1999 328

Consumer Reviews

1999 BMW 328

$2,311 - $6,427  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 BMW 328?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

328i with Sport Package

by Hondaboy from Frederick, MD on Sun Jan 30 2011

You would be hard pressed to find another car in this class that gives one more driving enjoyment. It is evident that this car was built for the driving experience. Handling is excellent. With the sport package you get the upgraded suspension and interior appointments that make this feel like a true sport/luxury car. This car begs to be driven hard through the curves but can also make long trips in comfort. The engine runs smooth and has adequate power for the daily grind. Fuel economy is reasonable, about 25 mpg on average, but premium fuel is suggested. That said, this car may not be for everyone. Reliability was a major concern for me. During the 2 years I owned the car I had more than a handful of mechanical problems, including replacing the brake calipers at 65,000 miles and replacing the ignition switch. Also, I had a water leak inside the car that soaked the rear floor, which was never solved. The engine light would come on and go off from time to time for no known reason. Overall, this is a great car if you don't mind dealing with a few mechanical issues.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Car and Fun To Drive !

by kenmandoo from boston, ma on Fri Feb 22 2008

Approaching 165,000 miles on my 1999 328i 4dr 5sp Sport. Original clutch and many other stock parts. Weak point on these cars is cooling system. An easy do-it-yourself project. Front suspension also weak, however it is a DIY project and will save you money. Overall, great reliable and fun to drive car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So much FuN!

by Whiskey Drinker from Philadelphia, PA on Sun Nov 19 2006

This car is the most complete BMW 3-series yet. This car is the perfect match of performance and luxery. The 3-series finally graduated to the luxery of the 5-series. This car rides, drives, and feels like a 5-series. I have previously owned a 1985 325, 1988 325, 1996 328i, and a 1999 528i. The 99 328 is by far the most fun to drive. I loved the E36 gernation, pure raw power and refinement. I was skeptical of the E46, until I took my first drive. It just adds luxery to where the previous 3 series was lacking, without takinga way performance. More fun and stylish than any car in its class, Audi, MB, and Saab can't even compete with this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Keep it forever

by Michael from Ohio on Tue Feb 10 2009

Bought it certified from BMW dealer. Drove it as my company car. Always enjoyed it on trips. I agree AC could be stronger and small repairs can be high at dealership. However, strong motor and fun to drive. Our BMW has found a home for a long time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Will Last Forever if Maintained Properly

by summer from Suffield, CT on Wed Apr 05 2017

Had this car for about a year now after selling my Civic. Bought the car with 160k and have put around 20k on the car since. So far have only spent around $200 on maintenance between replacing the radiator and hoses and the coolant expansion tank. Also replaced the water pump while I had the radiator out as preventative maintenance as the cooling systems in these cars are known to go. Haven't had any other major problems. Car is extremely comfortable and has a lot of nicer interior features than my 2007 Honda Civic did and the car is almost 20 years old. They're known to last forever as long as you keep up on normal wear and tear maintenance and make sure the fluids are always filled. Love the car and don't think I'll ever buy anything but a BMW!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Coolest Car I've Ever Owned.

by nickk from long Beach, CA on Sun May 04 2008

Great Car! We had the one with huge wheels, Green Exterior. It was a dream to own. BMW has one of the best maintenance programs & warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car! Greatly Reliable ANYWHERE!

by Radio from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Jun 12 2007

this car has the look of a fast performance sports car and the comfort of a large sedan. the power put into this car is incredible. love to go fast and still be safe? this is the perfect car for that. recommend it to anyone. great fo any driver! young and old.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 328 Hardtop

by nickykunkel from Cincinnati, OH on Thu Jan 11 2018

This is the best body style that BMW ever made in my opinion for a coupe. This particular one is the rare hardtop convertible. It can easily be tuned to have a greater horsepower with a few DIY's

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun, sporty car with classic looks

by Kamakozma from NYC, NY on Mon May 22 2017

It was a great car that has a lot of pep and personality. As expected, some maintenance was required but it offers a spirited drive with unmatched looks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A great convertible now past its prime:

by Timster from Southern Michigan on Sat Sep 11 2010

I love the comfort, performance and styling of this car. It now has 150k miles. Mechanically, the engine and transmission are flawless. I replaced the clutch at 140k, but this is probably a function of how it was driven before i had it. The convertible top is unreliable and not able to be serviced by the home mechanic. I've had more troubles with this top than anything else. Heating and cooling system is baffling without any sensible control at this point only on or off. I still really enjoy driving this car. I even drive it winters now with 4 winter tires and traction control it does great with a little weight in the trunk.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 BMW 328

Evolution, not revolution, best describes the new version of BMW's highly popular 328i.

There was no need for BMW to make drastic changes to this car, which can trace its roots to the classic BMW 2002 of the 1970s. That car, you may remember, firmly established the sports sedan in America.

Of all European automakers, BMW may be in the best position. Its vehicles are synonymous with performance. Its brand image is pure. Say BMW and you automatically think of fast, well-made cars that handle superbly.

The new 328i carries on that tradition. What few rough... Read More