2001 525

Consumer Reviews

2001 BMW 525

$2,514 - $6,998  MSRP Range
2001 BMW 525

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 BMW 525?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Well built machine....

by 525i Fan... from baltimore, md on Fri Mar 25 2011

Purchased it used with 110k, in 09, and still going strong. No problems whatsoever. Although its a 6 cylinder, its fast, and good on fuel....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First time BMW owner love it

by Mykals from Tucson Az on Mon May 28 2018

This car is perfect it has ample power great gas mileage and the interior is total comfort it hugs the road steering and suspension give it the feel of a sportscar with a solid glued to the ground feel the seats have so may adjustment ranges a glove- like fit is assured a true driving pleasure

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superior handling, excellent interior quality

by Bimmer lover from Illinois on Tue Apr 24 2018

Best ride and reliable car I ever had, very roomy and comfortable and excellent performance . All the components in this car are so precise, no wonder they call it the ultimate driving machine!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

"Most Reliable Car I've owned"

by Shorty from Kissimmee, FL on Wed Feb 21 2007

This is infact the most reliable vehicle that I have owned. All of the service centers that I have been assisted by were outstanding and very courteous. Due to my excellent experience, I now own my second BMW 2006.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

280 zx

by BMW bummer from Houston TX on Thu Dec 20 2012

this car rocks,what a driving experience..Performance reliability,no expenses..resale value great. thumbs

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first car

by Agrant219 from grayson,Ga on Mon May 08 2017

This vehicle is very reliable, and is a steal on the market today. i've had it for over a year now and have had no problems

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drives Like Its Attached to my body

by DBW2418 from Los Angeles, CA on Wed Sep 13 2017

This car has the smallest engine of this version of this vehicle, but it performs so well. I am a fan of inline 6 engines, so maybe i am a bit biased. the steering is tight, the cornering and suspension are too. it just feels great in your hands, so to speak. its a super popular model, so it's hard to find. Is is a great car, and I recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I?ve owned

by Takinover from Chicago, IL on Wed Oct 31 2018

It is a great combination of luxury and sport, fully loaded interior with a mean exterior design but a performance engine all encompasses into one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sweet ride

by Blue5Fan from Washington, DC on Fri Nov 09 2018

There is nothing like the precise and smooth ride a BMW gives. At this age, the luxury features are wearing out, and there are a lot of them. So maintenance is key.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2001 BMW 525

The question before the house is, can a V-8 lover find happiness with two cylinders gone AWOL? Corollary query: Can a driving enthusiast find happiness with an automatic transmission? In the case of the BMW 525iA, I was surprised to find the answer was a resounding yes.

Surprised, because I had earlier sampled the transcendant delight afforded by the fire-breathing 540i with 6-speed manual. To be sure, THAT one is lamentably far more car than we can properly exercise in a country with the world's best roads, worst drivers and, consequently, rather conservative speed limits. And - reality check - it costs 20 large more than its humble series sibling.

The BMW 5 Series, generically, is... Read More