Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2017 540

Consumer Reviews

2017 BMW 540

$41,221 - $58,195  MSRP Range
2017 BMW 540

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

18 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 BMW 540?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This is my third BMW. They all have been very rea

by MarshallA from Mooresville, NC. on Mon Jul 24 2017

Very comfortable ride. 32MPG on the highway. The 540 I purchased had the M package. Very stylish looking.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car with just a few snags.

by edawg13 from Scottsdale, AZ on Fri Jun 23 2017

Just like the 5 Series before it, the 2017 BMW 540 rocks the Sports Sedan World. With 0 - 60 in just 4.9 Seconds it is hands down one of the fasted 5's I have owned while still keeping that incredible smooth drive. Outside of the new body style which I love, the car features great upgraded electronics to previous models. Not only do you still have upgraded IDrive features but it is now touch screen, giving you the choice of touching the screen or using the IDrive Wheel. A welcome feature is the upgrade to wireless connectivity using Apple Car Play. While it does hit a few snags here and there, it is the best Apple Car Play I have used to date. Besides if you don't like Car Play, you can switch over and just use standard bluetooth features which are not too shabby. Here is my two complaints about this vehicle. First and Foremost, they did not include an automatic closing trunk in 2017 which has been included in most models since at least 2011! This they say was due to lack of parts? I find that a weak excuse for a $64,000 vehicle. Secondly and just as important, since day 1 I have had a cracking noise coming from the dash when it is hot in my car and the ac comes on. It is really annoying and pretty constant until the car cools down. BMW is aware of the problem and are currently working on a fix with an unknown time table. Again, pretty weak for a car that sells for so much money. I have had three 5 Series before this one and not one made this cracking noise, so I am not sure how they did not catch it before finishing the car. With that being said, I love the ride and performance from my new 540. If you can wait til 2018 I am sure the automatic trunk will return. If that is not important to you than hopefully in 6 months they will have resolved the cracking noise that comes from the dashboard.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I owned

by Dany’s BMW from Woodbury, NY on Wed Apr 25 2018

It is a sporty and reliable car, very strong and bold, a real pleasure to drive, The engine is very strong, pushing the car to its limits

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW the Best Value? No Really!

by Alex N. from La Mirada, CA on Sun Aug 20 2017

Excellent purchase! Overall the best balance of power and luxury out of all the vehicles I evaluated. The more I drive this car the more I love it. And the 540i really is a pleasure to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THE BEST 5 SERIES !!!!!!

by CROSSWINDS from NEW YORK on Wed Jan 17 2018

THIS CAR HANDLE WELL FOR A CAR OF IT SIZE, AND ONCE YOU PUT IT SPORTS MODE THE CAR TURN INTO A BEAST, THE STEERING TIGHTENS UP AS WELL AS THE SUSPENSION, A LITTLE PRICEY WITH ALL THE BELL & WHISTLES, I'M FINE WITH THE BASE MODEL , WHICH GOT AT INVOICE PRICE ....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

new redesigned BMW 540

by vlstec on Fri Jul 07 2017

The test drive was great, the salesperson took me to an area in the back of an airport. The car handled beautifully, had them hold on while putting it through the paces. The only concern that i had was the door pocket on the driver side seemed to intrude from rest my foot on the foot rest.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My dream car

by BMW Gal from Knoxville, TN on Sun Aug 27 2017

This 2017 540i xdrive is a beauty! Responsive and luxurious, it's simply a joy to drive. Put it in sport mode, and you can tackle mountain roads with ease. In comfort mode, you'll feel like it's a 7 series In a 5 series body. Love the adaptive cruise control, adaptive lane change warning, adaptive headlamps. The idrive controller is very intuitive and easy to use. The xdrive tracks well, especially on wet pavement. I love this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ultimate Performance Sedan

by John P from Virginia Beach on Sat Aug 05 2017

The 540 is the best car I have ever owned in all respects- comfort, luxury, performance, technology.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Recently purchased but very satisfied with it.

by Jim/TX from Frisco on Sun Apr 22 2018

Very comfortable interior design and the performance is very satisfactory. It has an overall rating of above expectations. The technology package is above average and will satisfy our needs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most stylish and performance 5 series ever

by Nupish1911 from Sterrett, Alabama on Mon Sep 18 2017

This car is one of the most efficient cars out in their class. In addition, as far as value it's great. This car handles well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2017 BMW 540

The verdict:

The 2017 BMW 5 Series is comfortable, quick and loaded with tech, but its "Ultimate Driving Machine" moniker is no longer appropriate.

Versus the competition:

The focus on comfort and accessibility has dulled the 5 Series into average status among luxury sedans; it’s no longer focused on enthusiast buyers but will likely be more appealing to the general public.

It's sad when something isn't as good as you remember it to be. Like a familiar restaurant that no longer makes your favorite dish or a favorite musician who can't quite hit all their notes in concert anymore.

That's how I feel after spending a week with not one but two BMW 5 Series sedans, the 2017 BMW 540i and 530i xDrive. Make no mistake: These are fine automobiles, nicer inside than they've ever been and chock-full of amazing technology (some useful, some silly). They're powerful, efficient, quick and smooth. But they've most assuredly lost the mojo that used to make BMWs sing in the hands of enthusiast drivers. In a quest to chase sales, BMW has made its products... Read More