2013 328

Consumer Reviews

2013 BMW 328

$10,758 - $21,666  MSRP Range
2013 BMW 328

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

107 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2013 BMW 328?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 107 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by borner from Scituate, MA on Mon Oct 22 2012

So far (~2000 mi), it's been fantastic. the 3 position switch on the auto transmission (eco, comfort, sport) makes the car feel like 3 different vehicles. Eco-mode de-tunes the engine a bit, dropping the power delivery and accelearation, but it is giving me ~29mpg for my 100+ miles / day commute. A nice 30+% boost from my last car. Comfort mode drops the shift point down compared with sport and smooths out the gear changes (which is an 8 speed tranny). The car still kicks plenty in comfy mode with a little push on the accelerator. It seems like the big difference between comfort and sport is the shift point. Sport-mode turns it into a head slapping rocket. Super quick and nimble. I highly recommend a good radar detector. In sport-mode, this car begs to be really driven. It's like deciding whether to take your dog to the beach and keeping it on a leash or letting it just run. Both puppies want to go and will yank at the leash until you final give in (insert big Cheshire Cat grin here) Frankly, I'm grateful that the other modes exist to help mute the temptation (a little). Given the lightweight feel of the car coupled with loads of torque and an 8 speed gearbox, this car skates along very nicely at ticket inducing speeds and still manages pretty low rpms to keep fuel consumption in check (in comfy mode, one can do 70 and only be at around 1500-2000 rpm). As one would expect, handling is outstanding. Very well balanced. Chassis feels light and nimble w/o sacrificing solid feel. Love it. The engine shuts off when stopped at a light with your foot on the brake, and restarts when you take your foot off the brake. Restart is so fast that the engine is running again before your foot touches the gas pedal. It seems pretty smart about when not to shut off the engine (e.g. on a hill, cold engine, etc.). Creature comforts for me are the nav system (which is excellent), leather, wood trim, and the cold weather package. Keyless entry and start works flawlessly. Only nitpick so far is the fact that the passenger side wiper stops dead center in the drivers line of vision before going back to passengers side. Not a biggie, but if there's crud on the road (like we often have in New England), the wiper line left in your vision is annoying. A surprising that this issue has been around apparently for a few of years, given the level of attention paid by BMW to engineering detail and excellence. Overall, this is a great vehicle, and with my extended warranty/service plan, I shouldn't need to do a thing for 100K makes this competitive in the value arena. In the gee whiz arena, it rocks. Highly recommended. My other car is a BMW motorcycle (my 2nd), and they have been great, so I'm bullish on the brand.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth the price tag

by zofoandrew from Troy, MI on Thu Mar 24 2016

This car is beautiful, comfortable, fast, and has pretty good gas mileage for being as sporty as it is. Little nervous about the repair cost, but haven't seen the damage on those yet. Got it with 26,000 miles on it and it seems to need new front right rotor. Probably gonna fix it next year as its not bad now. Features I love: Heated steering wheel, moon roof, bluetooth, heated seats in front and back. Love the shortcuts to bring up menus/call favorite contacts.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable BMW I've owned.

by Al the gr8 from Boston, MA on Fri Mar 09 2018

The exterior design is nice. The interior is roomy and comfortable with the instrumentation in the correct places. The leather seats are more durable than prior models. The cons about this car are new electronic steering doesn't provide the road feedback like all the prior models and the the handling is not as precise as the prior models. Seems that BMW has sacrificed the sporty feel for comfort. This is still the most reliable BMW I have owned so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by nursv from Oley, Pa on Fri Mar 23 2018

Very comfortable, sporty, responsive and fast . Many options. Heated steering wheel and idrive easy to use. Feel like you could drive all day. 4 cylinder turbo will not disappoint you .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST SEDAN CAR!

by TODD2000 from MINNEAPOLIS, MN on Mon Apr 09 2018

I LOVE THIS CAR. BEST CAR I EVER HAVE. I DRIVE TO WORK EVERYDAY. BEAUTIFULL SMALL CAR. YOU WONT REGRET TO OWN THIS VEHICLE. MUST SEE AND DRIVE IT TO BELEIVE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My 1st Luxury auto....

by Luvalo from Verona, N.J. on Fri Jun 07 2013

This is my 1st attempt at owning a Luxury auto and chose a BMW over an Audi, Mercedes. I find the ergonomics very well appointed with exception of my knee resting uncomfortably. I drive with my left leg to side, and being a short (5'-4") person, it makes the armrest/handle press against my knee. I also find the lease price.sale price ( at lease end high$$$. But I did want to try a BMW 1st. If you're flexible, I'd recommend the same. I'll probably try a Mercedes, or Audi next. If you're short, like me, maybe try the 5 series for leg roominess.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Serves its purpose

by Foreign Fuel from Detroit, Mi on Sun Feb 11 2018

Great daily driver, a little on the small side but very reliable for all driving conditions . Mechanically sound and good gas mileage. The AWD performs well in bad weather

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Car

by Tmac from NY on Wed Sep 11 2013

The 328 Xdrive is a lot of fun to Drive. BMW exterior styling and interior design are very well thought out. The engine is very powerful in Sport mode.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very solid and very well built

by beastSarasota from Sarasota, Florida on Tue Oct 01 2013

I asked my wife why she 'loves' our new 328 and she said: " I like the way it hugs the road and it makes me feel safe."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

When performance and road handling matters

by Karthik from San Jose on Tue Apr 03 2018

BMW 328i is flag ship from BMW and have very less failure points and maintenance compared to other BMW models. The car has superior handling and performance and love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2013 BMW 328

With its exceptional acceleration, handling, braking, gas mileage and interior accommodations, the 2013 BMW 328i is the best luxury sport sedan you can buy. Period.

When I evaluated the BMW 3 Series sedan after its 2012 redesign (see the review), I concluded that, for the first time, the 328i was all anybody needed, thanks to its new turbocharged four-cylinder engine. For 2013, what's new is a more affordable 320i (reviewed separately), an M Sport trim level — and the results of our sport-sedan comparison test, in which the 328i took first place over five other sport sedans less than $46,000 (as equipped).

This review covers the 328i sedan, which was redesigned for 2012. The coupe, convertible and... Read More