2012 335

Consumer Reviews

2012 BMW 335

$11,888 - $26,208  MSRP Range
2012 BMW 335

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

24 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2012 BMW 335?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

BMW 335is

by pomsaeng from NJ on Thu Sep 14 2017

Loved the car. Great performance, aesthetics, and sound (the exhaust sound really distinguishes it from others). However...this vehicle requires a lot of attention and care. Driving without a warranty is risky.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast, fun, it?s a BMW

by Bacon33 from California on Sun Jun 17 2018

I love this car and would keep it as long as possible. A few items needed repair sooner than it should have with the low mileage I have. Seems it?s a BMW thing as other models have done the same. Car has great acceleration and response handling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best driver's car

by BMW Fan from Ellicott City, MD on Tue Sep 03 2013

I have driven my 335is about 1000 miles now and can attest it is the most joyful car I have owned. The low-end torque combined with the exhaust note and 6 speed manual make this the perfect car for any automotive purist. The only negative with the car is that it comes with run-flat summer tires, so a good pair of winter tires will need to be kept handy for the winter. Overall, I give this car a 5/5 stars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SEAMLESS SHIFTING 8-SPEED AUTOMATIC

by 3RD 335 from ANN ARBOR, MI on Tue May 27 2014

ANYONE WHO DOUBTS THE NEW F30 SEDAN IS ABSOLUTELY KIDDING THEMSELVES. IT'S BY FAR THE NICEST BMW 3-SERIES EVER MADE AND CONTINUE TO EXEMPLIFY WHAT BMW STANDS FOR. LEXUS KIDS THEMSELVES, MERCEDES MIMICS AND AUDI IS WAY UNDERPOWERED.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very nice and sterdy car. Maint is expensive

by Ari from Florida on Mon Jul 24 2017

The car was very fun to drive. Well made but the maintenance is super expensive when something breaks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owned for almost 3 years, its a keeper!

by Comsat from Irondale, AL on Sun Apr 08 2018

Excellent power and performance, luxurious yet usable interior. Cost of ownership thus far has been what I expected, with no surprises. My wife loves the 335i!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best purchase for the money

by BMERBOY89 from Orlando, Florida on Wed Oct 04 2017

I purchased this care with low miles and a warranty for the average price of a ford fusion from the same year, I have had it several years now and had no major issues, I receive about 25 in the city and 31 on the hwy, its extremely comfortable and has a whopping 300 horse power, I would recommend this car to anyone that wants affordable luxury and power, and surprisingly low maintenance cost given the make.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Experience

by bmwaddict from Virginia on Wed Oct 03 2012

Had a Great experience from the moment I sent the internet inquiry all the way to the delivery of my BMW. Everybody was professional and no surprises were sprung at me. They delivered what they said they would. A truly unique experience in buying my ultimate machine

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2012 335 Sedan Test Drive over weekend.

by jj from Irvine, CA on Mon Feb 20 2012

I've leased a 2006 330i, then bought a 2008 335i. Currently own a 2010 Mustang GT. So, I test drove the new 2012 335 sedan this weekend. It was fully equipped, the sport model, manual transmission. From the outside, the car looks sharp and respectful. Wheels are sporty, but even they weren't enough to save the car from an overall sedate, I hesitate yet must say, boring look. Too conservative. This looks like a respectable family car from the outside. On the inside, the car was black leather with red highlight on seats and dash with high gloss black panes. Ok.. looks neat and tidy as you'd expect. Must admit, it looks better on the inside compared to the outgoing model. Turn the car on and you'll find yourself listenning attentively for the engine. You'll find yourself doing that for longer than you'd expect because the car is really quite. Rev the engine and you won't be impressed as you would with a 2006 330 or a 2010 Mustang GT. Even the outgoing 335 had a nicer rev sound than this model. OK, the manual shifter is WAY WAY easy to shift. You know, I've always thought that such a shifter would be a delight, but really, the shifts are way too easy to the point, they've lost feel. The clutch is super super light..to the point of almost being digital. There is no weight on the clutch resisting your modulations so it is really awkwards and combined with the super smooth shifter..the shifting experience is diminished. Less fun is a translation I guess, compared to the 2008 335 manual transmission and even compared to a notchy 2010 Mustang GT's 5-speed manual. Ok, the drive, the 335 feels safe and planted but I don't feel the road. It's kinda like a modern roller coaster that is super crazy looking, but holds you in so securely, there is no chance of you getting hurt and so the fear is gone and so is a good portion of the fun.. Down shifting with the 335 is not as breath taking as before, and I almost feel a lack of torque or delay in the power delivery compared to the outgoing 335. The steering wheel is beautiful. The helm fit nice in your hands allowing your fingers to go all the way around completely, (unlike M3's overly thick wheel) and the wheel isn't too large in radius. The steering wheel material is good, good coefficient of friction and inspires confidence. Turning weight is good..not too strong, not too light. I had the car dialed to the sportiest settings by the dealer rep. Unfortunately, steering feel is minimal..I'd say a tad less than the outgoing 335i. Overall driving impressions is bland. This car is not clearly more family oriented and less driver enthusiast oriented. Well, I mean it is less sporty by a significant measure when compared to the out going 335. The engine delivers less instant punch and is less eager to serve, the steering is less engaging, the sound is gone. The feel of the road from the chasis to the seat is also diminished. This is my opinion and my experience. I don't know why BMW has chose to go this route when BMW has been made famous by the 3's fun factor and not by appealing so directly to families. It's a great car for a family sure..but you'd be better served in a Honda SUV. Oh well.. we'll have to wait for the next M3 I guess. Hope the coupe will have a different character.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Two words for the 335is: aftermarket tuning!

by Madwitt from Scottsdale, Arizona on Wed Jun 28 2017

The 2012 BMW 335is is more than ready for spirited city driving and having access to over 370 ib ft of torque below 2500 RPM means that when you need to get moving you can. Combined with a clean stylish interior, a great sound system and rear leg room that puts most two door sports cars to shame I could not be happier!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2012 BMW 335

Editor's note: This review, published in February 2012, originally cited EPA mileage estimates of 24/36 mpg city/highway for the 2012 BMW 328i sedan equipped with an automatic transmission. In a rare revision roughly one month later, the EPA lowered the rating to 23/33 mpg, as reflected in the updated review below. Mileage estimates for the manual 328i and all versions of the 335i sedan remain unchanged.

If the sport-sedan category were high school, the BMW 3 Series would be the captain of the football team, and maybe the debate squad … and the chess club. It's popular (typically selling 90,000-100,000 units annually in the U.S.), and everyone wants to be like it (Cadillac is only the most... Read More