1995 318

Consumer Reviews

1995 BMW 318

$4,564 - $10,024  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

10 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1995 BMW 318?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Solid daily driver & high MPGs

by Transportationoic from Kansas City, MO on Fri Feb 22 2008

For an old car it still has good build quality. Continued regular service has allowed for over 200,000 miles. The vehicle is well balanced under all driving conditions. ABS & the locking differntial are must haves in the winter months never leaving me stuck. Head & fog lights are great, casting an even wash across the roadway. With high MPG numbers & a large fuel tank, you can really drive all day at 70-75mph. The 4 cyl is underpowered & the steering seems a skosh heavy when driving slow or in parking lots. The location of cabin filter is buried behind the dash making replacement difficult. Older models look for vinyl on door panels lifting off. The 318's do not have a trip computer available as an option. In the dark expect poor interior lighting there are no under dash/floor lights & no illuminated door locks or tilt steering & auto dimming rearview mirror. You know you?re driving a solid, purpose built machine. At cruising speeds the engine seems over zealous as if there should be a fifth gear. Propperly maintained, these old BMW's are bulletproof.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

bmw 318ti

by bavarian owner from Ohio on Sat Apr 04 2015

I have owned a 95' 318ti for a little over a year now. It has proven a reliable and sturdy little car. Good on gas and providing plenty of power. It has had to have some maintenance but it has always been simple stuff like brakes, sensors and the like nothing major. The car has exceeded all of my expectations in the snow. Not only is it a small compact car that is rear wheel drive and thus should do terrible in the snow, It does the complete opposite. I am able to climb snow covered hills in the winter time i couldn't have imagined doing in previous front wheel drive cars I've owned. I well say this it is a small compact coupe, it is meant for 2-3 people most the back seat is more for bags and storage then for actual passengers. The car is very low sitting and doesn't provide a great deal of head room for those six foot and over. That being said if you are single or a young couple this car could be great for you.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun small sports car!

by Jason from Fairfield on Fri Sep 14 2018

This is a great little car to drive around town. Fun sporty and agile through the turns. 0 to 60 is still decent after so many years. The backseat leaves a lot to be desired and there is no pass through from trunk too passenger cabin making storage space limited.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

by 318ti owner from PA on Tue Mar 25 2014

I'm on my 2nd 318ti, having recently upgraded to a 97 m-sport. I dd it, but the car let's me have fun when I want. Weighing 2700 pounds, and having a 50-50 weight balance, the car drives and handles like a dream, and I'm also in love with the way it looks. With only 140 under the hood though, don't expect to win any drag races. Mechanically, both of my tis were great; the only thing I've had to do is fix an oil leak and replace a window regulator. My only complaint is highway driving. at 65MPH you do about 3k, so that's pretty lame. If only it had a 6spd...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever!

by 95 BFF from Yardley, PA on Sat Jul 06 2013

Have over 317,000 miles on my 1995 e36. Engine still running strong but last year has been tough - a few dents, dead radio, lights out and in need of suspension work. Highway miles kept this car strong and was still getting close to the 30 mpg/hwy with very little maintenance. Leatherette interior in great shape. Will be sooo sad to say goodbye to this loyal friend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

15-years later: review of BMW 318ti Hatchback

by BMW driver from Seattle, WA on Tue Oct 18 2011

The only BMW hatchback -- the 318ti ("t" means "touring," not "turbo") has become a cult classic. After 15 years, the red clearcoat pain began to fade to blotchy pink, but that's because the car has been street-parked all its life, and it is red, the most vulnerable paint color. I had it professionally refinished in the original red and it is looks good as new. I have had almost zero maintenance other than oil changes and standard things like brakes and radiator flush. I get these kinds of reactions at quick lube centers: "That car is tight!" "Hatchback! I got to get one of those!" "Call me if you ever want to sell it." "My girlfriend would look great in this car."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not a beemer!

by joe from Houston,Texas on Sun May 03 2009

This is not a beemer!I want to get rid of it so bad,but I can't!I mean my bmw hatchback looks like some Geo Metro AND PRETTY MUCH ONE OF THEM ITSELF! I've also never heard of a bmw with rotten cloth seats and a1 liter engine. I would pay like $9,000 instead of around $20,000.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very fun car to drive.

by Jsmoove from Rockford, Illinois on Tue Jul 24 2018

I am very tall so the comfort level of the vehicle wasn?t too great but it got me to where I needed to go in style.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST automobile I've ever owned

by Grandma Suzy from Union SC on Sun Mar 25 2018

I TRULY LOVE my 1995 318 I convertible....very particular about my car and keep Ol Blue LIKE NEW.LOVE IT ...my car is extremely reliable, gets head's turning because of age and how GREAT it looks!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i ever owned

by Fourron from Blue Ridge on Sat Aug 18 2018

I bought this 95 318 Ti about 13 years ago for $2700 it has 167 k miles on it.It has a manual trans and now i have 276 K on it with the same clutch that is still great! Keep the back set down have sometimes used it almost like a truck.I average 31-34 MPG city and highway.Probably spent$1500 on repairs in 13 years.Normal stuff,hoses ,alternator,ball joints suspension items,rotors normal stuff.Drive daily looking to join the 300k club.This little gem still drives and runs strong! On house money for sure!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1995 BMW 318

Over the years, BMW has consistently offered stylish, well-built, high-quality automobiles.

Can you think of one ugly BMW model? Can you think of one that was poorly designed or plagued with mechanical troubles?

Until recently, however, there has been one minor blemish on BMW's shiny German armor: There was nothing on BMW's menu for people with an appetite for a car in the $20,000 price range.

Before the January arrival of the 318ti - this week's test car - you needed about $30,000 to own a new BMW.

The new 318ti changes that.

I just spent a week behind the steering wheel of a cherry red 318ti, and I can tell you that if you've yearned for an affordable BMW, you are going to be mighty delighted with... Read More