Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2014 535d

Consumer Reviews

2014 BMW 535d

$18,008 - $31,792  MSRP Range
2014 BMW 535d

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

22 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 BMW 535d?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by 535d Proud from Plymouth, MA on Wed Aug 27 2014

I picked up my xdrive 535d in April and have logged about 7000 miles so far. I love this car! It is a fantastic balance of performance and economy. I've averaged 32.2mpg in roughly a 50/50 mix of city and highway driving. I've done a couple of longer highway trips that yielded 49.2 and 48.9mpg! Outstanding! My one gripe is my own fault...having moved from a Volvo I should have gone with the seat upgrade. This is my first diesel and I've found the transition seamless. Loving the 2 stops for fuel a month vs 4 stops in my last car. I've actually paid less for diesel on a few occasions than the price of premium. If you can swing the price go for it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Such a sweet choice

by Ataway from Orange County, CA on Mon Jan 12 2015

Plenty of power (i.e. torque), and great fuel economy too? How is it possible! Well, diesel is the answer apparently. I spent a long weekend with one of these as a loaner and really fell in love with the powertrain...motor and transmission working in such great unison. Handling also great for such a large sedan. That said, rear seat legroom is a bit cramped behind my chair, and I'm just 5'11"... But really is a wonderfully put together vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2015 BMW 535D

by George from Des Plaines IL on Sun Sep 04 2016

Never gasoline engine again. Excellent performance and MPG. Usually my road trips ended with MPG between 38 and 40 i have never seen that on six cylinders engines.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2014 535d

by John C from Humble, TX on Mon Apr 14 2014

Very impressed with my new 535d. Performance is everything I expected from a BMW. Very surprise with the performance of the Diesel engine, torque from 0-60 very good, with outstanding fuel mileage averaging above 37 MPG per tank full.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Home Run Car!

by Car Man on Fri Nov 24 2017

This car does everything right. Interior and exterior styling is pure class. The low end torque from the 3.0 L diesel is incredible yet it averages low 30’s mpg. Forget everything you’ve ever experienced about diesels (noise, fumes, slow, etc). This car is solid and very quiet. Rear seat leg room is a little tight with the front seats all the way back. Adding Diesel Exhaust Fluid every 9000 Miles is as easy as filling your washer fluid. Plus, the 600 Mile range means less fuel stops.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

German Engineering at it Best BMW

by BrucknerBMW from Chesterfield VA on Fri Apr 13 2018

Buying a used vehicle is risky but we have had some good experiences. Why because we have a BMW Service Department that can take a tremendously designed vehicle and make it last for as long as you want. My wife's 2004 BMW 5 Series is still beautiful and stylish and well maintained and we will not get rid of it even though it lacks some high end options and has over 230,000 miles. Our newer used car a 2014 BMW 535d is an even nicer car with almost every option available. After running it through the Service Department it has zero defects mechanically and we expect to drive that car for another decade or two.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car

by Bruno535d from Portland, OR on Mon Mar 12 2018

This is my first BMW, and I could not be happier. The drive and feel of this car is terrific. I test drove both the gas and diesel versions, and prefer the power feel of the diesel over the gas version.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not going back to gas

by BMW convert from Providence, RI on Thu Nov 30 2017

I am in love with this car, great mpg, I smile when I pump diesel. I wanted the 4 cylinder gas mileage but six cylinder performance and this is the one! I average around 33 mpg in all around driving. My girlfriend drove it and calls it a rocket ship, truly great power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

39mpg @75mph

by Bumble535d from Statesville, NC on Mon Jul 17 2017

Great fun in this high performance diesel! As responsive as 535i, and so quiet that all you can hear is the tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable.

by Max from Edmond, OK on Tue Jan 16 2018

Outstanding engine. Great interior. I little pricey. High depreciation. I don’t like the run flat tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2014 BMW 535d

The BMW 535d is a highly capable midsize sport sedan made better by the power and efficiency of its new diesel engine — but adding options quickly spends any money saved by choosing an alternative-fuel powertrain.

Diesel-powered luxury cars are huge business in Europe, where government subsidies and tax structure make diesel a preferred fuel in dozens of countries. They're starting to become more common in the U.S., as well, as German automakers slowly introduce them to a curious American audience that's coming to realize they can have both performance and fuel efficiency. For 2014, BMW is offering the 535d, its midsize, rear-wheel-drive luxury sedan powered by a turbocharged, inline-six-cylinder... Read More