1997 318

Consumer Reviews

1997 BMW 318

$1,698 - $5,530  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

13 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 BMW 318?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

`997 BMW 318 Convert.

by Walt from Raleigh, NC on Wed Dec 01 2010

Purchased this car new 14 years ago. A great car but a little pricey. BMW also seems to charge more for options. Very reliable. Although I have seldom had to repair this car, when I did, it was expensive if taked to a BMW dealer. I rated lower in performance since it has a 4 cylinder engine. I am now looking to buy a 128 convert. which is about the same size as the older 318 model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

E36 318is

by BMW Enthusiast from Washington, DC on Fri Jul 07 2006

Great, fun car to drive with great gas mileage and reliability. More standard featrues than next generation 3 series (E46), e.g., dual climate control which is not available in E46 3 sereis. 4-cylinder engine is spunky and has great repair record.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

by 318 ti lover from Los Angeles County on Tue Apr 07 2009

Very easy entry and exit...so nice on the knees and hips. Agile in traffic, quick up to the speed limit with plenty of reserve to make a quick pass. Stable in the curves. Not too big for just one person, yet, excellent for two adults and lots of luggage / groceries / or a big run to the hardware store or Costco. This is the factory standard BMW no bells or whistles to maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by German Engineering owns from Boston, MA on Mon Jul 30 2007

Overall great car. Handles unbelievably well, nice, quiet, solid ride, and manual gearbox is silky smooth. A little underpowered compared to the 328i and m3 also available that year, but still quick enough. Engine and transmission still very strong with high mileage. Overall has been very reliable. Extremely fun car to drive, especially with manual gearbox. Would highly recommend to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great handling, expensive to maintain

by Fred from Fairfax Va. on Fri Aug 16 2013

The stick shift 318ic in an aquamarine color was purchased by me about 4 years ago. I absolutely love this car. I've had many strangers compliment me on how cute it is. But the reason I love it the most, it's just plain old fun to drive. Corners and brakes with most newer high performance cars and the mileage on the highway is incredible. I use regular gas with no problem and I get 35-38mpg on the highway and that is usually at 70-80mph. Plenty of power for a 4 banger. Drove non stop to Denver from DC and back. 2 days total travel time and could not have enjoyed it more.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I can count on it

by car man from san fransisco on Wed Jan 17 2007

I have owned mine for almost 10 years. Was not sure of purchasing because of the small engine, but i insisted. I loved the color combination and the styling. Over the years I have been bumbed out because it does not perform as fast as the other larger engines, but when it comes to handling it is one of the best cars out there.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One ofr the cheapest to maintain with style&speed.

by George BMW enthusiast from Fort Lauderdale - NYC on Thu Mar 08 2018

This car is a performer in its class. Great on gas, cheap to maintain, good leg room, doesnt use parts in comparison to a lot of newer models. Simply great value for money and a worthy investment.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Second most reliable i have owned.

by George BMW enthusiast from Fort Lauderdale - NYC on Wed Jan 17 2018

Excellent performance and handling, Very easy to maintain, great on gas. BMW 318IS manual transmission overall a true immortal car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second most reliable i have owned.

by George BMW enthusiast from Fort Lauderdale - NYC on Thu Nov 16 2017

This Car has great handling, style, performance, unbelievable fuel economy, low cost maintenance, cheap and very easily accessible parts to acquire even at BMW dealerships. Honestly, this created my love for BMW engineering. I found the minute weaknesses and reconstructed them better. This car hardly uses brakes, front end part as many other models! Simply the best car i have own in the US.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable i have owned.

by George BMW enthusiast from Fort Lauderdale on Wed Sep 06 2017

Excellent car, great service at very low maintenance and service cost. Excellent gas mileage and great speed, tight suspension and handling in corners! A true BMW icon.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2