2016 340

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW 340

$29,060 - $41,796  MSRP Range
2016 BMW 340

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

8 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2016 BMW 340?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2016 340i

by 340dude from Chicago on Fri Jul 20 2018

Awesome car. Had it for two year and love it. Never had any issues either. Just great car to have. I am looking forward to driving longer for many years

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

16 Months of Ownership, 7500 miles

by Josscue from Johnstown, PA on Fri Apr 06 2018

The styling and performance of this vehicle are top notch. 0-60 in 4.6 seconds is fast. The all wheel drive keeps you going in a straight line down the road. The steering is more responsive than the car magazines reviews. The seats are comfortable on long trips. There is plenty of room for two golf bags in the trunk. Overall a great car so far. The only con is that the engine bucks a little when cold. Mine has Tech, cold weather , lighting and M-Sport packages. Consider this car along with the Audi S4 and Mercedes C-Class AMG. An honest review from a true owner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

its a one up on an already amazing sedan

by autobahn from on Sat Nov 28 2015

In comparison to the F30 335 we've owned for quite a while now, the 340 we just picked up seems to have even more authority over the road. The engine is extremely smooth and has torque at throughout the rpm range, the steering is a bit stiffer but feels more precise, and everything is more refined feeling as if the build is a lot tighter. This car handles like a dream and the engine is far more responsive than the 335 with deeper exhaust notes and very well balanced. Having test driven numerous japanese makes for test drives, the 3 series really kills them in terms of driving dynamics, handling and performance. The 340 is a dream to drive and a joy to own. We had considered the C and E class from Mercedes as well as the Caddilac, which are extremely good sedans as well but settled for the 3 series and never looked back. It seems to be the best bang for the buck in terms of performance, features, reliability, safety and consumption. Get one, drive it and you'll see!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

340i xDrive- Best car I've ever owned

by Bob Bimmer Fan Forever from Chicago, Il on Mon Jun 19 2017

Perfect balance between luxury daily drive to and from office (25 miles each way) and sportiness. This car has awesome acceleration. While it has the convenience of 4 doors, it steers and handles like a 2 door coupe. It was a blast to take to the track, and I imagine the awd will be great in the snow during Chicago winters. Heated front and rear seats and steering wheel will come in handy too. Superb 16 speaker Harmon Kardon stereo adds even greater enjoyment to the overall driving experience. I have owned most major brands, Lexus, Infiniti, Cadillac, Mercedes and many others, but this is my first BMW. I can't imagine ever owning anything else. This is a terrific all around drivers car and I would strongly recommend to at least give it a test drive. So glad I did.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable, insane torque, and easy on the eyes

by j0rdan5 from Reading, PA on Sat Jan 20 2018

Can't stop smiling whenever I drive this car! I had to locate a manual transmission model out of state, since they are not easy to find. I know what most people would be asking right about now, but I was not interested in an M3 or M4. So, let me talk about the car.... - It's quiet until you push it. Surprised me actually coming out of a newer Acura. I completely expected this to be a few notches louder on the highway, but it's not. - The seats are quite comfortable. - I've read some complaints about the high end stereo disappointing some, but it blows the Acura sound system away. Not sure what kind of car those people drove before. - Insane torque. If I have any complaint, it's that I should have gotten X-drive. This car struggles for grip. Coming out of a corner takes a little restraint. - Gas mileage isn't bad. I seem to get around 20mpg average with a heavy foot, stop and go. Driving it home though (about 600 miles highway), I averaged about 33mpg. - Love the BMW Connect App! - Materials are all high quality. This car isn't for everyone, but it does everything I ever wanted a car to do. It looks good, sounds good, and feels good. It's fast enough for me, gets decent gas mileage, and has all the features I could ask for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible performance

by David from Binghamton, NY on Tue Dec 20 2016

Awesome engine, great suspension (much improved over 335), smooth manual transmission with auto rev matching (much better than auto tranny). Only negative was high cost.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

340i - E46 M3 alternative with a warrantee

by Crush from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Apr 04 2017

If you want an E46 M3 performance with a full dealer warrantee look no further than the BMW 340i. Love the power, love the handling, love the full warrantee. Within the first 5k miles the radiator was replaced and there was a leak in the turbo. BUT definitely the closest to the M3 on a budget.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth Every Penny

by Josscue from Pennsylvania on Tue Apr 24 2018

This car looks and drives great. It has launch control for controlled fun. 0-60 in 4.6 secs, this car is fast for the street. It is great to own a sporty car that I can fit two golf bags in the trunk.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2016 BMW 340

The verdict: Despite being billed as an Ultimate Driving Machine, the latest BMW 340i feels dumbed down to widen its appeal to buyers of rival machines.

Versus the competition: The BMW 340i is certainly powerful and offers lots of customization abilities, but it no longer has a lock on being the sportiest luxury sports sedan in the class. Several other brands offer sharper-performing cars with similar price tags.

For years now, BMW has billed its products as Ultimate Driving Machines, using that phase as an advertising tagline and claiming a sportier orientation than what’s found in rivals like Mercedes-Benz, Audi and Lexus. The backbone of that claim has always been the BMW 3... Read More