2016 340

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW 340

$20,937 - $35,809  MSRP Range
2016 BMW 340

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

16 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 BMW 340?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

16 Months of Ownership, 7500 miles

by Josscue from Johnstown, PA on Fri Apr 06 2018

The styling and performance of this vehicle are top notch. 0-60 in 4.6 seconds is fast. The all wheel drive keeps you going in a straight line down the road. The steering is more responsive than the car magazines reviews. The seats are comfortable on long trips. There is plenty of room for two golf bags in the trunk. Overall a great car so far. The only con is that the engine bucks a little when cold. Mine has Tech, cold weather , lighting and M-Sport packages. Consider this car along with the Audi S4 and Mercedes C-Class AMG. An honest review from a true owner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

by Danny from New York, NY on Mon Mar 11 2019

This car is so much fun. The pure balance and power the car has to offer for the money. As a person living in New York, it’s the best thing close to an M car and have awd for the snow. It’s so much fun and so powerful and has a beautiful sounding straight six twinscroll turbo. The B58 engine is a powerful engine. Bmw says 320 hp but it is definitely underrated for power because you feel how fast it is and how fast it reaches 60.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3 series delivers

by Htown from Houston on Fri Dec 21 2018

I traded a 535i and the 340 isn’t a downgrade in quality. Actually, it is smaller, sportier, handles and performs better which are the things I was seeking.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth Every Penny

by Josscue from Pennsylvania on Tue Apr 24 2018

This car looks and drives great. It has launch control for controlled fun. 0-60 in 4.6 secs, this car is fast for the street. It is great to own a sporty car that I can fit two golf bags in the trunk.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 340i

by 340dude from Chicago on Fri Jul 20 2018

Awesome car. Had it for two year and love it. Never had any issues either. Just great car to have. I am looking forward to driving longer for many years

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceeds Expectations

by Aquadan from Pasadena, CA on Thu Jun 06 2019

Fun to drive. Definite luxury. Very fast and responsive. Solid ride. Definitely get the M Sport package for a more comfortable seating, better road handling-tires and suspension.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Thanks to Alex from Unique Auto Mall...

by paulymu from Orange, NJ on Fri Jun 28 2019

Wasn't my first choice, was actually in the market for my favorite car which is B8.5 Audi S4. Was unable to find one in decent condition with low miles in this similar price range. Came across this and was able to make the numbers work, and boom...now she's mine. Only thing missing that i wanted was the red interior and the track handling package. Other than that everything is perfect...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superman blue with red interior.

by T2Cruiser from Richardson TX on Tue Dec 24 2019

What’s not to like, super rare 2014 with Superman looks and manual trans. Not sure how you guys found this one , but it’s a 19K mile gem! My nephew loves his new ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by 240shwag from Bordentown NJ on Thu Mar 19 2020

Super fast. Very comfortable interior. Simply a pleasure to drive. A couple of annoying caveats about the interior design, specifically the door lock switch being in the center of the dashboard, and the window seals around the driver side and passenger side front windows can leak a little air at high speeds. Those are superficial.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable, insane torque, and easy on the eyes

by j0rdan5 from Reading, PA on Sat Jan 20 2018

Can't stop smiling whenever I drive this car! I had to locate a manual transmission model out of state, since they are not easy to find. I know what most people would be asking right about now, but I was not interested in an M3 or M4. So, let me talk about the car.... - It's quiet until you push it. Surprised me actually coming out of a newer Acura. I completely expected this to be a few notches louder on the highway, but it's not. - The seats are quite comfortable. - I've read some complaints about the high end stereo disappointing some, but it blows the Acura sound system away. Not sure what kind of car those people drove before. - Insane torque. If I have any complaint, it's that I should have gotten X-drive. This car struggles for grip. Coming out of a corner takes a little restraint. - Gas mileage isn't bad. I seem to get around 20mpg average with a heavy foot, stop and go. Driving it home though (about 600 miles highway), I averaged about 33mpg. - Love the BMW Connect App! - Materials are all high quality. This car isn't for everyone, but it does everything I ever wanted a car to do. It looks good, sounds good, and feels good. It's fast enough for me, gets decent gas mileage, and has all the features I could ask for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 BMW 340

The verdict: Despite being billed as an Ultimate Driving Machine, the latest BMW 340i feels dumbed down to widen its appeal to buyers of rival machines.

Versus the competition: The BMW 340i is certainly powerful and offers lots of customization abilities, but it no longer has a lock on being the sportiest luxury sports sedan in the class. Several other brands offer sharper-performing cars with similar price tags.

For years now, BMW has billed its products as Ultimate Driving Machines, using that phase as an advertising tagline and claiming a sportier orientation than what’s found in rivals like Mercedes-Benz, Audi and Lexus. The backbone of that claim has always been the BMW 3 Series sedan; it’s... Read More