2013 535

Consumer Reviews

2013 BMW 535

$15,347 - $26,199  MSRP Range
2013 BMW 535

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

22 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2013 BMW 535?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A great upgrade

by Always GM from Northern Iowa on Sat Dec 01 2012

I had tried to find info about new Lexus GS but Lexus Web Site was difficult for me to manuever around. So were the Lexus dealership web sites. So the reviews I found kept saying BMW set the standard and others were catching up. I found lots of good info at BMW web sites so I looked, was impressed and bought.The 535xi filled all my needs and then some. It is a joy to drive. Lots of technology, lots of safety features. It's a winner for me! No regrets.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Comfortable Ride with Power

by New BMW Owner from Southern California on Mon May 27 2013

I purchased my 535i about 2 1/2 weeks ago and are very pleased for the most part. It is a comfortable, soft, smooth ride and plenty of power in any of the drive modes. I love the styling of this car except the rear end. To me, the rear- end looks ordinary; much like a Honda or several other cars at a much lower price point. The cabin is beautiful and very functional, but you have to play with it to fully appreciate what you have. Lots and Lots of options and fairly intuitive once you understand the basis operation of the Idrive computer for Navigation, Multimedia, Telephone and a host of other options that make this car fun to play with. Especially a guy like me that loves gadgets. I also love the parking distance sensors, the rear camera, and ability to open the trunk without physically touching the car. I haven't decided yet if I like the feature where your car turns off when stopped at a light to save gas. You can turn it off at any time, but it is just weird getting used to this. . Only (3) other negative comments. The side mirrors are small and don't give you a great view. Also you tend to rub on the rubber trim around the driver's door everytime you get in the car unless you purposely enter by sitting down and swinging both legs in. I suspect this rubber trim will become an issue likely wearing out in a few years unless you are careful. Finally, no spare tire. I am told you can only expect about 30K from the run flat tires at most and they are about $ 1,800 to replace. You can find non-run flat tires for about $ 700 -$ 800 for aftermarket rubber.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Car some quirks seems larger than it really i

by chaunceyoj from Connecticut on Sat Jan 04 2014

Bought this car, a 4 wheel drive type, in early July of 2013. Have owned Audi's for over 18 years. Decided on a change as the Audi's all seemed to carry over the same interior set ups.Looked at MB E 350 with sport package, looked to much like A car with add ons.BMW started with a sporty base look. Now for the BMW, it has the "M" trim but the 300 hp twin turbo motor. The interior is well appointed,however the display control is a bit complicatetd. These are some of the other things that I have noted. The garage door opener buttons are located on the rear view mirror. If you are not careful you will move the mirror and readjust. Suggestion, put the buttons on the overhead, or small buttons, like a Volvo, in the sunshade. The "M" trim features a low front "spoiler". While the car has a camera and warning system, it is not working low enough when parking head in to a curb, resulting in scraping the underside of the spoiler. I do not like the run flat tires. The car has 19 inch wheels, and after hitting a pot hole, the tire did not go flat but resulted in a :Bubble:. Service intervals are 15,000 miles according to a notice on the display.Seems long. 4 years full warrenty, 15,000 miles will take you over that. Last point, my Audi's and a 1999 MB SLK all have lights that stay on at night when comming home and shutting down, for a preselected time. They also have the same feature when approaching the car at night. The BMW needs to be locked in order to do that at night, and the comming on light is just for the interior, thus not lighting a path. The dealer could not figure that out. Lastly, the engine shuts down a stop lights to "Save Gas". There is an overide, and I use it, starters should not be used all the time. Milage 18 in town, 28 on highway

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most fun car I have ever owned!

by BMW Enthusiast from Cicero, Indiana on Tue Mar 26 2013

Still learning all the features but that's part of the fun! Rides like silk and handles will ample responsiveness! Love the sleek design and classy interior. It's just a joy to drive out to my appoints in this 5 Series BMW!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever been lucky to own

by bmw2013 from Cincinnati, OH on Fri Jun 29 2018

One of the best sports sedans ever. Practical car for the family but definitely a timeless powerful sports sedan, a German engineering perfection. Pure driving machine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 535i

by Dolce from Louisville on Sat Jun 23 2018

Great combination of style, comfort, performance, and drivability. Outstanding gas mileage for a vehicle of this size and power. The six cylinder turbo charged engine is all you need in this class. Very reliable and classic looks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars I have ever owned

by Roger P. from Beacon Falls, Ct. on Sun May 13 2018

I have rode in and drove a few BMW?s but owning one is a whole new experience for me. I have to tell you my BMW 5 series is the most comfortable car I have ever owned. The car feels very solid, and responsive. I feel very confident in its power and the way that it handles. Overall this is a solid, great looking car inside and out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the best car I have owned.

by JSee from Columbus, Oh on Sat Dec 09 2017

This car is definitely a car of great value. It has meet every one of my expectations as well as surprised me by its features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car!

by nolD from on Sat Jun 03 2017

When driving, the BMW 535 I feels like a cloud, but at the same time could be used on the track! so much legroom you'd think you were in a 7 series!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very good craft

by iC from CA on Tue May 16 2017

I like most of the aspects of this car: the design, handling, power. The only cons would be breaking distance and, definitely, the navigation (the route algorithm)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3