2012 528

Consumer Reviews

2012 BMW 528

$10,066 - $19,894  MSRP Range
2012 BMW 528

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

28 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 BMW 528?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Char car from Little Rock, Ar on Tue May 29 2012

This is the most impressive car I have ever owned. It has an excellent, silky smooth ride; extremely comfortable and versatile for both me and my husband. Most people would probably focus on the performance aspects of a BMW, and understandly so. But we wanted a performance car that also gave us great economy and comfort. We love the turbo charged 4 cylinder engine for combining the two. Luxury, performance, style, and comfort. Terrific.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice car

by BigK from Washington DC on Mon Jan 23 2012

Moved from a 3 series to a 528. The car is packed with technology and fuel economy improvements (528i). The new engine is a 4cyl but more powerful than the 6cyl it replaced. Overall the car is great. Best in its class.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just Awesome

by mwh@kukui from Irvine, CA on Mon Jul 02 2012

Upgraded from a 2009 A4. This is an absolutely sweet car. Performance and elegance synthesized into one. It's definitely the best car I've owned. The 2.0 engine is quite misleading. It performs much better than advertised. No regrets!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't top this

by Cruising Dude from Idaho on Thu Nov 24 2011

Sweet ride; excellent combination of sophisticated luxury, comfort, power, handling and economic value. Excellent gas mileage while giving the power whenever needed. I absolutely love my 528i x-drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car yet.

by Skip from Dallas, TX on Tue Jan 12 2016

This is my 3rd BMW and my second 5 series. Car is just the right size, is super quiet, and has a great ride. It's also economical and surprisingly quick for a turbo 4 cylinder engine. Takes a little while to master the I-drive & navigation system, though. I expect to drive this car for many happy years. Buy one, you won't regret it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

BMW will not stand behind their product

by Mike from Minnesota on Tue Apr 05 2016

At 90,000 the timing chain starting rubbing on the guides. It cost $6,400 to repair. The timing chain on other cars is designed to last the life of the car, not 90,000 miles. BMW did redesign timing chain in 2015, but would not repair my car. Its an expensive car to purchase, and even more expensive to maintain. I will never purchase another BMW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst Car I ever had

by SV from Atlanta on Fri Oct 28 2016

Bought well maintained 2012 BMW 5 series. Got transmission fail for no reason on 57k miles. Repair cost - 6500$. Think well before get this junk out of warranty!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

You'll Enjoy the 528 BMW

by silicon valley5 from santa clara,ca on Fri Jan 16 2015

It is very comfortable. I ended up naming my car. His name is Bishop. Great car. When you put it on sport mode, he let's you know he is in charge. Yahoo. The mileage is you put it on eco pro is fantastic for having this bigger vehicle. Take a test drive, you will see what I mean. Happy to be a BMW owner

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Heated seats

by Batch from Hutto on Tue Feb 12 2013

We have a 2008 528 but it doesn't have heated seats so we purchased a 2012 with them. Other newer features include the back up camera, park distance, improved cup holders and 36 mpg on the way home. It does not have the comfort access (not needing the key to unlock) and we miss it. It's a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Car

by BMW Girl from Sicklerville, NJ on Sat Aug 29 2015

The ride is great of course and it is hard to believe it is a 4 cylinder car with the power it possesses. It is extremely comfortable and a pleasure to drive. The gas mileage is an added plus, This is my 3rd BMW but it is my first purchase of a 5 series and like the rest, I love the performance of this car. This is the car me.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2012 BMW 528


Reviewing a luxury car often sparks an internal battle. It's difficult to admit (without those all-too-familiar pangs of parental guilt) that I really do like something that is more refined, a little more lavish and a lot more expensive.

The 2012 BMW 5 Series is all those things, and it can fill a practical role with family-friendly attributes like a spacious cabin, improved fuel economy and a large cargo area. How's that for justification?

The real draw to any BMW is the driving experience, and for parents who love to drive, the 528i will be appealing. I've been spoiled by a BMW before and was looking forward to my weeklong test drive. Surprisingly, I didn't fall in love with the 528i, though the... Read More