1997 528

Consumer Reviews

1997 BMW 528

$835 - $4,799  MSRP Range
1997 BMW 528

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 BMW 528?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Ultimate Driving Machine.

by the stig from CA on Thu Apr 24 2008

I've owned a mercedes benz and an audi and they just dont measure up. the car handles like a dream and one of my favorite features is the button to turn off the abs and trac control. bmw knows some of us actually like to DRIVE our cars. :D

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable and comfort car!

by Moon from Linden, Nj on Wed Oct 03 2007

I always had a bmw and to be honest i have no problem with em. just one thing to say..you own it and you'll know how good it feelz driving it!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Price

by Elder J from Fayetteville, NC on Fri Apr 05 2013

I am pleasingly surprised that I recieved more than what was advertised regarding my new vehicle. I am happy with my purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable, awsome performance,outstanding car

by BMWFan from Cleveland on Wed Jan 10 2007

Car is next to perfect -no need to buy a new one. Once out of warranty, stay away from dealer service - its too expensive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car to drive.

by Pegleg from BC, Canada on Sat Feb 17 2007

Great handling car at all speeds. Higher mileage cars 100,000 + miles can become a problem. For me every month, give or take I seemed to have spent $500. or more in repairs. Water pump is a poor design and the coffee cups are worse than a Kia.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My first car and I really loved driving it

by Singh from Fairfax, VA on Wed Nov 29 2017

Before buying this car, I already heard from all the people that BMW's are the best to drive. Later on, when I purchased this car I was so happy. The interior is really awesome and even if it's 1997 made. it has a lot of features like the 6 CD-changer, Cruise control, Sunroof, Alloy wheels, Power windows, and driving a 6-cylinder car is really good experience with a lot of power in it. Also, I got some new features like the Bluetooth connectivity for the Music, Calls and USB charging port into my car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ultimate Driving Machine

by BMW-Tim from Windermere, FL on Thu May 11 2017

This purchase was my dream vehicle and has been babied with ultimate care. Hard to part with but due to my medical condition, I can no longer enjoy it, must get it to someone to enjoy. Plenty of quality life left with only 69k low mileage miles so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Ultimate Driving Machine

by 528iOwner from Windermere, FL on Mon Apr 09 2018

Loved this car from the first day of ownership. What a pleasure to drive, and a pinnacle of success. Sad to have to part with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great reliable car

by ALIBOBMAR from Eagle grove on Sat Mar 17 2018

The car met my needs and has got me from point A to point B love this car!!!!! Would recommend this car and cars.com thank you cars.com

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1997 BMW 528

The interface between car and driver is critical to the enjoyment of driving. I was reminded of that last week as I shifted from second to third gear in a manual-transmission version of BMW's 528i.

The 5-series BMW is totally new. It has a totally redesigned body structure, sleek exterior and numerous advancements in weight saving and crash protection. It looks smaller than the car it replaces, even though it is larger. If there's any criticism to be leveled at the new 528i it could be that the exterior may be too conservative, but that's the BMW way.

This is the third one I have sampled, and it may actually be the most appealing all-around configuration, especially considering its base... Read More