2012 528

Consumer Reviews

2012 BMW 528

$8,275 - $18,275  MSRP Range
2012 BMW 528

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

40 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 BMW 528?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Char car from Little Rock, Ar on Tue May 29 2012

This is the most impressive car I have ever owned. It has an excellent, silky smooth ride; extremely comfortable and versatile for both me and my husband. Most people would probably focus on the performance aspects of a BMW, and understandly so. But we wanted a performance car that also gave us great economy and comfort. We love the turbo charged 4 cylinder engine for combining the two. Luxury, performance, style, and comfort. Terrific.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just Awesome

by mwh@kukui from Irvine, CA on Mon Jul 02 2012

Upgraded from a 2009 A4. This is an absolutely sweet car. Performance and elegance synthesized into one. It's definitely the best car I've owned. The 2.0 engine is quite misleading. It performs much better than advertised. No regrets!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice car

by BigK from Washington DC on Mon Jan 23 2012

Moved from a 3 series to a 528. The car is packed with technology and fuel economy improvements (528i). The new engine is a 4cyl but more powerful than the 6cyl it replaced. Overall the car is great. Best in its class.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car yet.

by Skip from Dallas, TX on Tue Jan 12 2016

This is my 3rd BMW and my second 5 series. Car is just the right size, is super quiet, and has a great ride. It's also economical and surprisingly quick for a turbo 4 cylinder engine. Takes a little while to master the I-drive & navigation system, though. I expect to drive this car for many happy years. Buy one, you won't regret it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very economical

by Alex from Houston on Mon Aug 20 2018

I would buy another one in a few months and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good used car or a new one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't top this

by Cruising Dude from Idaho on Thu Nov 24 2011

Sweet ride; excellent combination of sophisticated luxury, comfort, power, handling and economic value. Excellent gas mileage while giving the power whenever needed. I absolutely love my 528i x-drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 BMW 528i x drive

by bateschas from Gilbert, AZ on Sat Apr 29 2017

This is an awesome vehicle. i highly recommend it. it performs well, excellent traction and great mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Rapidfire

by Rapidfire from on Wed Mar 01 2017

So far excellent well maintained and a very clean car it drives well and the performance is great, it turns heads nearly everywhere I go I believe it was a great buy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST ENJOYABLE BMW WEVE OWNED

by bateschas from Phoenix, AZ on Mon May 08 2017

Ive owned three European brands that are similar to the BMW 528ix, MB E350 4-matic and Audi A6 Quattro. I enjoy the BMW the most. It seems to perform better than the other 2 and is much more fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The BMW is a joy to look at and drive!

by Hoopers garage from Baltimore, MD on Thu May 03 2018

Several friends recommended BMW for my next ride. The 2012+ turbo 4 offers a great balance of power and fuel economy. I also like the new styling touches in this sixth gen car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2012 BMW 528


Reviewing a luxury car often sparks an internal battle. It’s difficult to admit (without those all-too-familiar pangs of parental guilt) that I really do like something that is more refined, a little more lavish and a lot more expensive.

The 2012 BMW 5 Series is all those things, and it can fill a practical role with family-friendly attributes like a spacious cabin, improved fuel economy and a large cargo area. How’s that for justification?

The real draw to any BMW is the driving experience, and for parents who love to drive, the 528i will be appealing. I’ve been spoiled by a BMW before and was looking forward to my weeklong test drive. Surprisingly, I didn’t fall in love... Read More