2016 428

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW 428

$15,568 - $30,872  MSRP Range
2016 BMW 428

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

28 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 BMW 428?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Car is a dream. Very fun to drive.

by CarolJ from Rogersville TN on Thu Feb 22 2018

Car had low mileage, almost a new car and looked like one. Drives wonderful. Very classy with option to put the hardtop down on hot sunny days!! Only thing that I overlooked when purchasing was I didn't pay much attention to the trunk. Since I do a lot of traveling, I may have to put some in back seat since trunk is designed for the hardtop to fold into. Other than that, I am totally satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very comfortable and reliable car

by hockey from west hartford, CT on Sun Jan 13 2019

Exceptional comfort and drive, so much fun to drive with the top down. The smooth ride and exceptional performance make the daily commute to work enjoyable!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love BMWs

by CHayre on Fri Mar 06 2020

I love this car. Drives well, looks great, it only became a little uncomfortable getting in to and out of after I fractured my hip. Looking forward to my next BMW.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the car thus far after 5 days.

by Gillster from Menomonee Falls, Wi on Wed Apr 10 2019

The 2016 BMW 428i is sleek, high quality and drives smooth. The seats are very comfortable. There is a more leg room in the backseat than expected.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty luxury

by cj81two from richmond, va on Thu Oct 19 2017

This is a very fun car to own and it has duel personalities. In eco mode it will get 35 mpg and in sport mode it's fast, handles great. So you get both performance and economy depending on how you drive it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Module Problems at 51000 miles--BEWARE!

by DisappointedOwner from Ft Worth, TX on Thu Aug 29 2019

Disappointed with BMW. I ordered new (to my specs) a 2016 428i xdrive convertible, loved the vehicle until it became unreliable at 4 yrs 20 days (51000 miles). Driving on highway at 70+ mph and IDrive system shuts down (shuts down ac/power features)--Frontal collision warning/Chassis Stabilization malfunction/Cruise control malfunction ... to name a few of the warnings that displayed after it kicked back on (about 5 seconds later). System continued to intermittently drop out/kick back on. After turning vehicle off/on, the systems check indicated "all okay." Next day - same problems and warnings but in addition the dashboard now goes black/no power--no functions. (Kicks back on within 1 min--thank goodness I was stopped at a stoplight). According to BMW authorized service dept, the vehicle is "Out of warranty"--my problem--my expense. Shame on BMW for a defective module and not retaining a former satisfied customer. The vehicle's features were nice but BMW is not a reliable company. Loved the convertible and features but dislike the customer service and dismissive attitude of BMW.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First BMW

by Bill from Tampa Fl on Fri Oct 16 2015

This is my first BMW purchase, a fully loaded 428i Convertible, and I am glad I brought it.The car looks and drives great! However, it does take a little to get use to since it works differently then my past cars. To open the door you need to pull the door handle twice, once to unlock it and the second time to open it. Also, some of the optional features only stay on while the car is powered so once the car is turned off they reset. When you turn the car back on you have to re-select the features. These difference are not an issue with me, it just the way the car works, But like I say it rides like a dream and is extremely quiet on the road for a convertible. This is why I selected a hard top convertible. Great handling, pick up and go and gas mileage. Love riding with the top down. I highly recommend the car. No regrets and I did my comparison shopping with other hardtops such as the Mercedes SLK, Audi TT and the BMW Z4.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 428i convertible

by Fred from Fort Lauderdale, Florida on Thu Dec 08 2016

This is the best car I've ever owned. I like the hardtop and really like driving top down. This car has superior handling and the 4 cylinder turbo has plenty of power. The styling is great and I'm always getting compliments. None Better!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful car I have ever owned

by LynnN from on Mon Mar 06 2017

This car is easy to drive and looks amazing. I love driving it. It's easy to park. It's roomy inside. I am happy I bought it. I would highly recommend this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my BMW.

by bob g from Bourne, Ma. 02532 on Fri Dec 15 2017

Great car & a blast to drive. Looks fast sitting still. Always feel like im having fun. Wind in my hair. But with x drive I can drive in weather if needed

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3