2016 228

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW 228

$13,838 - $28,634  MSRP Range
2016 BMW 228

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

20 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 BMW 228?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great little car!

by Ssan586 from Washington, DC on Thu Jun 27 2019

I purchased this vehicle for my ex. I drive the higher end BMW’s and this doesn’t have many of the same features, nor the V8, so, I took it as “the cheaper BMW” in my garage. Well, we broke up two years ago, and I still have it. It corners better than my $110k performance models, and it is such a fun little car. This thing is a very fun daily driver, and packs tons of punch with that little engine! BMW did an amazing job with this car...especially with the affordability .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very compact, nimble and powerful fun little car

by ShayX from Phoenix on Sun Apr 14 2019

This car is compact, fun, agile and quick! And despite its quasi-luxury standing, it is well built and has really good interior and exterior materials. Unlike most coupe in this price range, the baby bimmer feels like an expensive gt car instead of a youngster’s showing-off car (yes I mean mustang).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Second BMW I’ve owned. First was a 1970 2002.

by Autopilot from Des Moines, Iowa on Thu Feb 27 2020

This is the modern equivalent to my old 2002. It’s small, nimble and fast, fun to drive. On the other hand, the iDrive system is just awful, so unnecessarily complicated. The Kia I traded in was light years ahead of this in simplicity and ease of use. I haven’t owned it long enough to know how reliable it is, but let’s hope for the best since it has neither a dipstick nor a temperature gauge. Nothing but idiot lights, so I’m hoping to never see the BMW “Christmas tree” of warning lights on my instrument cluster. Wait, there are no instruments!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fantastic new car

by Craig Gregory from West Hempstead on Thu Dec 13 2018

We will definitely be back to Certified select motors for our next car, without question. Thanks for sorting us out with a fantastic new car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fun car, but booklet is difficult t understand

by seashells from North Kingstown on Tue Jun 19 2018

love the car but blind spots can be annoying especially the position of the mirrors. also with so many moving parts i'm concerned about the convertible mechanism breaking down

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Gorgeous car and great fun to drive

by Julie from Plymouth, MN on Mon Jun 03 2019

So far so good! Have been enjoying the comfort and fun of driving this car. And it gets lots of admiring looks! I am very happy with my purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Value For The Money

by NellyS from Fort Lauderdale, FL on Wed Jan 30 2019

I love this car and what the value was for what it was going for. Its super fast and I love the interior design and exterior styling. I have always had a great experience with the 328i but was blown away by the style of the 228i. I love the overall experience of the car and super grateful and fortunate to have found this car!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cute and potent

by Juliana from Ellicott City MD on Mon Sep 09 2019

My first BMW and I can’t get my husband to stay away from it. I guess we will have a second one soon. I’m very happy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A sleeper car that looks good!

by Brian ;) from Rockford IL. on Thu Feb 15 2018

This car is wonderful to drive it goes into turns and asks for more. The control in the rain on the interstate is amazing. The seats are very comfortable and supportive. Drove six hundred miles, got out of the car I felt like I could do two three hundred more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good vehicle

by Coltsfan from on Tue Jan 31 2017

Have enjoyed every minute that I get to drive this. It hugs the road and the engine is very peppy. The idrive takes a bit getting used to but once you have it its pretty easy to use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2