2010 535

Consumer Reviews

2010 BMW 535

$6,016 - $17,128  MSRP Range
2010 BMW 535

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

31 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2010 BMW 535?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Hi cost of ownership

by Ramses718 from Staten Island, NY on Thu Jun 27 2013

This car is pretty finicky. Everything on it is expensive to repair or replace. When it runs right its an awesome machine to drive. The acceleration and handling are right on the money. The ride can be a little rough, but thats because its a sporty car. If you shop around look for one with all the options, you will enjoy it that much more.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car and lot fun to Drive

by rockiee80 from Atlanta, GA on Mon Sep 10 2012

If you are looking for a car thats lot fun and pumps your adrenaline then you should go for this car. This car is 50% down compared to the retail value and you would be better than driving any other car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Only 500 miles

by capt123 from Washington, DC on Wed Sep 09 2009

Having driven this beautiful machine for only 2 weeks I have limited experience. However, this car is quick, tight, beautiful and pure pleasure to drive. For a big sedan it's performance-both acceleration, braking and gas mileage (23 mpg!) is remarkable. I ordered the M package with incredible seats - paddle shifting-the new 2010 navigation is a huge improvement (hard drive now) and improved I-drive buttons. I love this car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by Prince from Maryland on Mon Oct 29 2012

Reliable and excellent. High Performance. Most of all, never fails. It dependable and its worth the money

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Ever

by 535 wagon fan from Mpls,MN on Wed Nov 02 2011

This 2010 535 xdrive wagon is superb. Performance ,handling, acceleration,luxury are all there making this vehicle the best I've ever owned. It's fun to drive and it's also a great family vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 535i

by Steve N. from Los Angeles, Ca on Sun Nov 01 2015

This car is an incredible car. The performance has exceeded my expectations time and time again. The interior and exterior is sleek and luxurious. I'm a 20 year old that's turning heads in this 5 series. There is only one thing that kind of bugs me about the car, it's a lot heavier than any of my past cars. BUT it's definitely manageable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

family car that everyone enjoys

by BMW newbie from alexandria, va on Tue Aug 19 2014

The backseat is big, and the car has enough room for a 6 ft person in the front with a large car seat behind them...powerful drive and comfortable. Not alot of buttons, and streamlines alot of features in the idrive. The GPS in car is better than mobile phone apps. I love my car. High ownership costs, so don't shy away from maintenance package.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has many issues

by JalopyJake from Sparkman on Wed Jan 10 2018

I've owned the car for a few months and have made 2 payments whilst it was still running. The car drives and handles like a dream, but electrical gremlins are eating me alive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Sport Wagon actually WORTH 60-70,000 ?

by MB Expatriot from Nashville, TN on Thu Apr 21 2011

I am a wagon fanatic. I realize that places my credibility in question at the outset, but there are more than a few of us. When I heard that BMW was discontinuing the 5 series wagon exports to the U.S. I RAN to the nearest BMW dealer, traded in my E500 wagon and ordered a 535i x-drive. I have major stuff to haul around, and I refuse to drive a modified Chevy pickup in order to move it from the house to the boat. I also have an 15 year old dog, grandchildren, a beautiful wife with a Home Depot card (that should be Platinum) and an antique F-100 restoration project in progress - just stuff!! But, when I'm not hauling things around, this is a beautiful, capable, soul-stirring luxury car that will outrun my '99 SL500. I will baby this car and keep it forever - because there will be no more. Shame on BMW or the American market or whomever is to blame for the demise of this vehicle. I wish BMW's were more mechanical and less "gadgety". I wish they would take the "I-crash" and come up with a better idea. I wish the shifter linkage was mechanical and not the "fly-by-wire" system. But I also wish you could take an SUV for a fast lap around Laguna Seca. You can't - but this wagon lives for the opportunity. You think it's expensive? Price a GMC Denali.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

by capt123 from Washington, DC on Wed Jan 20 2010

I got the M-package (fake M5) - and I love this car. Smooth and refined yet crazy fast and aggressive when you need the speed. The new navigation and i-drive is a huge improvement -driving in the down town DC they have the 3 dimensional google map outlines of the buildings! Too cool. On long distance drives I can get 30 mpg - around town - some hot roding around 23 mpg. It is a great car and I am loving every minute of driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2010 BMW 535

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2009 about the 2009 BMW 535. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2010, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

In the world of luxury station wagons, there isn't much sense in trying to justify the price tag. Normally, a wagon is a practical choice for families looking for utility with improved mileage versus a similarly sized SUV. If, however, you're shopping the all-wheel-drive 535i xDrive or its competitors — the Audi A6 Avant and Mercedes-Benz E-Class wagon — you clearly have an entirely different set of priorities.

Those probably include a high level of luxury... Read More