Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1998 540

Consumer Reviews

1998 BMW 540

$3,000 - $3,000  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 BMW 540?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

bullet proof engine and transmission.

by Cappy from on Mon Jun 13 2011

This car is a pleasure to shift, drive (like on rails) and has all the best equipment to enjoy with reliability and safety.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Vehicle

by Bimmer from on Tue Jun 01 2010

I have the same vehicle as advertised here, even down to the same paint color. I have driven my 540i 80,000 miles in the last 2.5 years and have only replaced the tires. It is a comfortable, responsive, and fast vehicle that always turns heads. The car has a solid feel and safety features that really add to your level of well being should you ever get in an accident.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Spectacular car, comfortable and fast

by Ray from on Thu Jan 13 2011

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned. Since I have 3 children to me a safe, reliable, and comfortable car is a necessity for them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Redsoxfreak from Templeton, CA on Thu Feb 18 2010

I've only had this car a week so I can't comment on reliability but it is a pure joy to drive. Comfortable but still handles like it's on rails, had planned on upgrading suspension but now I don't think I'll need to. I had a 96 vette and this can run with it and hold 4 people comfortably. Love this car. If you want a family car but also love the joy of driving this is the car for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The best car I owned

by Danny Boy from Rhode Island on Thu Jul 21 2011

When i first bought this car it had 63,000 miles on it I changed the water pump radiator transmission fluid brakes and rotors 3 years later still runs good burns no oil I have 125,000 still runs well great car lots of power great on the highway purrs at 80 plus.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Easy to maintain

by TokudaH from Memphis, TN on Wed Jun 21 2017

E39 body is known as the last mechanical 5 series. The 1998 540i engine (code name M62B44) is really easy to care and very reliable because this model does not have vanos, also related things such as timing chain, oil separator are more reliable than later version V8 (M62TUB44). Also, the cylinder coating is updated from previous V8 (M60) which makes this engine almost bullet proof. Mine has 6 speed manual transmission, thus not a possible problem with transmission. However, due to the age of car, a lot of small plastic and rubber parts were needed to be replaced and also the quality? of plastic parts are somewhat different with modern cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Performance.

by Tony T. from Los Angeles, Ca. on Wed Jul 15 2009

Solid performance, quality materials and workmanship, sporty appearance along with prestige; the 540i has resilience in style and remains forever the premium motorcar.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

quick and stable the ultimate driving machine

by pat from Rhode Island on Fri Apr 27 2007

One of the fastest cars around not too many cars can beat it ! Comfortable stylish and fun to drive makes this a really good car to own .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 540i

by JImbo from on Fri Jul 17 2009

Very nice car fun to drive, very fast on top end. Handles great, will conitune to buy BMW's very nice for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth and fast, best car we have owned

by BMWdriver from Kansas City, MO on Sun Aug 05 2007

Silent, fast and smooth to drive far above anything else - buy one and enjoy for yourself! Great looks, performance and value with BMW reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 BMW 540

If F. Scott Fitzgerald were writing The Great Gatsby today instead of the 1920s, he surely would have put the wealthy, yet tragically flawed main character, Jay Gatsby, in the BMW 540i Sport. At $55,170, it's truly the plaything of the rich and famous - and brainless, says Anita.

He: You know, sometimes you drive me crazy, Miss Daisy. This is truly one of the finest cars we've driven in the past year, and all you do is complain, complain, complain. Virtually everything about the 540i is so exceptional - from its superb twin-cam 4.4-liter V-8 to one of the world's great touring suspensions - about the only thing you can criticize is how relevant or useful this BMW may be on American roads.

She: You... Read More