1996 328

Consumer Reviews

1996 BMW 328

$1,906 - $10,402  MSRP Range
1996 BMW 328

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 BMW 328?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Ultimate Driving machine

by DougieFresh from Jackson, MS on Wed Feb 17 2010

This car is seamless. The transmission is mated perfectly to the robust straight six. It is smooth, but can pull like crazy if you get foot happy. You feel directly connected to the road. Fantastic reliable car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A true drivers car

by Kaoshonen from Wichita, KS on Sun Feb 15 2009

This is defiantly one of the best cars in the used market, for someone who wants a drivers car. The steering is very responsive and the chaise communicates with the driver perfectly. If you have ever wondered about purchasing one, just take one for a spin, these cars speak for themselves.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very good year

by Reliable Car Enthusist from Davis, CA on Sat May 26 2007

This was my third and best BMW yet. BMW has made major strides in reliability and performance since 1990. The car feels solid and drives well. Even though the car is 10 years old, I still enjoy driving it over my spouse's new Toyota. The big downside is the maintenance when something actually does go wrong. Why must everything BMW cost 3 times as much? It comes from the same manufacturer. Otherwise, a great car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most comfor. and Reli. car I even had for $$

by Salman from VA on Fri Dec 08 2006

It is just a full package that looks great, Runs fast, and is very comfortable. It's handling and speed can smoke most of the, so called "sporty cars" in the city or on the Highway.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dependable/reliable to drive

by Coco from Gardena, CA on Sun Oct 21 2012

This BMW 328i '96 is one of the best in-line six engine ever made. High quality machine, a lot better than any other german made.It's truly "The Ultimate Driving Machine"

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pretty decent car.

by Rinestone from New York, NY on Thu Jan 19 2012

Out of the various cars I've had, this one (for the price) stands out on top. Being reliable, efficient, and stylish, this car has been just amazing and I would recommend it to someone that travels, or even for a first-car owner.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i have ever owned, period.

by bimmer from on Mon Jun 06 2011

I have owned many BMW's and this one by far has been the easiest, fastest, and most reliable car ever. Never had a major issue or anything expensive break. Its the best value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota Avalon

by Andy from San Antonio on Sat Jan 26 2013

Purchased a toyota avalon from this guy named Matt. Drove from SA to look at the car before buying it. Pictures were good and bought car after test drive. Friendly and knowledgeable sales person, was able to help me better understand the vehicle. Great selection, making me really have to think about which vehicle I wanted most from him. Will certainly be back for my next car. Few weeks later and still runs the same as when I bought it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's been the best car I ever owned

by Robert from Vermilion ,Ohio on Sun Oct 14 2018

This car is quick and nimble and handles like a dream. It's great on gas. It turns heads when the top is down. It's more than I ever expected.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1996 BMW 328

Many car companies claim to produce sports sedans. They'll take some lumpy, blobby family boat, strip off the chrome, throw on some sporty tires and a rear deck spoiler, and shout to the multitudes, "OK, we're sporty now!"

The reality: Most of these sedans are frumpy family cars with a spoiler that's as misplaced as Bob Dole in jams. If you really want a sports sedan, this is the one, the modern descendent of the car that defined the genre.

Presenting the 1996 328i.

If you're a follower of all cars Bavarian, you'll note the last digit is three higher than last year. That's because the fine folks at BMW have enlarged the in-line six-cylinder engine to 2.8 liters. The results might not look... Read More