2002 525

Consumer Reviews

2002 BMW 525

$1,549 - $7,985  MSRP Range
2002 BMW 525

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

16 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 BMW 525?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

100 k and too many problems

by BMW 525 from Ashburn on Mon Jun 11 2012

Had this car for 6 years. After it had 90 k plus it start having problems. Cyclone filter failure, Fuel pump failure and finally Transmission failure and a engine oil leak from valve cover gaskets. BMW rides and looks good but repair expenses were starting to add up. Decided to sell and get a Honda. I will buy another 525 but trade or sell when it gets 100k miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best 5 series BMW has made

by Arozok from Stonington, CT on Mon May 10 2010

I ordered my 525iT and am thrilled I waited for it. It's been completely trouble free in nearly eight years, rides like new, handles like new, brakes like new, has classic lines, feels like a tank, has exquisite craftsmanship, and is just a delight to drive each and every time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect balance between comfort and performance

by camdendennis from Camden, SC on Mon Jan 16 2012

I have owned 3 E39's. My 1997 528 with 280,000 miles still handled better than many new cars I drove. I replaced it with a 2002 525 sports package with 89k miles becuase I could not find a new car I like better. (the 2011 525 is nice but can't go 58k) Good performance. 28 - 30 mpg. Sports seats are a little hard but OK. I think they would be uncomfortable though for anyone over 230 or so. Reliable, but not trouble free. Expect replacement of water pump, belt tensioners at 90k or so. Air bag sensors sometimes act up. Great overall car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Car

by Happy Car Enthusiast from So. CA on Sun Feb 08 2009

Have owned our wagon for over three years-it's beautiful, flawless, sporty, comfortable, efficient, reliable, virtually everything we wanted in a car. Now I understand why the 5 series has always been considered the industry standard.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Ultimate Driving Machine

by BMW4Life from on Fri Jan 23 2009

This is my 3rd BMW and has not let me down! Excellent combination of interior luxury and performance. Truly one of the best overall vehicles ever designed and built. Well balanced design with acceptable tradeoffs made to reach an extremely high level of driver satisfaction.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Loving it

by Michaelpcool from Spring Spring Md on Mon Nov 04 2013

I purchased my 525 after driving a. 3 series and Jetta for ten years. My new Bimmer is solid and handles well. The 3 series still handles the best but my series is roomy for my three sons and comfortable beyond belief. The ultimate driving machine is aprapos for my 2002 525i !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The BMW 5 Series SportWagon is the best car ever.

by CrystalTruth from Seattle, WA on Tue Oct 31 2017

It is too bad the BMW does not import the 5 Series wagon any longer. Its size is so helpful in hauling lots of things while still handling like a BMW. This car has the M Package, Cold Weather Package and Premium Sound Package making it the best handling, most comfortable, best entertaining vehicle I have owned; and I have owned Mercedes, Porsches, Volvos, and a host of American makes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The perfect car.

by Dustin33 from Sarasota on Thu Aug 17 2017

For the used luxury car market, you can't beat this thing. Beautiful interior and pretty dang comfortable too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BLACK WIDOW MAKER

by Ozzie from Hixson, TN on Sun Aug 06 2017

One of the best cars I owned the 2002 525 is a mean looking very reliable machine BMW's one of the best love the older model look more than the new ones wish BMW didn't change the line

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Feels Like an Extension of my body

by BMW, 2002 525i, The Perfect Machine from Nashville, TN on Sat Jan 24 2015

I bought a 2002 525i a couple of years ago as my weekend, and drive it to and from work from time to time. Unlike Mercedes which I have owned in the past. Mercedes do offer performance, but I feel Mercedes is more known for their luxury. My 2002 BMW 525i offers the best of both worlds... high performance machine that makes the curviest back roads easy to maneuver, but BMW also offers a luxurious look as well. I also feel most Mercedes are simply for mature people in their 60s, 70s, and 80s. Meanwhile the 525i looks great, but offers high performance that makes daily driving effortlessly. I love driving my Bimmer so much I am sometimes bummed out when I arrive home, or at work because I have to climb out of her, and no longer drive. In other words, I could drive my BMW 2002 525i forever. Lastly I feel like when I am driving down the street that my bimmer is simply and extension of my body. I've had no problems with my car other then just giving her routine maintenance etc. She especially loves it when her engine has high performance Mobil 1 Synthetic Oil used. You will not be disappointed with this car, and now that my son will turn 16 soon, eventually this car will be his daily driver. One more note I love the safety features of the Bimmer, and I feel safer knowing all bimmers offer the most state of the art safety features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2