2017 340

Consumer Reviews

2017 BMW 340

$33,770 - $62,373  MSRP Range
2017 BMW 340

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

7 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 BMW 340?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

The Ultimate snooze machine

by DLNH from NH on Wed Dec 20 2017

I bought a new 2017 340i xDrive with a manual. I was given a large discount, and the test drive was pleasant, so I decided to buy it. Now, after about a year of driving it, I find it to be more of a competent appliance for commuting. It is not the "Ultimate Driving Machine" it used to be. Pros: The fuel efficiency is amazing, considering the power (very quick vehicle!). I get about 24 mpg in winter, 25 mpg in the summer, mostly highway, "spirited" driving style. It has very comfortable seats, holds you in place but not aggressively bolstered like real sports cars, and firm but well-shaped for comfortable long drives. The Heads-up display is clear and large; it provides all the helpful information you need so you rarely have to take your eyes off the road. TPMS "learns" easily and quickly, so swapping out summer and winter wheels is an easy task. The wheel is mounted on a sort of centering ring, which makes changing wheels even easier. The engine, transmission, and chassis work very well together to make handling stable and easy-to-control. Cons: The biggest drawback is the lifeless steering. The previous generation (E9x) had almost telepathic steering. The current one is just limp (not overly light, as the Sport mode can make it pretty heavy) and has a large dead range. I think it is made to accomodate distracted drivers who are twitching left a right frequently. There is just too much play in the electric steering. I actually prefer the steering feel of our Sienna minivan. Again, the 340 is capable of powering out of a corner at ridiculous speeds and does not lean much, but it is a supremely boring process now. The car has also already developed some creaks. My old 2004 Mazda6 endured 96,000 miles of New England potholes and aggressive driving without any rattles or creaks. The styling loses a star because, while it looks handsome, the optional dark kidney grille plus the sport bumpers makes the 340 look like a sad blob fish. I am using it as my winter car now, because the snow masks the lifeless steering nicely. The Macan is a far superior small "car" to transport the occasional 3 or 4 passengers.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Only owned a few months.

by eagle6293 from Louisville ky. on Sat Jun 17 2017

Dream to drive. Handling is great. Not crazy about the Idrive system. But, would buy again in a heart beat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb

by sportsub on Fri Jan 19 2018

I did not recognise the car the main reviewer discussed. It is beautiful looking, drives very well with stellar performance. It is very well built and does everything well. I have the six speed manual stick shift, which is smooth and balanced. I like the way the car looks and it is the best of the four Bimmers I have owned from new. Worth having the full LED lights and an individual colour if you can afford them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simply Beautiful

by 340 Lou from Jacksonville, FL on Thu Jul 20 2017

This is my third consecutive BMW in almost 12 years. The ride, handling, power and styling inside and out is exquisite! Life is too short too settle to anything else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most performance oriented car I have owned

by BMWFan from Hanover on Fri Aug 11 2017

I really enjoyed owning this car so far. It is a really fun to drive, performance oriented car. External and internal styling is also great. Overall fun to drive and stylish car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVED THE SMOOTHNESS OF THE CAR DRIVING

by pughbr01 from cincinnati on Fri Jul 07 2017

I liike this car, i think that it would be a perfect fit for me. It drives wonderful, everything about this car is great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!!!

by Raj07 from Hoover al on Thu Apr 13 2017

It's a M with the M price. 4 sec to 60 and has 4 doors. Just overall an awesome car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2017 BMW 340

The verdict:

Despite being billed as an Ultimate Driving Machine, the latest BMW 340i feels dumbed down to widen its appeal to buyers of rival machines.

Versus the competition:

The BMW 340i is certainly powerful and offers lots of customization abilities, but it no longer has a lock on being the sportiest luxury sports sedan in the class. Several other brands offer sharper-performing cars with similar price tags.

Editor's note: This review was written in October 2016 for the new 2016 BMW 340. Nothing has changed for 2017, but to see a side-by-side comparison of the two model years, click here. The 2017 BMW 3 Series did receive a Top Safety Pick Plus rating from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, an improvement over 2016.

For years now, BMW has billed its products as Ultimate Driving Machines, using that phase as an advertising tagline and claiming a sportier orientation than what’s found in rivals like Mercedes-Benz, Audi and Lexus. The backbone of that claim has always been the BMW 3 Series sedan; it’s the company’s best-selling model globally and heavily influences the... Read More