2004 525

Consumer Reviews

2004 BMW 525

$2,223 - $8,731  MSRP Range
2004 BMW 525

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

7 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 BMW 525?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Second and best 5 series I've owned.

by WAM from Fort Worth, TX on Mon Mar 10 2008

There are a couple of complaints I have with this car. First is that BMW will nto sell a service manual for this car which would help us folks who don't mind and kind of enjoy doing our own maintenance. The second is the cupholders. I didn't think that they could have made a worse cupholder than was in my 1999 528i but they certainly did make a worse cupholder. They certainly did not design this car around a big gulp. Other than that this car is an incredibly well manored no compromise daily driver. I put about 30,000 miles a year on a car and drive a BMW on purpose.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Dealership

by jeff from NJ on Wed Apr 30 2014

I bought a 2005 bmw 525i from this dealership from ken I had a great experience. Good customer service and a welcoming environment. ken was very personable and helped us get the best deal for our money. Will be back for our next vehicle purchase

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Ultimate Driving Machine

by Juan M from Ft. Lauderdale, Fl on Tue Jan 07 2014

This is one amazing vehicle! BMW's and this 545i is truly the ultimate driving machine. the best vehicle I have ever owned....hands down! I have had no problems with this car and it drives effortlessly. Great gas mileage and fun to drive at high speeds.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The 2.5L engine is BMW's BEAST

by Tigidy from Columbus, Ohio on Mon Jul 02 2018

If you're looking for a reliable BMW, choose one with the 2.5L engine because it's one of BMW's most dependable. The 525 is both economical and versatile. It won't give you any major issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The ultimate driving machine

by opieatc40 from south dakota on Sun Nov 22 2009

This is my 2nd BMW, yes you pay for the name, but nothing drives or handles as great as a BMW and I have driven nearly everything. Good reliability and good gas mileage, right at 26 mpg on the hwy. The 525i lacks the power at 190hp, but I knew that when I bought it. This car handles like it is on rails....and is fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice

by Yo Mama from Sacramento Area on Wed Apr 25 2007

The 2004 BMW 525i is a very nice looking vehicle. The body style changed in that year and really increased the overall appearance of the vehicle. The Control knob is kind of hard to get used to when you want to operate the systems on the car. Overall a great ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

She has never broken once

by CaliBimmer from Oakland, CA on Tue Aug 22 2017

Obviously everybody has different luck with theirs but for some reason this has been the best BMW we have ever owned. We bought it as a lease return in 2006 with 25k on the dash. It now has 150k and we plan to put another 150k on it. In 11 years of ownership this car has cost us 2000 dollars in maintenance not including oil changes or tires. And again it has never broken down or failed to start. We have owned 3 BMW with this same engine now and this one has been the best.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2004 BMW 525

If you know the BMW 5-Series, you could almost hear the gasp going out when word spread the Bavarian automaker was looking at making a few tweaks and a few tucks for 2004. Change it? Inconceivable. Make it better? Impossible.

How do you improve a ride that was named a 10-Best winner by Car and Driver magazine six years running?

You could almost hear the rumblings from the BMW faithful firing up like a six-cylinder engine.

When it comes to ride, handling and performance, it's no secret the fourth-generation 5-Series has been both the bench and the mark. It has set the standard for luxury sport sedans. It has attracted more and more paying customers every year from 1996 through 2002 - defying convention... Read More