1998 540

Consumer Reviews
1998 BMW 540

Change Vehicle
4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

bullet proof engine and transmission.

by Cappy from on June 13, 2011

This car is a pleasure to shift, drive (like on rails) and has all the best equipment to enjoy with reliability and safety.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Vehicle

by Bimmer from on June 1, 2010

I have the same vehicle as advertised here, even down to the same paint color. I have driven my 540i 80,000 miles in the last 2.5 years and have only replaced the tires. It is a comfortable, responsive, and fast vehicle that always turns heads. The car has a solid feel and safety features that really add to your level of well being should you ever get in an accident.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Spectacular car, comfortable and fast

by Ray from on January 13, 2011

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned. Since I have 3 children to me a safe, reliable, and comfortable car is a necessity for them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Redsoxfreak from Templeton, CA on February 18, 2010

I've only had this car a week so I can't comment on reliability but it is a pure joy to drive. Comfortable but still handles like it's on rails, had planned on upgrading suspension but now I don't think I'll need to. I had a 96 vette and this can run with it and hold 4 people comfortably. Love this car. If you want a family car but also love the joy of driving this is the car for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The best car I owned

by Danny Boy from Rhode Island on July 21, 2011

When i first bought this car it had 63,000 miles on it I changed the water pump radiator transmission fluid brakes and rotors 3 years later still runs good burns no oil I have 125,000 still runs well great car lots of power great on the highway purrs at 80 plus.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Easy to maintain

by TokudaH from Memphis, TN on June 21, 2017

E39 body is known as the last mechanical 5 series. The 1998 540i engine (code name M62B44) is really easy to care and very reliable because this model does not have vanos, also related things such as timing chain, oil separator are more reliable than later version V8 (M62TUB44). Also, the cylinder coating is updated from previous V8 (M60) which makes this engine almost bullet proof. Mine has 6 speed manual transmission, thus not a possible problem with transmission. However, due to the age of car, a lot of small plastic and rubber parts were needed to be replaced and also the quality? of plastic parts are somewhat different with modern cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Performance.

by Tony T. from Los Angeles, Ca. on July 15, 2009

Solid performance, quality materials and workmanship, sporty appearance along with prestige; the 540i has resilience in style and remains forever the premium motorcar.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

quick and stable the ultimate driving machine

by pat from Rhode Island on April 27, 2007

One of the fastest cars around not too many cars can beat it ! Comfortable stylish and fun to drive makes this a really good car to own .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 540i

by JImbo from on July 17, 2009

Very nice car fun to drive, very fast on top end. Handles great, will conitune to buy BMW's very nice for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth and fast, best car we have owned

by BMWdriver from Kansas City, MO on August 5, 2007

Silent, fast and smooth to drive far above anything else - buy one and enjoy for yourself! Great looks, performance and value with BMW reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1998 BMW 540