2000 528

Consumer Reviews

2000 BMW 528

$650 - $8,270  MSRP Range
2000 BMW 528

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 BMW 528?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

The Best

by Zen333 from Arizona on Wed Jan 09 2008

I bought my 528 preowned with 28K miles. At 70,000 miles I replaced brake pads, tires, etc which cost a bit, but these are reasonable wear and tear parts. I think it is an excellent ride and had great style. Once it is paid off I think it is still worth maintaining because of the basic quality and great ride it offers. This car new can cost over $50 K, even if you spend a few grand every few years to maintain it is still less than a new car payment and you are driving a dynamic car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The ultimate driving machine

by Luxury sport from North Carolina on Thu Jul 05 2007

Nothing runs like a Bimmer and the 528 is no exception. Be sure you have a good mechanic on hand who won't rip you off. My 528 always seemed top have something little wrong with it and the dealer will take you for everything if you are not careful. Horrible cup holders and the radiator needs to be changed at 100k.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My ultimate driver...

by Chris from Lehigh Valley, PA on Tue Nov 29 2011

I bought my 2000 528i (auto transmission) used a few years ago with 78k. I now have over 140k on the vehicle. Mine has the factory M-performance package which includes 17" BBS rims, lower suspension with tighter spring rate, M-steering wheel, blacked out trim and a few other goodies. Although not the M5, this car has a much more aggressive and sporty look than the stock 528k. A very comfortable, but Euro-firm cruiser. On tight curves, this is where the car is just amazing! Very little body roll for a heavy 4 door sedan, and quite stable both at speed (think emergency lane changes) or carving up a nice back-road somewhere. The 2.8 V6 is very smooth, and the engine and transmission make a very pleasant, though muted symphony of mechanical music. Stability control eliminates wheel spin during rain or snow, even under full throttle. Very reassuring during bad weather. Power at full throttle doesn't come on strong until about 4000 rpm, but then it pulls effortlessly to redline and each redline shift sound as if it's a manual transmission! At highway speed, when punching it to pass, the auto trans upshifts very quickly, and never hesitates to find the right gear for strong acceleration. It's the perfect balance of performance and excellent gas mileage. In fact, with 4 people, I can easily get at least 28 mpg highway and that's cruising at 70+ easily. Around town, perhaps 18 mpg. The factory sound system is great, with separate factory subwoofer and separate component speakers, and I really like the orange/red gauge lighting - very easy on the eyes, and looks cool at night! Heated leather seats are very comfortable and hold you nicely during spirited driving. And I love the rain sensing wipers - it's no gimmick, these really work well. The xenon headlamps light the road better than any car I've ever owned - they even level automatically. This car came with power everything, memory seats, telescoping wheel, even the head rests are powered and are set along with your seat/mirror/wheel position preferences. I've replaced brakes, rotors, tires, etc. but that's expected for a driver's car like this. Had to replace the radiator (left me stranded) and cracked spark plugs (again, stuck on road), but besides these two unfortunate experiences, the car has performed very well. Other than this, everything works very well after all these miles. I would definitely recommend this car to others. Once you drive a BMW, you'll not want to own anything else!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

real driving reliability

by stanley from chicago,il on Tue Apr 05 2011

"i bought this vehicle with 70k on it it now has over 100k and simply put it has been the most reliable vehicle i have owned and other than general maintenance like oil and brakes its always started and runs excellent and mine consistently gets gas mileage in the 20s mpg range ive also seen these vehicles at 275k on them and still running so i would highly recommend it to a friend

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

90% off retail and worth every penny!!

by Jiminize1 from Denver, CO on Mon Apr 30 2012

I have had this car for about a month now and absolutely love it! Super nice ride quality, excellent build and fit/finish. Everyone is correct about keeping up on maintenance. Overall, best car I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super Car in most areas, costly

by Rand-o from Dallas, Texas on Tue Jan 09 2007

great ride, excellent handling, no problems, interrior could be better in some areas fabalious car and I would own one forever, but I am a truck guy desperatly!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

BMW 2000 528

by crippler from lebanon on Mon Jul 31 2006

A nice exterior design with a strong motor, its comfort isn't taxi material, but the combined style and power is enough for the money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car

by Jake the Great from Meridian Idaho on Wed Dec 13 2017

BMW has made a lot of great cars. This generation of 5 series is iconic and a true BMW. These cars are quiet, fast, powerful and they look great. The cost to own has been very low, the car has very few mechanical issues. It's 19 years old and still solid and reliable. A great ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Car !!

by Sports Car Enthusiast from on Mon Dec 15 2008

I have owned my BMW 528i two years back. It has 85,000 miles and this car has been a dream to own and drive. It has loads of safety features and drives like a car should drive. It's a solid, responsive, road- hugging blast. The inline 6 is throaty and powerful although you won't be pinned to your seat like the V8 540i. Love the leather seats, the electric telescope and tilt. Easy to maintain if you have any car knowledge Favorite Features Interior materials are first rate, easy to clean and to keep looking new. Front and side air-bags, traction control sensors and other safety features make this a car you can feel quite safe driving in today's heavy traffic and in poor weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The ultimate driving experience!

by Andrzej from Chicago, Illinois on Tue Oct 03 2006

I purchesed my 528I at BMW dealership about nine months ago with 59,000 miles on it. Ever since I did not have a major problem with this vehicle, except regular maintnance like: oil changes or worn brake pads. Unlike other cars, the 528I has many standart fetures like: Dynamic Stbility Control, Automanual transmision, Interval Monitoring System, Anti-theft, and speed sensitive steering, and all of them work excellent. What makes this car exceptional is steering, (because it is what struck me the most between beemer and other cars). As soon as you get behind the wheel of BMW, you can tell that it has stiffer and more accurate steering than other cars, which are equiped in dengorouselly delicate and too sensitive steering assist. The 528I is an exceptional car with unique standart fetures, and I would definetelly recommend it to a friend!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2000 BMW 528

You'd think it would be a hard sell.

Too many boomers and Gen-Xers grew up traveling in a leviathan of a station wagon, with large side decals that resembled wood only if you were almost totally blind. That was enough to make one never want a wagon again.

So why are all the luxury automakers coming out with wagons?

Call it the sport-utility backlash.

Many people find the idea of clamoring up into a truck not their idea of elegance, yet they want the hauling ability.

Of course, any ideas that you'll be hauling really serious loads is laughable given the BMW's sloped rear window, which limits cargo space.

But this is about image as much as hauling. Besides, the hauling this wagon... Read More