2014 428

Consumer Reviews

2014 BMW 428

$15,784 - $31,036  MSRP Range
2014 BMW 428

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

43 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 BMW 428?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, fast, economical and a real looker!

by Scottie Dog FL from Wellington, FL on Wed Jul 16 2014

Having "enjoyed" an American built muscle car for the past few years, I decided to make the switch to the BMW 4 series primarily due to it's perfect size, shape and superior engineering. I am more than pleased that I've done so- here's why: + the 428i is as fast (0-60) as my V8 muscle car was + the 428i's handling is superior to anything I've owned previously + the shape is not only beautiful but well designed; there are no blind spots + in ECO mode, I've averaged over 33 mpg! + the 428's trunk is larger than other cars in it's class (primarily the Audi A5 and Mercedes C) + Fit and finish are terrific. Minuses: - Car takes premium fuel only (as do most turbos) - Voice-activated Bluetooth is only available with Nav - Passenger seat room slightly encroached by dash design Overall, though, this is truly outstanding vehicle; one that only builds on the strengths of the previous 328i. Also, the dealership I bought mine at was very easy to deal with and has an excellent service department.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than sliced bread

by Finally a BMrrrrrrrrrrrrr from Suffolk, VA on Sat Mar 26 2016

I waited for 40 years to purchase my next sports car. My wife told me "the car have a backseat". Thus the BNrrrrrrrrrr.The deal went smoothly. It only took an hour. This car is great.. The power is there when I need it. The brakes definitely work. I haven't used the paddle shifters. There has been no open road to do it. Just a great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car

by ambitiouskid from Indianapolis, IN on Wed Jun 04 2014

This car is simply amazing and easily one of the best looking bmw on the market. I got the 428i Xdrive and even though it has a 4 cylinder engine (turbocharged) it is still so much fun to drive, especially in sport/sport+ mode. What's really nice is that BMW gives you options to decide what kind of "mode' you want to drive (eco pro, comfort, sport, sport+) your car in, depending on what you want out of your car. Not to mention, this car easily gets 35+ mpg when you put it on eco mode and cruise control. The interior build quality is also superb. Everything feels great to the touch and you don't get that cheap material/plastic feel like with some other cars. The seats are very comfortable as well and you could really do long road trips in this car without any issues. One thing I did notice is that there seems to be more room for the passengers in the back as well since this car is a little longer than your average coupe. I would highly recommend this car to anyone that is looking for a fun to drive sporty car with excellent build quality and great MPG rating. I would suggest that you buy this car with the technology package, premium package, and sport or M sport package.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by RobTaylor from Dexter, Mi on Fri Sep 26 2014

I am nuts about this car. It feels good, sounds good and smells good. I find myself driving to places I do not need to go, just to enjoy the terrific engine, transmission and controls.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this car

by BMW LOVER from HUNTINGTON NY on Fri Dec 06 2013

VITO WAS AN EXCEPTIONAL SALES PERSON. WE HAVE BEEN BUYING BMWS FOR VER 25 YEARS FROM HIM....HE IS TRULY THE BEST IN THE FIELD. WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND HIM AS ALWAYS TO FAMILY AND FRIENDS!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2014 428i M Sport Coupe

by Bimmer Guy from Alhambra, CA on Sat Dec 20 2014

Having "enjoyed" a japanese built car for the past years, I decided to make the switch to the BMW 4 series primarily due to it's perfect size, shape and superior engineering. I am more than pleased that I've done so- here's why: + the 428i is as fast (0-60) is quick! The 428i's handling is superior to anything I've owned previously + the shape is not only beautiful but well designed; there are no blind spots + in ECO mode, I've averaged over 30+ miles without a problem. Trunk space is great! Comes with a lot of handy features that are built through BMW fine engineering. Fit and finish are terrific. Its a Coupe, which means less space however. But how can you complain over the gorgeous body of the car? Overall, though, this is truly outstanding vehicle. I am happy with the purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooh driving, no mainenance

by lovebug from Altadena, Ca. on Tue Jan 28 2014

My sixth BMW. With each lease end, I examine the field and have returned to BMW each time. Professional but personable service, eamed all the variables to find the right car and the best deal.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I tried to buy one

by Bimmer from Homer Glen, IL on Sat Apr 26 2014

BMW 428: Too expensive for mere 4-cyl. I want a 6-cyl naturally aspirated engine that is not available anymore! Design of the front bumper is a "bummer"- must order optional "M" package to rescue its appearance. Otherwise the body is beautiful! Info screen should be either integrated with dash or retractable. Wheels should be larger and wider. $50K + is simply too much for car, that also has unknown reliability. Looks, that I have to stick with my 2002 M3, that is still "like new" for a little longer... Fortunately it's shape, performance, quality and sustainability warrants my decision. Trading is no option due to ridiculously low trade-in value. Believe me; this car is worth much more, at least to me... GR

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I've ever owned

by Tom428i from Gambrills, MD on Mon Jun 26 2017

The convertible is a lot of fun. It has the M sports package so it is a very stiff ride. The noise with the top up isn't as bad as I thought it would be.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Bigger is not better

by Stu from Redondo Beach on Wed Jul 11 2018

The seats are not comfortable, neither the driver's nor the passenger's (two complaints). When the driver's seat is at its maximum elevation I can't see the right front fender.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2014 BMW 428

Along with its new name, the all-new 2014 BMW 4 Series coupe is much more defined than the 3 Series coupe it replaces.

Variations of the 4 Series include the coupe, convertible and four-door Gran Coupe. For our test drive, BMW provided us with a 428i xDrive coupe with a 240-horsepower, turbocharged four-cylinder engine and all-wheel drive. Rear-wheel drive and a manual transmission are also available. Our particular test car came equipped with more than $5,000 worth of performance options, including the M Sport Package, Dynamic Handling Package and M Sport brakes, and not much else. The $50,775 as-tested price did not include expected convenience features like navigation, a smart key access system... Read More