Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2001 530

Consumer Reviews

2001 BMW 530

$1,969 - $6,633  MSRP Range
2001 BMW 530

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

13 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 BMW 530?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Sweeetttt !!!

by BMWLVR from Atlanta, GA. on Mon Jul 26 2010

I recently bought a 2001 530i with Sport pkg. and have never looked back. This car does everything just right - goes like heck, stops on a dime, and everything in between. It does it all so perfectly you just can't explain it. You have to drive one to experience the difference.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Timeless design with impeccable road manners

by Arozk from Stonington, CT on Mon May 10 2010

I have a 525i as well but the 530i is more powerful. However, it has had a few suspension issues while the 525i has not. This car is glued to the road, is quick, econimical, and a delight to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun sports sedan family car in my garage

by Caraficionado from Troy,OH on Mon Feb 13 2012

My wife and I searched for a 5 series E39 for 6 weeks and finally found what we were looking for - a 2001 530i Anthracite Metallic with black leather, 5 speed manual that got 30.5 MPG on our 2 hour trip home. The technology in the car is advanced for its age, but behind the current times. However, the handling, brakes, performance, comfort level and looks make an ideal package. Quite a value for a car with 132,000 miles (you would never know it). It had a new clutch and new tires and runs like a new car. We are completely satisfied and would recommend a private dealer who specializes in upscale foreign cars who knows their business like the dealer we found. They had the car 5 days and gave us $500 off for being the first to make an offer. That matched Edmund's valuation exactly. Take it from me, take your time, look hard, test drive many, and do your CarFax. You will make a better decision. But don't tary too long on a good deal as they don't last long. Later.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun to drive I have ever own

by Le Grand from West Palm Beach, Florida on Tue May 22 2018

The BMW E39 (mine is a 530i) is quite possibly the world's most enjoyable car. I have had mine for many years and it is still a joy to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid German ultimate driving machine

by Buddhizibi from Herndon, VA on Mon Jul 09 2018

I have had 4 vehicles from this generation and every single of them performed very well. They all had high mileage but kept me running even in the harshest of conditions. Driving experience is in another level for these cars. Currently own another 530i from a later generation and still loving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned, by far!!

by LeeMYM from Albuquerque, NM on Tue Jun 20 2017

Amazingly sporty, fast, smooth ride and so reliable!! Such a truly fine car and it flys! Minor maintenance, tires, nothing major for 5 years, and it already had 90,000 miles!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best handling vehicle I have ever owned

by ORLANDO from Baltimore on Mon Feb 03 2014

after 11 different BMWs this has been the most efficient and best handling vehicle I have owned yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Truly the Ultimate Driving Machine

by Trinibassman from Brooklyn, NY on Sun Feb 25 2007

I have always like BMW's but now that I own one I must say that is it the ultimate driving machine. From the low end torque to the superb steering and handling - it's just amazing. I live in New York so that its heavy stop and go traffic and that does a number on your gas mileage but on the highway you can drive a comfortable 80mph and still get 28mpg. There is no mistaking the look either, you drive a BMW and everyone notices - the angel eyes heavenly (mind the pun). The interior can be thought of as a little bland for such an upscale car but all the buttons are well within reach and prove themselves to be rather functional. Overall the car is excellent!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2001 530I

by Petlover from Wisconsin on Fri Feb 19 2010

I have previously owned Acura-Legend and Lexus, Bimmer is the best in overall handling & performance, got a lot of head turner, but it is expansive when it needs to be repaired.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Do Indpenant Inspection

by UnHappy Customer from Louisville, KY on Fri Jan 04 2013

The car has any issues, malfunction fuel pump, noisy heater blower motor, popping noise in front wheels, poor alignment, rattling driver door. Total out of pocket repair bill $ 1,500.00. If you are travelling long distance to pick up a car, do independent inspection before picking up the car. Once you leave the car lot, you are on your own.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2