSRP, but it can be hard as the car seems to be selling well. This car seems to be made for the segment of people who want a sporty vehicle, but have a family now and need to make a compromise. The thing is, you never feel like you've compromised with the 228i when you decide to let loose.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pretty dang good

by 228i_Oh_my from Santa Rosa on Fri Oct 06 2017

I bought this BMW for about 39,000 before tax, and sticker was 48,000. I added on a clear bra and leather protectant for another 1,500. Pro's - 1. Great handling, fun as heck to drive 2. Pretty quiet at freeway speeds 3. Great highway gas mileage (33-37) 4. Great transmission, makes the car faster than it would be with the previous 6-speed auto 5. Great reliability - warranty / maintenance package Cons 1. Terrible exhaust 2. Bumpy as heck (getting non-run flat tires hopefully that helps) 3. Steering feel is numb, even in sports mode 4. Cheap-ish plastics inside 5. Steering wheel is terribly cheap (should have gotten M-sport instead of Sport line) 6. Backseat is terrible (what do you expect though?) 7. Rattles everywhere: Windows against the top, the dash, soft top makes creaking noises over bumps, etc. Overall, buy the M235i. It will get about the same gas mileage, is way more fun to drive as the 228i should be a tad bit faster for true enjoyment and linear acceleration, and comes standard with the variable steering and adaptive M-sport suspension.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Drivers Car

by golfinsparetime from Arkansas on Mon Jul 03 2017

Fun to drive. Plenty of acceleration. Comfortable ride, although a little on the firm (sporty)side. Absolutely no problems with this 228i in the nine months I have owned it. A lot of somewhat confusing electronic settings (gizmos) on the car. Not all of them seem well thought out. Overall, this is a great, small, performance car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car!

by katherine from ky on Mon Jul 10 2017

this car met all my needs. it's perfect for a single person, or small family. great car, defiantly worth what you pay. i would defiantly recommend this vehicle!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous Fun Reliable

by Spiegs on Mon Jul 09 2018

Just a great car. Best one I've had to date, great gas sipping commuter during the week, fun sports car on the weekend. This car was never tracked.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun car to own

by Bud@tpd from Danvers. Mass on Mon Jun 04 2018

This vehicle is fun to drive very responsive on road. Very quiet convertible with top up. Comfortable seating and very stylish. Real eye catcher very stylish

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Ultimate Balanced Driving Machine

by MarcL from Denver, CO on Thu Jul 26 2018

My 2004 BMW 330i lives on in the guise of a 2015 228i. This car has perfect balance, confidence inspiring handling and plenty of get up and go. Leave the M cars to others. Pushing the limits in this car is a lot more fun than barely scratching the surface with the turbo sixes (i've driven both). Make no mistake; this car is quick with lots more torque than my old 330i. And it has a lighter more playful feel than the M235 (better turn-in). It's also comfortable (great sport seats) and quiet. With the x-drive and some winter tires, it will also be a great winter car. Very satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2