Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2016 428

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW 428

$22,341 - $39,773  MSRP Range
2016 BMW 428

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

12 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 BMW 428?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

1 out of 5 stars

BMW 428i drives like a luxobarge

by Tom Grimes from Austin, Texas on Sun May 20 2018

The BMW 428i convertible I bought new in 2016 was my worst BMW. I've owned BMWs since 1976. And this horror was the worst of the lot. It was pitifully under-powered...yet I had to stand on the brakes to stop it because it was so heavy. The suspension must have been made from old water beds: It wandered all over the road. I had to drive it in Sport-Plus mode all the time just to get the suspension tight enough, and the engine responsive enough, to be able to tolerate it. The metal roof, when it's collapsed, makes the trunk basically unusable. There seemed to be less usable interior space in the cabin than in the smaller 2013 328i cv I owned before I bought the 428i. If you liked 1973 Lincoln Continentals, you'll adore the 2016 428i BMW. You'll be able to spin the steering wheel like the Wheel of Fortune before the car will even begin to turn. All that said, the car looked good. I got a lot of unsolicited compliments on it from strangers. If you're a fool for compliments at the gas station, then I guess the old adage is true: It's better to look good than feel good...or words to that effect.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My New Car BMW428i X drive Convertible--Hard Top

by Laker from Philadelphia on Tue Apr 19 2016

I likes the Hard Top Convertible car. BMW is My favor one. I don't likes the soft( Fiber) Top. Every one shall go for Hard TOP convertible. Once you closed the Hard Top that car just likes a normal sedan. Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Car is a dream. Very fun to drive.

by CarolJ from Rogersville TN on Thu Feb 22 2018

Car had low mileage, almost a new car and looked like one. Drives wonderful. Very classy with option to put the hardtop down on hot sunny days!! Only thing that I overlooked when purchasing was I didn't pay much attention to the trunk. Since I do a lot of traveling, I may have to put some in back seat since trunk is designed for the hardtop to fold into. Other than that, I am totally satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First BMW

by Bill from Tampa Fl on Fri Oct 16 2015

This is my first BMW purchase, a fully loaded 428i Convertible, and I am glad I brought it.The car looks and drives great! However, it does take a little to get use to since it works differently then my past cars. To open the door you need to pull the door handle twice, once to unlock it and the second time to open it. Also, some of the optional features only stay on while the car is powered so once the car is turned off they reset. When you turn the car back on you have to re-select the features. These difference are not an issue with me, it just the way the car works, But like I say it rides like a dream and is extremely quiet on the road for a convertible. This is why I selected a hard top convertible. Great handling, pick up and go and gas mileage. Love riding with the top down. I highly recommend the car. No regrets and I did my comparison shopping with other hardtops such as the Mercedes SLK, Audi TT and the BMW Z4.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful car I have ever owned

by LynnN from on Mon Mar 06 2017

This car is easy to drive and looks amazing. I love driving it. It's easy to park. It's roomy inside. I am happy I bought it. I would highly recommend this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty luxury

by cj81two from richmond, va on Thu Oct 19 2017

This is a very fun car to own and it has duel personalities. In eco mode it will get 35 mpg and in sport mode it's fast, handles great. So you get both performance and economy depending on how you drive it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my BMW.

by bob g from Bourne, Ma. 02532 on Fri Dec 15 2017

Great car & a blast to drive. Looks fast sitting still. Always feel like im having fun. Wind in my hair. But with x drive I can drive in weather if needed

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great BMW convertible

by Mark-B from NH on Sat May 06 2017

Great car and great listing on Cars.com. Will definitely use this website again in the future. This BMW was immaculate and as described.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 428i convertible

by Fred from Fort Lauderdale, Florida on Thu Dec 08 2016

This is the best car I've ever owned. I like the hardtop and really like driving top down. This car has superior handling and the 4 cylinder turbo has plenty of power. The styling is great and I'm always getting compliments. None Better!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Its a beauty

by Seiko from Milford, CT on Mon May 08 2017

Waited a long time; the 4 series convertible from BMW is a dream: powerful, luxurious, beautiful and a pleasure to drive. Well worth the extra money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2