2005 530

Consumer Reviews

2005 BMW 530

$4,688 - $8,936  MSRP Range
2005 BMW 530

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 BMW 530?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very dependable and comfortable car

by Stephanie from Draper, Utah on Sat Mar 03 2018

I've owned this car for the past 6 years and put nearly 100k miles on it. The only repair issues I've had is replacing the leaking gaskets. If you decide to purchase this model BMW be sure you have an honest mechanic. I noticed antifreeze in the oil reservoir and was almost certain I had a blown head gasket. When I took it to my mechanic I was pleasantly surprised to find the problem was just a bad oil filter housing which cost only a couple hundred dollars to fix.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Much more reliable car than expected

by BMWFan from on Fri May 12 2017

When people wants to buy BMW, the worry is it will have lots of problem and costly to maintain. I owned this 2005 BMW 530i since 2011 and have not had any issue with the car. The car is very reliable. It has similar feel as my 2015 BMW. I think it has great engine, much more comfortable car than any car priced in its range. It is true the oil change is more than regular car, but please also remember that the oil last 3 times longer than regular car. The transmission and break flush will cost more but it is roughly $200 more than regular car for every 30K miles. This is a performance car. It is reliable, very comfortable and great value for the money

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

She loves is the most.

by Impressed from Indian Wells, Ca on Sun Oct 29 2006

I purchase my wife a 2005 530 a year ago. We have had MB, Lexus, Posche and previous BMWs. This car however, is my wife's favorite car of all times. Now that is saying something. She talked about it so much I decided to take it on our next trip instead of my suv which we normally take. I understand now what she was talking about. The handling is unreal and the faster you go the better the car feels. I am going to the dealer and test drive the new X5 and if it drives half as good as the 530 it will be in my garage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW best on the road

by Gary from Palm Springs, Ca on Tue Sep 18 2007

Quality, reliablility and handling make this an outstanding automobile. Once I replaced the run flats with standard tires it became a true BMW. Run flats were hard, loud and had a major negetive effect on the handling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by carter from chicago il on Sat Sep 25 2010

great car reliable nice and fast has everithing you nees great sound sistem nice look and super confortable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

ride harsh, i drive no good, nav. no good,

by mike hunt from corona del mar, ca on Sat Sep 23 2006

seats are terrible, ride is harsh, nav is awful, reseat passengers no knee room, AC poor. Don't buy because you see a lot of these on the road they are not good riding cars with gobs of design problems drink holders are backwards, zero storage.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY GOOD SERVICE

by BEAMER from ARIZONA on Sat Oct 08 2011

GOOD SMOOTH RIDE,RELIABLE,STEADY,FAST,SAFE,COMFORTABLE,STYLISH,STRONG,DEPENDABLE AND A UNIQUE CAR.STURDY IN SHARP TURNS.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the best car I have ever owned.

by Smithfield Smoker from Smithfield, North Carolina on Thu Jul 27 2017

After twelve years, and 165,000 miles, I am still driving this vehicle. The performance, in terms of handling and acceleration are excellent. It's reliability speaks for itself. Within the past year I have had some system failures i.e. starter, back hatch latch, otherwise, maintenance has been pretty much limited to scheduled maintenance. The only design issue I would note are: the cup holders are flimsy ( German's don't understand why Americans need them); wind noise is more noticeable than its competitors; and, the seals around the rear window began showing signs of deterioration pretty early; although there integrity has never been compromised. If I could find a brand new replacement, I would buy it. BMW's should provide performance with classic design. New versions are too gimmicky with electronics.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

530i is a superb car and you can go wrong...

by glori30175 from myrtle beach on Sat Apr 08 2017

Love my 525i and its a very attractive and comfy car...i would buy another one in a heartbeat.................

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1